Black Sabbath 13
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
MrElmo
June 14th 2013


1955 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah don't understand the hype for him other than seing Rubin's work on all of the big bands. They should have asked the guy who produced Dopethrone to handle this record imo

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
June 14th 2013


4458 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

Thanks, man.
I think 13 is wonderfully produced, and Rick Rubin is actually a great producer, but I agree with you in that his approach is a little "flat". I was watching an interview in which the Mars Volta talked about working with Rick, and they said that he's really concerned with 'verse-chorus-verse' and puts too much emphasis on the vocals, and the instruments are just kind of there to compliment it.

I kind of agree there, he's not my favourite, but he's solid. I dont know why Sabbath didn't produce it themselves like they've done in the past, but maybe it was best to get someone else's perspective on things.

Titan
June 14th 2013


5800 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Analog recordings >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

mark7477
June 15th 2013


395 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Overall it's a very good album in terms of the trademark Ozzy and Sabbath sound but doesn't quite have the greatness of the first six albums but much better than never say die that's for sure LOL.At the same time some of the songs are a little redundant sometimes a little long winded but the bonus tracks do have a little more to offer as well.

Inveigh
June 15th 2013


25201 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the songs here are surprisingly really solid, but I agree that the production is a bit too modern. If this sounded like Master of Reality this would easily be in 4-4.5 territory. Pretty close to a 4 as it stands for me.

Digging: Nero Di Marte - Derivae

kaarnival
June 16th 2013


13 Comments


This is getting so much love for no reason

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
June 17th 2013


4458 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

Pun intended?

a little.

Its getting love cuz its their best since heaven and hell

*cough* Mob rules.



manosg
June 17th 2013


6705 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is getting love because it's an objectively great album that exceeded expectations by far.

Digging: Whitesnake - Slide It In

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
June 17th 2013


4458 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

^this.

tommygun
June 17th 2013


25413 Comments


riffs

Titan
June 17th 2013


5800 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pariah

MortalKombat
June 17th 2013


138 Comments


Anyone that sees this album as less than a 3 clearly isn't a Sabbath fan. Sabbath have released so many mediocre to poor albums. For how old the original lineup is this thing is the equivalent of the second coming of Christ. I doubt you could find a better album from an artist in their mid 60s. Not to mention Tony Iommi is a beast still

feargm
June 17th 2013


343 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's nice.

Digging: Motorpsycho - Trust Us

ViperAces
June 18th 2013


12504 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

damaged soul is so amazing

RunOfTheMill
June 18th 2013


1555 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I really can't get over how good this is, I'm extremely surprised.

I had HOPED that there would be 2-3 really good tracks, but instead all of them pretty much rule. Goddam.

manosg
June 19th 2013


6705 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A whole new generation of Sabbath fans is being formed.

ViperAces
June 19th 2013


12504 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

what they need now is another melodic record sbs-esque

Titan
June 19th 2013


5800 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

150,000 units sold in week 1 to debut at #1 on the US Billboard........awesome achievement!

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
June 19th 2013


15213 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Probably the first time a great album has topped the US charts in a loooooooooooooong time.

Digging: Blaspherian - Upon The Throne of Eternal Blasphemous Death

DatsNotDaMetulz
June 19th 2013


1918 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Still need to get around to listening to this (bought the deluxe CD a week ago), is it true that the productions overcompressed and distorted like Death Magnetic was thanks to that prick Rubin?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy