Letlive. The Blackest Beautiful
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Macros
June 21st 2013


157 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The leak i saw on getmetal claims to be 320 kbps. I dont really understand what that means so I
couldnt actually tell you if it is or not though.
I can't really decide what to rate this though. I dont think I liked this as much as Fake History when
I first listened to that album but I still really enjoy it.

NeoSpaz
June 21st 2013


4519 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You're sickened by the fact that Letlive were able to conjure up an album that completely blows every other hardcore album out of the water by way of their staggering musical virtuosity and reluctance to rely on two-step, open chord breakdowns?

I can see a lot of people not agreeing with the praise and just calling it a "decent" or "okay" album, but sickening? Clearly these guys have done something right to earn all the positive reactions.



Oh come on, I mean, I like Letlive. as much as the next guy, but for fuck's sake, calm the fuck down. There are dozens of hardcore bands which don't even use breakdowns for christ's sake. You don't need to make every fan of this band look like a 13 year old who just heard their first hardcore band and thinks it saved them from suicide or straight edge or whatever.

Gwyn.
June 21st 2013


15324 Comments


You're sickened by the fact that Letlive were able to conjure up an album that completely blows every other hardcore album out of the water by way of their staggering musical virtuosity and reluctance to rely on two-step, open chord breakdowns?


Digging: Grief - Come to Grief

sixdegrees
June 21st 2013


17723 Comments


yep

Digging: Sputnik - Christmas At Our House

Keyblade
June 21st 2013


15434 Comments


so did it leak properly yet

Digging: Sofia Gubaidulina - Chamber Music With Double Bass

demigod!
June 21st 2013


45266 Comments


Bad Brains >

Digging: Black Sabbath - Master of Reality

bach
June 21st 2013


13151 Comments


fuckin' duh

Digging: Mirroring - Foreign Body

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
June 21st 2013


24098 Comments


terrible review

Digging: Mitski - bury me at makeout creek

Yazz_Flute
June 21st 2013


18875 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is growing on me as I familiarize myself with it but it has lots of irritating parts, and whereas Fake History's energy was mostly controlled and finessed, this feels really sloppy in parts.

That Fear Fever, Empty Elvis, and 27 Club are the best songs.

Digging: DIR EN GREY - Arche

Evreaia
June 21st 2013


4060 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

I was kinda dissapointed by this.I expected ùre

TenSecondsToThink
June 21st 2013


1249 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Don't let the hype train catch you and enjoy this for what it is. They're still the same superficial band but they're excellent in what they're doing.

By the way, is it just me or does that line "home is where the heart is" sound really similar to the one from a Glassjaw song?


wacknizzle
June 21st 2013


13696 Comments


this thread looks like shit, peace

Digging: Phobocosm - Deprived

wacknizzle
June 21st 2013


13696 Comments


breakdowns!

iChuckles
June 21st 2013


140 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"I had to catch my breath from laughing so hard at this. This is sooooo far from the best post-hardcore album and two-step open chord breakdowns are brilliant? What an idiot!"


Wat.

iChuckles
June 21st 2013


140 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Oh come on, I mean, I like Letlive. as much as the next guy, but for fuck's sake, calm the fuck down. There are dozens of hardcore bands which don't even use breakdowns for christ's sake. You don't need to make every fan of this band look like a 13 year old who just heard their first hardcore band and thinks it saved them from suicide or straight edge or whatever."

You don't think I'm aware of the fact that there are metalcore/post-hardcore bands out there that aren't formulaic and don't utilize breakdowns?

I stand by my opinion, this album to me warrants a five-out-five because Letlive has managed to carve out a style and niché all on their own in a landscape full of me-too bands. They brought excellence to the table with Fake History and have truly mastered their style this go-around.

But then again, most (if not all) of the negs on this review is based on the numerical value alone and not the actual review content iself, which is obvious seeing how I have barely received any constructive criticism at all in regards to my writing.


Winsomniac
June 21st 2013


8014 Comments


Dat Tapout shirt doe

Digging: Submotion Orchestra - Alium

TenSecondsToThink
June 21st 2013


1249 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

'Letlive has always had consistently brilliant lyrics that encompass mature and powerful themes'
Their lyrics are absolute shit, no one can deny that.

You use such pretty words in your review but I don't think they're really yours.

Gwyn.
June 21st 2013


15324 Comments


"You don't think I'm aware of the fact that there are metalcore/post-hardcore bands out there that aren't formulaic and don't utilize breakdowns?

I stand by my opinion, this album to me warrants a five-out-five because Letlive has managed to carve out a style and niché all on their own in a landscape full of me-too bands. They brought excellence to the table with Fake History and have truly mastered their style this go-around.

But then again, most (if not all) of the negs on this review is based on the numerical value alone and not the actual review content iself, which is obvious seeing how I have barely received any constructive criticism at all in regards to my writing."

augh god i don't even know how to react to this

Blaizend
June 21st 2013


647 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this is alright

iChuckles
June 21st 2013


140 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Their lyrics are absolute shit, no one can deny that.

You use such pretty words in your review but I don't think they're really yours."

That's entirely subjective, their lyrics are infinitely better in comparison to other similar bands in my opinion.

What's that? Am I being accused of plagarism?

I think "fanboy", "idiot" and "hyperbole" will suffice, thank you.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy