Dream Theater Dream Theater
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
CycleMotion
September 18th 2013



61 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I like this one, very good album. I can hear little I&W / Awake vibe combined with Rush and sound from last few albums. Good enough for me! It's very balanced album. ;)

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
September 18th 2013



1863 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

To be honest, this album is a little underwhelming for me. I was expecting a lot more from Labrie's vocals which, for the most part, feel forced on every song except 'The looking glass' and 'Along for the ride'. On the heavier songs, he just sounds too weak for my liking. That said, the instrumentation doesnt really offer any treats either, apart from the absolutely brilliant 'Enigma machine' or beautiful 'Along for the ride'. Apart from those two songs, it just sounds like DT are almost going through the motions with their sound. Seriously though, this is the second self-titled effort I've heard this year that has disappointed me a little (Look at my rating for the album-It means that I did enjoy the album at various, brief intervals), the other being "Satyricon". One thing I do think has worked in the band's favour is the keyboard work which is eccentric, and Mangini really gives it a go with his drum work.

Digging: Pallbearer - Foundations of Burden

Sheaiskl
September 18th 2013



815 Comments


never expected to them to reach the 90s level but still pretty underwhelming. so uninspiring without Portnoy.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 18th 2013



20440 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

One thing I do think has worked in the band's favour is the keyboard work which is eccentric


Hmm, well that's one word for it.

Thor
September 18th 2013



10185 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

when i put on the intro track for the first time i honestly thought i was listening to alestorm

Tyrael
September 18th 2013



20825 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

lol

OceanMechanic
September 18th 2013



431 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

I&W + Octavarium + ADTOE = This. The result isn't half bad, though in some places it does feel a bit contrived. There are some REALLY good moments though... Enigma Machine, The Bigger Picture, Surrender to Reason and parts of Illumination Theory are nearly jaw-dropping in their variety.

Digging: Wilco - Summerteeth

OceanMechanic
September 18th 2013



431 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Could either bump it to a 4 after a couple more listens or lower it to a 3. It's hard to tell at this point, but for now 3.5 seems about right

Zamora
September 18th 2013



251 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Last song is decent. Rest ranges from meh to decent.

TronaldDump
September 18th 2013



476 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

on a rating from meh to eh, i give this a gahh

OmairSh
September 19th 2013



10868 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"formulaic approach to anti-formulaic music"

This is what I'm expecting

Digging: Paco de Lucia - El Duende Flamenco

Chironex
September 19th 2013



14 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think 3.5 is about right. It is not a bad album but i agree it sounds like any other Dream Theater album. Mike Mangini's drumming is harder and far better on this though.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 19th 2013



20440 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This is better than ADTOE imo but that's not saying much seeing as I thought that album was pretty bad.

BigPleb
September 19th 2013



36021 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Meh, thinking about lowering.

It seems DT would rather focus on their 'OTT prog' instead of focusing on the songwriting.

Digging: Arc Iris - Arc Iris

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 19th 2013



20440 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

If only they could mix things up a bit and maybe take a risk or two. It would also help if they got rid of Rudess who seems content to just add stupid keyboard sounds wherever he sees fit instead of contributing to their overall sound like he did on Scenes From a Memory.

BigPleb
September 19th 2013



36021 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, I agree with that.

Band hasn't been daring for years now.

KILL
September 19th 2013



71482 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lol

Digging: Invisible - El jardin de los presentes

Parallels
September 19th 2013



6641 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

l
o
l

LennyUnique
September 19th 2013



18 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Listen to the album (the site of a belgian newspaper):
http://www.standaard.be/cnt/dmf20130916_046

I'm listening now.

Parallels
September 19th 2013



6641 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

pretty sure most of us can find a link by googling it



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy