The National Trouble Will Find Me
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
NightProwler
May 22nd 2013



6337 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Good review. And yeah, maybe Heavenfaced should have been a little longer - but Matt's voice in that song is sooo omfg

Digging: Every Time I Die - From Parts Unknown

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2013



3415 Comments


Great review as always Chan.

Motiv3
May 22nd 2013



8921 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

only fitting to have a chan review for the National. This is 5/5 for me though.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 22nd 2013



21768 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I agree about the drumming on this band's songs. They do so much in those little moments that
completely shift the moods of songs

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 22nd 2013



21768 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

am i the only one that finds this the most immediate since alligator

Yeah cos this is like Boxer and listening to Boxer was like trying to squeeze water out of stone

robin
Emeritus
May 22nd 2013



4248 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

great piece channing

4.8 or something but i do not have that power

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 22nd 2013



21768 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like how you offer just a small window into a handful of aspects rather than just publish a block analysing everything about the album.

NightProwler
May 22nd 2013



6337 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"Yeah cos this is like Boxer and listening to Boxer was like trying to squeeze water out of stone"

I lol'd - I think I had Boxer at a small 4 at first, only REALLY liking Slow Show, Apartment Story and the two openers.

Now I love it all, having it at a hard 5

StormChaser
May 22nd 2013



321 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Best cover 2013

cinaedus
May 22nd 2013



26447 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"am i the only one that finds this the most immediate since alligator"

same

Digging: The Suicide Machines - Destruction By Definition

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 22nd 2013



21768 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5gDORqcKe2c

Liberi Fatali
Emeritus
May 22nd 2013



1588 Comments


Maybe I'm not being very observant of any evolution in their sound, but if you told me they recorded everything off their past three albums at the same time I wouldn't be surprised.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
May 22nd 2013



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Woah, he's being harsh.

Some good points though, I'd agree to this album not being almost listless and not very intelligent, at least for The National. It's mostly skin and no meat: I want to pour over interpretations, motives and imagery like you can with Sad Songs and Boxer.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
May 22nd 2013



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Maybe I'm not being very observant of any evolution in their sound, but if you told me they recorded everything off their past three albums at the same time I wouldn't be surprised.


I think High Violet just fucks up the progression. Sad Songs > Alligator > Boxer is a lot easier to place in sequence, in my opinion.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2013



31058 Comments


Best cover 2013


http://www.mixmag.net/sites/default/files/u5/The-Boat-Party-kylehall.jpg


Digging: Marcel Dettmann - Fabric 77

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 22nd 2013



21768 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No deviant no

StormChaser
May 22nd 2013



321 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

rofl that reminds me of Denzil from Only Fools and Horses

Artuma
May 22nd 2013



12091 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"I think High Violet just fucks up the progression. Sad Songs > Alligator > Boxer is a lot easier to place in sequence, in my opinion."

i think High Violet continued their progression towards a tad more atmospherical sound, it doesn't fuck it up imo. TWFM is more like Boxer than HV

Digging: Le Pre Ou Je Suis Mort - Le Pre Ou Je Suis Mort

cinaedus
May 22nd 2013



26447 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

this is like boxer meets HV with subtle electronic influences

tommygun
May 22nd 2013



24218 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

post-mopecore

Digging: J Mascis - Tied to a Star



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy