Mastodon Once More 'Round the Sun
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
BMDrummer
June 23rd 2014


10979 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Summary is basically the way I feel about this album, even though it's kind of commercial, it's still really damn good.

NocteDominum
June 23rd 2014


7187 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

There goes my feature opp....







Good work Greg.

MoosechriS
June 23rd 2014


5080 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

As much as i love old mastodon, this is pretty damn good. Better than the hunter, motherload is a tune too.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
June 23rd 2014


7504 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

@climactic:

Thanks for pointing out these mistakes. It was late when I was writing this. Fixed.



@NocteDominum:

Sorry man.





Digging: Hawk Eyes - Everything Is Fine

VolcanoDay
June 23rd 2014


136 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Brann's vocals on this are so good.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
June 23rd 2014


3554 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Awesome review, I totally agree with you! This is growing on me with each listen. Ember City, Tread Lightly, The Motherload, Asleep In The Deep, High Road and Diamond In The Witch House are my favorites at the moment.

Digging: Cairo Knife Fight - The Isolator

MadGrinder
June 23rd 2014


136 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is definately a 3 for me, not more than 3.5.

HeavyReviews
June 23rd 2014


38 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fun and refreshing. I love the stoner rocks approach to the guitars, the fuzzy bassy distortions with "40cents" tunings

Shiranui
June 23rd 2014


259 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's a sweet album, Chimes at Mignight and Ember City have some sexy riffs.

I'm hearing alot of Iron Maiden on this, especially on The Motherload.

Azn.
June 23rd 2014


5618 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

could never get into this band; I find this style of music awfully boring

lalchimiste
June 23rd 2014


261 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

thread ruined once more 'round this site

Digging: Crypt Sermon - Out of the Garden

BrushedRed
June 23rd 2014


1133 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"could never get into this band; I find this style of music awfully boring"



Remission - Crack the Skye are really different than this tho. Honestly those were the best they had done. I really liked this album first listen, but went down to an 3.5 after subsequent listens. I still think "Motherload" rules hard.

beefshoes
June 23rd 2014


4618 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm digging this just as much as I dug Crack the Skye when it came out in 09.

I didn't feel that with the Hunter at all.

Digging: Enslaved - In Times

MikeC26
June 23rd 2014


3233 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album fucking slays

Acanthus
June 23rd 2014


9549 Comments


This was boring, and a real letdown vocally imo.

Digging: Nine Inch Nails - Year Zero

MikeC26
June 23rd 2014


3233 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it grows. i thought that first time through as well

trackbytrackreviews
June 23rd 2014


2075 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I never got how can people consider Crack the Skye better than Leviathan

Digging: Nightwish - Once

Ocean of Noise
June 23rd 2014


700 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I still don't really get how this is "commercial" but w/e

Digging: Paradise Lost - Icon

Wizard
June 23rd 2014


19771 Comments


Pretty good review dude! Still trying to find time to jam this, too much good metal out right now.

Digging: Leviathan - Scar Sighted

fish.
June 23rd 2014


22203 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this album is sick





haven't really got into any 2014 stuff until this, let alone metal

Digging: Say Lou Lou - Lucid Dreaming



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy