The National Trouble Will Find Me
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
fish.
May 22nd 2013


22201 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I agree about the drumming on this band's songs. They do so much in those little moments that

completely shift the moods of songs

Digging: Say Lou Lou - Lucid Dreaming

fish.
May 22nd 2013


22201 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

am i the only one that finds this the most immediate since alligator



Yeah cos this is like Boxer and listening to Boxer was like trying to squeeze water out of stone

robin
Emeritus
May 22nd 2013


4275 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

great piece channing



4.8 or something but i do not have that power

fish.
May 22nd 2013


22201 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like how you offer just a small window into a handful of aspects rather than just publish a block analysing everything about the album.

NightProwler
May 22nd 2013


6778 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"Yeah cos this is like Boxer and listening to Boxer was like trying to squeeze water out of stone"



I lol'd - I think I had Boxer at a small 4 at first, only REALLY liking Slow Show, Apartment Story and the two openers.



Now I love it all, having it at a hard 5

Digging: Every Time I Die - Hot Damn!

StormChaser
May 22nd 2013


367 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Best cover 2013

Digging: Steven Wilson - Hand. Cannot. Erase.

fish.
May 22nd 2013


22201 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5gDORqcKe2c

Liberi Fatali
Emeritus
May 22nd 2013


1588 Comments


Maybe I'm not being very observant of any evolution in their sound, but if you told me they recorded everything off their past three albums at the same time I wouldn't be surprised.

StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2013


2775 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Woah, he's being harsh.



Some good points though, I'd agree to this album not being almost listless and not very intelligent, at least for The National. It's mostly skin and no meat: I want to pour over interpretations, motives and imagery like you can with Sad Songs and Boxer.

StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2013


2775 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Maybe I'm not being very observant of any evolution in their sound, but if you told me they recorded everything off their past three albums at the same time I wouldn't be surprised.




I think High Violet just fucks up the progression. Sad Songs > Alligator > Boxer is a lot easier to place in sequence, in my opinion.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2013


31779 Comments


Best cover 2013


http://www.mixmag.net/sites/default/files/u5/The-Boat-Party-kylehall.jpg


Digging: Phace - Shape The Random

fish.
May 22nd 2013


22201 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No deviant no

StormChaser
May 22nd 2013


367 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

rofl that reminds me of Denzil from Only Fools and Horses

Artuma
May 22nd 2013


17602 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"I think High Violet just fucks up the progression. Sad Songs > Alligator > Boxer is a lot easier to place in sequence, in my opinion."



i think High Violet continued their progression towards a tad more atmospherical sound, it doesn't fuck it up imo. TWFM is more like Boxer than HV

Digging: Saintly Rows - Heaven in the Hollow

tommygun
May 22nd 2013


25498 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

post-mopecore

tommygun
May 22nd 2013


25498 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

gd 1

omnipanzer
May 22nd 2013


21707 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Decent band, decent album.



I appreciate and am thankful this guys voice is slightly less affected for this album but I can't imagine giving this anything higher than a 3.5.

Digging: Sleater-Kinney - No Cities to Love

scissorlocked
May 22nd 2013


3513 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it's more than decent





Digging: Levon Vincent - Levon Vincent

tommygun
May 22nd 2013


25498 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this is the last time ghomffgdg

tommygun
May 22nd 2013


25498 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i got tylenol and beer



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy