The National Trouble Will Find Me
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
fish.
May 22nd 2013


22369 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I agree about the drumming on this band's songs. They do so much in those little moments that

completely shift the moods of songs

fish.
May 22nd 2013


22369 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

am i the only one that finds this the most immediate since alligator



Yeah cos this is like Boxer and listening to Boxer was like trying to squeeze water out of stone

robin
Emeritus
May 22nd 2013


4278 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

great piece channing



4.8 or something but i do not have that power

fish.
May 22nd 2013


22369 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like how you offer just a small window into a handful of aspects rather than just publish a block analysing everything about the album.

NightProwler
May 22nd 2013


6872 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"Yeah cos this is like Boxer and listening to Boxer was like trying to squeeze water out of stone"



I lol'd - I think I had Boxer at a small 4 at first, only REALLY liking Slow Show, Apartment Story and the two openers.



Now I love it all, having it at a hard 5

Digging: Hop Along - Painted Shut

StormChaser
May 22nd 2013


370 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Best cover 2013

fish.
May 22nd 2013


22369 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5gDORqcKe2c

Liberi Fatali
Emeritus
May 22nd 2013


1588 Comments


Maybe I'm not being very observant of any evolution in their sound, but if you told me they recorded everything off their past three albums at the same time I wouldn't be surprised.

StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2013


2819 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Woah, he's being harsh.



Some good points though, I'd agree to this album not being almost listless and not very intelligent, at least for The National. It's mostly skin and no meat: I want to pour over interpretations, motives and imagery like you can with Sad Songs and Boxer.

StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2013


2819 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Maybe I'm not being very observant of any evolution in their sound, but if you told me they recorded everything off their past three albums at the same time I wouldn't be surprised.




I think High Violet just fucks up the progression. Sad Songs > Alligator > Boxer is a lot easier to place in sequence, in my opinion.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2013


31869 Comments


Best cover 2013


http://www.mixmag.net/sites/default/files/u5/The-Boat-Party-kylehall.jpg


fish.
May 22nd 2013


22369 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No deviant no

StormChaser
May 22nd 2013


370 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

rofl that reminds me of Denzil from Only Fools and Horses

Artuma
May 22nd 2013


18550 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"I think High Violet just fucks up the progression. Sad Songs > Alligator > Boxer is a lot easier to place in sequence, in my opinion."



i think High Violet continued their progression towards a tad more atmospherical sound, it doesn't fuck it up imo. TWFM is more like Boxer than HV

Digging: Moss Icon - It Disappears

tommygun
May 22nd 2013


25641 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

post-mopecore

tommygun
May 22nd 2013


25641 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

gd 1

omnipanzer
May 22nd 2013


21709 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Decent band, decent album.



I appreciate and am thankful this guys voice is slightly less affected for this album but I can't imagine giving this anything higher than a 3.5.

scissorlocked
May 22nd 2013


3517 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it's more than decent





tommygun
May 22nd 2013


25641 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this is the last time ghomffgdg

tommygun
May 22nd 2013


25641 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i got tylenol and beer



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy