Agalloch The Serpent and the Sphere
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Amebix
May 11th 2014


240 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

yeh, you all keep holding hands on your lonely sputnik planet, trying to form a hate bandwagon opinion versus the rest of the world, maybe in a few years you might see, that such actions are nothing but childish.

Amebix
May 11th 2014


240 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

"I don't see how the review is terrible...u may not agree with his score or opinion of the album, but come on man"



That review is beyond bad, cuz he doesn't get that bands change their sound over the years, he is nearly crying that there are no clean vocals and heartfelt atmospheric parts anymore.

Doh, Agalloch had already changed to a much harsher way in Marrow and Faustian Echoes. Their music is much more avantgarde black metal now and much less folk.

Whining about that, does not help...



Oh, now I remember you Kyle, you were the person rating URFAUST and Norma Jean with 1.0...

StormChaser
May 11th 2014


444 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

wow so much hate here what the... also too many ratings and reviews for this album before release.

ti0n
May 11th 2014


1729 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

well its not that bad. grimes is worse

ZombicidalMan
May 11th 2014


2475 Comments


lol he makes it sound like bands can't change for the worse

dannyboy89
May 11th 2014


13328 Comments


Opinions seem fairly split on this.

Crysis
Emeritus
May 11th 2014


17039 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

he makes it sound like i think this band hasn't already changed their sound like 10 times

ZombicidalMan
May 11th 2014


2475 Comments


"This will be remembered as their Magnum Opus, in a few years this will be the reference for blackened folk metal. It is just too much to handle for the standard black metal jerks!"

Gyromania
May 11th 2014


20771 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lol this thread is hilarious

Keyblade
May 11th 2014


22085 Comments


maybe in a few years you might see, that such actions are nothing but childish.

Sounds almost Biblical

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
May 11th 2014


23954 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

disagreed hard but the review is very good. i prefer the white EP to everything that came after it tbh

SnakeDelilah
May 11th 2014


15590 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

lol amebix new worst user

Greyvy
May 11th 2014


5648 Comments


no thats still me.

Wizard
May 11th 2014


20026 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Your best review to date buddy!

Digging: Gas - Pop

zaruyache
May 11th 2014


13049 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

KYLE, If you cannot cope that bands change (Cynic, Agalloch, Emperor),



New Cynic WAS terrible, though! And 'Sput holds Emperor's last album at a pretty respectable level,

just not up to par with their first two. Please go away angry fanboy who acts as if this website

didn't worship this band like you claim to yourself.

Digging: Numenorean - Home

Gyromania
May 11th 2014


20771 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yah cynic's new album was total shit and i definitely did not like the change (although who didn't see it coming). emperor's last album is their best imo. prometheus doesn't get enough love. first two are also superb ofc

Catatonic
May 11th 2014


150 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'd say the opening track is a lot more Agallochy than Celestial Effigy

Scoot
May 11th 2014


18413 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

biggest disappointment in quite a while

Digging: Bones - PaidProgramming2

CutMan
May 11th 2014


1885 Comments


"There is a colossal amount of construction going on within the tunes of The Serpent & the Sphere, as the instruments time and again revisit the drive to create massive atmosphere and big soundscapes. The problem is, however, that Agalloch did not seem to recognize the importance or even the existence of this insatiable appetite for larger emotion, and rather fumble around with conceptually soaked songwriting kindling that can never light the whole track ablaze."

None of this means anything. You make it sound as if the instruments are living entities that, themselves, desire to create "atmosphere", but their cruel owners, the musicians, refuse to satisfy their "appetite" for it.

feanaro
May 11th 2014


1052 Comments


man... this is dire. I at least liked marrow on first listen, and it took a few times to realize that I was underwhelmed. this was boring from the first listen. will give it a few more tries but I don't really have any faith in this band anymore.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy