Enshine Origin
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
May 14th 2013



8321 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Apollo
It's streaming on the staff blog. As for purchasing, it'll be physically released on the 15th (though you can pre-order it as well - once again, check the staff blog for that).

@Bloc
Once again I must disagree with you. Imo the latter part of the album is the stronger one and "Constellation" is the best song on the album.

itchy
May 14th 2013



244 Comments


Vocally, stylistically, and sonically this reminds me less of Atoma and more of Draconian with more atmosphere, albeit probably less memorable. I'm certainly going to give it a chance to grow on me though, the last track is great.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
May 14th 2013



8321 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah it's definitely no Atoma worship. There are more doom elements in here sonically and yeah, the vocals belong to a guy whose main band is a melodic death metal one.

We'll see how it ages, but I have a feeling that it'll do it gracefully. The abundance of atmosphere in this is what keeps me coming back for more and more.

bloc
May 14th 2013



34735 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Once again I must disagree with you. Imo the latter part of the album is the stronger one and "Constellation" is the best song on the album.

Haha damn. And here I was thinking we could actually agree twice on the same thing!

Digging: Messiah - Choir of Horrors

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
May 14th 2013



8321 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah that's not gonna happen haha.

I'm re-listening to the new In Vain though and am digging it a lot (like you!). Is it just me, or do we actually have more favorites in common this year than in the previous years we've been annoying and confusing eachother with our taste in music haha?

bloc
May 14th 2013



34735 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You're absolutely right...It's as if when we are intentionally trying to like the same things it never really happens haha.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 14th 2013



10042 Comments


Bloc has weird opinions a lot of times < 3

bloc
May 14th 2013



34735 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You only say that because you and I aren't agreeing on anything this year!

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 14th 2013



10042 Comments


....yeah, you caught me.

Just wait for Scale the Summit, I think you'll really dig it and then we can be butt buddies again!!

bloc
May 14th 2013



34735 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

LOL

In all seriousness that was the one album I was thinking about as well.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 14th 2013



10042 Comments


It's a definite grower-- at this point, it's my AOTY thus far. Fuck the 20/20 Experience, as much as I loved it.

Acanthus
May 14th 2013



9537 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Listening to first track now, can already tell I'm going to like this.

Digging: The Cure - The Head on the Door

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
May 15th 2013



8321 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This has your name written all over it, Acanthus.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
May 15th 2013



8779 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i just listened to stream of light and it sounded like a mix of atoma and katatonia in a way

fucking sold, thanks for the review

Acanthus
May 15th 2013



9537 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Actually being able to listen through it now, really love it.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
May 15th 2013



8779 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah this is good, it doesn't leave much of an impression though. when it's over it doesn't really stick with you, and it doesn't really have a lot of energy.

i do enjoy metal like this though - more atmosphere and melody than much else sometimes fits a certain mood.

Acanthus
May 15th 2013



9537 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It does for me, wished it could be a bit longer though.

Spec
May 15th 2013



27102 Comments


this sounds cool

Digging: Rinoa - An Age Among Them

jkr5001
May 16th 2013



18 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks for reviewing this. Atoma's album was one of my favorites from last year and this will most likely end up being one of my favorites this year. The guitar work is fantastic.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
May 16th 2013



8321 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You're welcome. Introducing quality (and often times under the radar) artists to people is definitely one of my main goals as a reviewer.

@Noctus
haha, I'm glad that you got so excited by "Stream of Light", but if you had asked me before how much I think you'd dig it, I would have said "not overly much" (so, really, I'm glad you like it in general). I think this is a little too straightforward for your liking (I've discovered that, while your taste is mostly rather unpredictable, the more experimental artists/albums or albums that take a new approach/unique approach towards a certain genre usually grab your attention).

@Acanthus
Same here, I really dig this record, but I wish it was about 10 minutes longer, so that the meditative music could take an even firmer grasp.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy