Your Old Droog Your Old Droog
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Truthbetold
July 29th 2014


6 Comments


Thanks fellas, its just what Ive noticed. Hahahaha Im definitely not Droog. I am really Nas Hahaha j/k.

This whole thing is driving me crazy, because I'm a big Nas fan. I really enjoyed the EP, though Im not a fan of the mimicking.

If this guy can develop his on style I'll support.

I think I feel in love with the whole Doom/Captain Murphy Idea, that would really be genius if it was Nas.

Last but not least Ive read in a interview Nas he said hes shooting a really cool documentary. So could this possibly be it to see the reactions of people?


GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2014


6154 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

That would be kind of cool if that was the case. That actually reminds me of a line on here that I think could potentially be telling, the one about "i got a pbs special sometimes i watch my special to feel special". Pretty recently Nas did a pbs special where he traced his family tree or something like that. This obviously came out before that special happened, so could it be some playful foreshadowing? Or does Droog actually have some other special? And if so, what could it be? I very much doubt it's something about Droog himself, but maybe he was included in one? Maybe something about life in BK or some shit like that? There might be something there.

Also, since I didn't mention it earlier, Droog almost 100% cannot be Game, because he doesn't ever namedrop another rapper. Har har. But really Droog is on a level Game could never touch imo. TBH part of my argument as to why this isn't Nas is because I don't think Nas could even rap like this in 2014.

Most specifically though, I think it's unlikely that Droog is anybody but a resident of NY--BK in particular, because of the line "it's that dude who got your mother gassed, and I ain't talkin bout the boulevard," which refers to Mother Gaston Blvd in Brooklyn. You either gotta be from there or do some serious research to come up with that line. It's possible someone really got into character to dupe us but I feel like that's a line that nobody would catch because you have to be from there to even understand it (I only got it because I checked rapgenius and someone knew it) so going that deep for the line is unlikely.

Also, as to the developing your own style thing, do you guys all agree with Truthbetold? I honestly don't mind that Droog stans Nas so hard if this isn't actually Nas. Although he takes a lot of cues from Nas, I feel like there's a lot of stuff that isn't Nas-derived that he does as well, and I wouldn't really mind if he was just kind of a Nas clone, although it's possible that that could become tedious some years down the line (it's ironic that I feel that way, since that was one of my biggest knocks against Action Bronson when I first heard him)

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2014


6154 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Sorry for the essay, that post was even longer than the damn review

LambsBread
July 29th 2014


3570 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This isn't The Game lol

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2014


6154 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

oh yeah and i also don't hear game in this, never understood that comparison/speculation.

LambsBread
July 29th 2014


3570 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is MAc Miller

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2014


6154 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

funny

LambsBread
July 29th 2014


3570 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it is, no one else raps about Instagram

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2014


6154 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

oh, shit that's a good find

you pick up on any other clues ??!

Calc
July 29th 2014


12250 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

look for whoever would rap about little debbie snacks

Digging: Milo - A Toothpaste Suburb

LambsBread
July 29th 2014


3570 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you mean other than him biting Nas and being overrated?

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2014


6154 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

you really don't like this?

for someone who is constantly preachy about 'hip hop is lyrics nothing else matters' you're a little inconsistent.

LambsBread
July 29th 2014


3570 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

its nothing but word plays and its the most unoriginal thing i've ever heard

how are you gonna call hopsin corny and sign off on a complete Nas imitation?

LambsBread
July 29th 2014


3570 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

not bad though, your avatar is just annoying me and doesn't compare to mine

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2014


6154 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

huh

FiveLeavesLeft
July 29th 2014


9838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

rules

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2014


6154 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

hollaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

LambsBread
July 29th 2014


3570 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

what do you mean huh? this is a carbon copy of Nas except this guy doesn't rap about anything new, and you are making fun of Hopsin, presumably because hes an 'eminem imitation'

is definitely better than Pinata though

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2014


6154 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

has nothing to do with being an eminem imitation hopsin is just straight corny his bars are wack, he's
pretentious as fuck and he's overly preachy all the damn time

if he was an eminem imitation he would be much much better.

also there's a very real chance that this guy is nas so the whole carbon copy of nas argument is not
the best argument to be making against this.

LambsBread
July 29th 2014


3570 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this isn't Nas smh

Nas has substantial shit to rap about, hes not going to make an alter ego to put out some sub-par material

Preachy is just another way of saying he makes fun of stuff, every rapper does that, you just obviously don't like that he makes fun of actual corny rappers like this guy who rap about the same shit for 30 minutes and bite the hell out of past artists

and if Tech N9ne tours and makes tracks with the guy, hes not wack. wack is biting Nas so hard you actually think its him



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy