Arctic Monkeys AM
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
BigPleb
September 23rd 2013


36979 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Humbug>FWN>Whatever People Say...>This>SI&S

All rule though

Digging: Kayo Dot - Coffins on Io

tommygun
September 23rd 2013


24988 Comments


gotta jam suck it way more so i can come back and say 'agreed'

BigPleb
September 23rd 2013


36979 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Eh, Suck It has some pretty awful filler e.g Brick by Brick.

Rowan5215
September 23rd 2013


27199 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Brick by Brick isn't that bad imo
All My Own Stunts and Reckless Serenade are the bad ones but everything else grooooooooooows so hard
Jam it tom

Digging: Vestascension - Breaching the Sound

tommygun
September 23rd 2013


24988 Comments


sometimes these dudes just have moments of songs that give me a feeling of nostalgia for a time and place i can see in my head but have never actually been to

like the clean strummed guitar at the start an end of when the sun goes down

or the entirety of only ones who know

i can't fucking explain it idk

BigPleb
September 23rd 2013


36979 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Do Me a Favor though.

tommygun
September 23rd 2013


24988 Comments


omg

Rowan5215
September 23rd 2013


27199 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I know what you mean tommy and Love is a Laserquest does that soooo hard

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
September 23rd 2013


4442 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Humbug>FWN>Whatever People Say...>This>SI&S


That's my exact pattern, though Whatever People Say is slowly winning second. "From the Ritz To Rubble" is one of the main reasons why.

also agreed on "Love is a laserquest" I used to dislike it, but it easily become one of my favourites from SIAS's 'softer' tracks.

Rowan5215
September 23rd 2013


27199 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Good to know someone agrees with that haha. I always found Ritz to Rubble one of the weaker ones one Whatever... though, personally.

BigPleb
September 23rd 2013


36979 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

SgtPepper to the rescue!

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
September 23rd 2013


4442 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

@Rowan
Really? I always thought "From Ritz to rubble" was worthy of being one of their best singles from 'Whatever' if been given the chance. It's got a lot of energy, it's catchy (in my opinion), and I think holds some Alex's clever lines.

@Pleb
I am surprised to meet someone who has the exact opinion on The Monkeys as me. Humbug rarely gets the recognition it deserves, it's nice to see I'm not the only one who says it's their personal favourite.

Rowan5215
September 23rd 2013


27199 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

@SgtPepper Maybe I just need to give it more time, but I think just being catchy and having clever lyrics doesn't put it above the rest of Whatever... because most songs on there have the same qualities.

BigPleb
September 23rd 2013


36979 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

@SgtPepper It just feels the most 'complete' out of all their LP's. That and there are hardly any moments where it gets tiresome. I can pick a couple of songs off of every other Monkeys' LP which lose their way, slightly.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
September 23rd 2013


4442 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

[quote]but I think just being catchy and having clever lyrics doesn't put it above the rest of Whatever... because most songs on there have the same qualities.]/quote]

What I meant to say is that, that song just 'clicked' for me personally. We're always looking for 'that song' that instantly catches your attention and it makes you immediately love it- sometimes it has the perfect musical archetype and sometimes you just like it for unexplainable reasons- to me, at least, "From the Ritz to Rubble" just hit every note perfectly. I think that song showcases a lot of the Monkey's signature charisma, that's why I said I think it would have been a great single. to me, it's a highlight, but as you know, a 'good' song is always a matter of opinion.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
September 23rd 2013


4442 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

@Pleb
I agree there. Granted I am biased when it comes to psychedelic rock (especially when it has a dark and retro sound), but that was their first album to really captivate me. I think "Dance Little Liar" and "The Jeweller's Hands" are some of their finest work. It has it's flaws, but when compared to the others, you really see their growth and I think it was a very bold step forward that came out victorious in the end. Like yourself, I too enjoy all their albums, but if I had to choose one Monkeys album it would be Humbug without a doubt.



BigPleb
September 23rd 2013


36979 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Agreed there :D

Rowan5215
September 23rd 2013


27199 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

@Sgt Fair enough, Where the Sun Goes Down and Riot Van would be the ones that clicked for me. And yeah, Humbug rules, Cornerstone is my favourite song by them and Pretty Visitors isn't far behind.

tommygun
September 23rd 2013


24988 Comments


ritz to the rubble is amazing

Rowan5215
September 23rd 2013


27199 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

It's aight but Riot Van >



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy