AFI Sing the Sorrow
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
dyeva
February 21st 2007



59 Comments


No they are a punk band. Do you want to fight over it?

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2007



16083 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Yes.
Ok go.

trustxdialect
February 21st 2007



1502 Comments


Who actually got away with changing them to Punk?

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2007



16083 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

They should still be punk; for the majority of their career they have been a "punk" band.

Dulcinea
February 21st 2007



181 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Wow I didn't intend to set you all off like that. The only reason I brought it up is because NOTINTHEFACE seems somewhat ashamed of being associated with something that has "pop-punk" attached to it.

I hope you all don't argue about genres like this all the time.This Message Edited On 02.21.07

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2007



16083 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

We do, 1. Because we suck and can't talk about something that actually pertains to the music at hand, and 2. Since Sputnik is growing, we need to find some universally acceptable definition for each bands genre. Which is impossible and is why sites like rym have dozens of genres labeled for some bands.
Great album.

Dulcinea
February 21st 2007



181 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

If it's impossible, then why are you attempting it.

iarescientists
February 21st 2007



5863 Comments


We're in denial

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2007



16083 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Because we're trying to find possibility in the impossible. Live in an absurd universe etc.

iarescientists
February 21st 2007



5863 Comments


I think we should make it so different albums by one artist can be put under different genres.

Can you make that happen as a mod, Iluvatar?

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2007



16083 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

I'll try to pass it by the big guy, but he doesn't listen to me very often to low hopes guys.

NOTINTHEFACE
February 21st 2007



1653 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I am most certainly not ashamed of liking pop-punk. The pie in my profile isn't lying when it says that it comprises 25% of what I listen to. I'm simply adamant about that fact that even at their poppiest (Decemberunderground) AFI don't sound even remotely close to a pop-punk band.

Cesar
February 22nd 2007



2732 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm glad I could change it back to punk. This band is PUNK I have no doubt about it. Even so I have to agree to the fact that Decemberunderground went preaty deep into pop-punk, but in my opinion that isn't enough to clasify tihs band as pop-punk.

BTW this is an awsome album.

punknmetal4lyf
March 15th 2007



50 Comments


I actually wanted to write a review for this album myself, but after reading yours, I realize their is pretty much no way I could top it. For one, you are hands down just a better writer than me. Your writing is much more disciplined. Yet also you prevent a view that avoids becoming fan boy propaghanda, something I know I would struggle to do in writing a review for this album.

And dude, Decemberunderground merges a lot of different genres, namely emo, new wave, electronic influence, and pop-punk. Yet Decemberunderground has pretty much completely shed punk from the band, with the only remotely punk-influenced song being Miss Murder, with all other songs either easily falling into the categories of the current poppy emo trend, or just blatant pop-punk.This Message Edited On 03.15.07

"AFI makes a large use of bass in a lot of their song from Black Sails in the Sunset and the Art of Drowning, you should check that out too"

A few bands I would recommend to anyone wanting to learn some easy but well-written basslines:
AFI, Green Day, Rise Against
For a few more advanced basslines:
Rancid, Primus
This Message Edited On 03.15.07

Bfhurricane
March 15th 2007



6197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Don't feel discouraged to review an album with another great review. Go ahead, it's always good to hear from different people in their reviews. And yeah, Hunter has some pretty good basslines in his career with AFI

muchtallerthanu
March 16th 2007



648 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I used to listen to this album non-stop. And guess what.... I still love it!

Decemberunderground is pretty good, but really emo compared to thier older works. Personally, they were better off the way they were when they recorded this album.

No one should ever take the emo trend. Everyone thinks it's so dull.

soldyoursoul
April 30th 2007



54 Comments


I liked your description of Paper Airplanes and Death of Seasons.

I love this album to death. I'm a huge AFI fan, and though I'm into their older stuff like Very Proud of Ya and Black Sails, STS is my favorite album.

I can listen through the whole thing. I only skip Silver and cold, Girl's not Grey, and the great disappointment.

Death of Seasons has been my favorite song for 2 years. Hope that never changes.

Solid review

Otherside
May 5th 2007



62 Comments


I'm just starting to get back into these guys, Synthesia and leaving song part 2 are just tracks period, and the rest of the cd is extremely solid. I don't really know what I'd rate this though :

Bfhurricane
May 5th 2007



6197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I've never heard Synthesia... but the Leaving Song pt. 2 is one of the better tracks on this album. But very true, this cd is extremely solid, one of my favorite 4.5ers

mortimerjstyles
May 6th 2007



12 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This is a really bad record...er band. You may wonder why I would even speak, honestly Its because the site says I Give too many 5's (because I only rated records I loved) so now I'm diversifying.

One thing that was weird for me was the mention that the pop-ness of this angered their "punk" fans. Now I don't get it because this is not a punk band its a pop band. they don't have punk fans. I'm not a punk and I'm not saying there is anything wrong with pop. I am just saying that punks live in squats and eat out of dumpsters (not exclusively either mind you), punks are disenfranchised and fed up, but most of all punks are anti establishment system fucking people who dont support major label artists. For whatever thats worth, better or worse this band by default can not have punk fans.This Message Edited On 05.06.07This Message Edited On 05.06.07This Message Edited On 05.06.07



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy