The National Trouble Will Find Me
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
NightProwler
May 22nd 2013


6409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Good review. And yeah, maybe Heavenfaced should have been a little longer - but Matt's voice in that song is sooo omfg

Digging: RVIVR - The Beauty Between

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2013


3469 Comments


Great review as always Chan.

Motiv3
May 22nd 2013


8938 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

only fitting to have a chan review for the National. This is 5/5 for me though.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 22nd 2013


22004 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I agree about the drumming on this band's songs. They do so much in those little moments that
completely shift the moods of songs

Digging: Miguel - Kaleidoscope Dream

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 22nd 2013


22004 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

am i the only one that finds this the most immediate since alligator

Yeah cos this is like Boxer and listening to Boxer was like trying to squeeze water out of stone

robin
Emeritus
May 22nd 2013


4249 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

great piece channing

4.8 or something but i do not have that power

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 22nd 2013


22004 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like how you offer just a small window into a handful of aspects rather than just publish a block analysing everything about the album.

NightProwler
May 22nd 2013


6409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"Yeah cos this is like Boxer and listening to Boxer was like trying to squeeze water out of stone"

I lol'd - I think I had Boxer at a small 4 at first, only REALLY liking Slow Show, Apartment Story and the two openers.

Now I love it all, having it at a hard 5

StormChaser
May 22nd 2013


342 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Best cover 2013

Lakes.
May 22nd 2013


28363 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"am i the only one that finds this the most immediate since alligator"

same

Digging: Weezer - Everything Will Be Alright in the End

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 22nd 2013


22004 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5gDORqcKe2c

Liberi Fatali
Emeritus
May 22nd 2013


1588 Comments


Maybe I'm not being very observant of any evolution in their sound, but if you told me they recorded everything off their past three albums at the same time I wouldn't be surprised.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
May 22nd 2013


2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Woah, he's being harsh.

Some good points though, I'd agree to this album not being almost listless and not very intelligent, at least for The National. It's mostly skin and no meat: I want to pour over interpretations, motives and imagery like you can with Sad Songs and Boxer.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
May 22nd 2013


2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Maybe I'm not being very observant of any evolution in their sound, but if you told me they recorded everything off their past three albums at the same time I wouldn't be surprised.


I think High Violet just fucks up the progression. Sad Songs > Alligator > Boxer is a lot easier to place in sequence, in my opinion.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2013


31341 Comments


Best cover 2013


http://www.mixmag.net/sites/default/files/u5/The-Boat-Party-kylehall.jpg


fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 22nd 2013


22004 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No deviant no

StormChaser
May 22nd 2013


342 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

rofl that reminds me of Denzil from Only Fools and Horses

Artuma
May 22nd 2013


14310 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"I think High Violet just fucks up the progression. Sad Songs > Alligator > Boxer is a lot easier to place in sequence, in my opinion."

i think High Violet continued their progression towards a tad more atmospherical sound, it doesn't fuck it up imo. TWFM is more like Boxer than HV

Digging: Fleurety - Min Tid Skal Komme

Lakes.
May 22nd 2013


28363 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

this is like boxer meets HV with subtle electronic influences

tommygun
May 22nd 2013


24988 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

post-mopecore



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy