Karnivool Asymmetry
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Gyromania
August 2nd 2013



15506 Comments


good review. i like this less with each listen

Cipieron
August 2nd 2013



3508 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this is the most accurate review i've read for this album

Hastigr
August 2nd 2013



10 Comments


Putting in an extra sixteenth-note every now and then doesn't make a song mind-blowing or unique or
edgy... it just makes the cookie cutter dissonance of AM War even more try-hard and cliche. SO many
people are into "unconventional" time signatures etc, and to me this is done in so obvious and
boring and stale a way... it just comes across as catering to the djent/metal market who dig
Karnivool too.

Nothing against using music theory (of course!), but a bad song in a weird time signature is still
bad...
and it jsut seems to me like they forced the "prog" in there to cater to a certain demographic who
are into that particular thing.

Don't get me wrong though, songs like Sky Machine and We Are and Last Few are proggy in a smooth and
coherent way... sound like B-sides for Sound Awake.

To me, this fails so badly because of how well they succeeded before - not just in a personal
comparison kind of way, I mean that they tried to both replicate that success and to cater to the
new fanbase they developed... and ended up dulling their brilliance with awkward, blatant
genericism.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 2nd 2013



9868 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yea I don't care for AM War either

KerfuffleinaHussle
August 2nd 2013



759 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I actually don't dislike AM War that much

It's better than Nachash at least

PumpBoffBag
August 2nd 2013



327 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

couldn't agree more with this review, great job

JS19
August 2nd 2013



4219 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nachash is actually my favourite song here

LilLioness
August 2nd 2013



2496 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Seeing a lot of 3s for this one. I am getting the feeling that the album is about as listenable as the b side or whatever they released two months ago...

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
August 2nd 2013



10070 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2 | Sound Off

That single is the worst thing here, I'd say.

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

LilLioness
August 2nd 2013



2496 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Was a single? O_o I thought it was like some prank song. And I am saying this despite liking "Scarabs". Oh well, I am prepared to be let down.

Cipieron
August 2nd 2013



3508 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

scarabs is a great song.


this album is meh.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
August 2nd 2013



10070 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2 | Sound Off

Oh well, I am prepared to be let down.

Nooo, I am just one man, check it out for yourself pleaseeee?!

LilLioness
August 2nd 2013



2496 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Oh, I will. I still love Themata dearly. And Sound Awake is a great prog album. It has just the right kind of mix between accessible melodies and experimentation.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
August 2nd 2013



10070 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2 | Sound Off

That comment is all kinds of right.

LilLioness
August 2nd 2013



2496 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

:3 See, there is a reason you love me.

I still jam the title track hard frequently.

"ITTTTTTTT'S SOOOOOOOOOOOO GOOOOOOD TO SEEEEEEE"

PistolPete
August 2nd 2013



3591 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I have felt like listening to nothing else but this album all month. "Sky Machine" is gorgeous. Definitely better than Themata.

Digging: Jolly - The Audio Guide to Happiness (Part 2)

KILL
August 2nd 2013



71482 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5


scarabs is a great song.

meshuggah lite

Digging: Invisible - El jardin de los presentes

LilLioness
August 2nd 2013



2496 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

O rly?

Cipieron
August 2nd 2013



3508 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

nah meshug sux

KILL
August 2nd 2013



71482 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

u realise that song is complete meshuggah worship right



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy