Ghost B.C. Infestissumam
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
icatchthirtythree
April 10th 2013


354 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Loving the shit out of this

BlackLlama
April 10th 2013


1706 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

They have grown in so many ways since Opus. This has been on repeat for days now and I'm still finding something new on every listen.

SitarHero
April 11th 2013


4746 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I actually totally whiffed on Opus when it came out. Giving it a spin is on my to-do list today.

SitarHero
April 11th 2013


4746 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

On further review, this is indeed a pretty big improvement on Opus. Much more epic and better composition in general.

BlackLlama
April 11th 2013


1706 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Going to have to review this higher, I agree with a lot of your points, but have some counter points to add. It will bump down from a 5 to a 4.5 but this is a solid, solid release.

Solbrave
April 11th 2013


317 Comments


Earworms, earworms everywhere.

Digging: Hail Mary Mallon - Bestiary

SitarHero
April 11th 2013


4746 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Going to have to review this higher, I agree with a lot of your points, but have some counter points to add. It will bump down from a 5 to a 4.5 but this is a solid, solid release."

It's a grower for sure. I tried to be objective in the review and while this is a solid release I don't think it's spectacular. Still, I think I'll end up 4-ing this.

BigPleb
April 11th 2013


38038 Comments


Secular Haze was really cool, gonna check this out.

Digging: Arc Iris - Arc Iris

BlackLlama
April 11th 2013


1706 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I think Secular Haze is actually one of the weaker tracks on the album. Year Zero just keeps growing and growing on me. Listening to it with a killer sound system backing it up, that song fucking explodes from everywhere.

LilLioness
April 11th 2013


2727 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I am sorry, but for most most of the album, the vocalist sounds like he does not give a shit. Like no shits whatsoever.

"I am the son of one below/The progeny of beast and woe" Completely devoid of emotion.

Seriously don't get what you guys are hearing, cause all I hear is some dude casually singing lyrics that should have so much more impact.

SitarHero
April 12th 2013


4746 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well I don't particularly care about the lyrics. The music and melodies are very catchy though. I prefer having interesting melodic schemes to feigning overwrought emotiveness (although emotiveness isn't a bad thing per se), but that's just me.

conesmoke
April 12th 2013


5292 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

monstrance clocks is beautiful.

Raketbosse
April 12th 2013


9 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This album makes me proud to be a Swede!

SitarHero
April 12th 2013


4746 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"This album makes me proud to be a Swede!"

Ha! You should check out Opeth, probably.

BigPleb
April 12th 2013


38038 Comments


Spun it twice and gonna settle for a 4.

Some real great shit on here, on par with OE.

BlackLlama
April 12th 2013


1706 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Seriously don't get what you guys are hearing, cause all I hear is some dude casually singing lyrics that should have so much more impact.

It's a really hit or miss style, and not everyone is going to dig it.

I enjoy the fact that Papa is evil and subversive without being overly aggressive. I would imagine someone vocal tracking, say, Year Zero with a harsh/screaming vocal and it would loose 100% of its impact.

SitarHero
April 12th 2013


4746 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I would imagine someone vocal tracking, say, Year Zero with a harsh/screaming vocal and it would loose 100% of its impact."

Maybe not 100%, but it would sound exactly like everyone else.

Raketbosse
April 12th 2013


9 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Ha! You should check out Opeth, probably."

They're coming in at a close second but as it stands Ghost are our greatest export right now.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
April 12th 2013


8946 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

but in this post-Black Metal day and age the gimmick serves more as parody of the tropes of “Satanic Heavy Metal” than full-blown identification with the archetype


yeah sure, that's the reason they dress up!

SitarHero
April 12th 2013


4746 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Ghost are our greatest export right now."

Woah! Really? Ghost is bigger than Opeth already?

"yeah sure, that's the reason they dress up!"

So do the black metallers, and some of them are pretty serious about what they do.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy