Ghost (SWE) Infestissumam
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SitarHero
April 11th 2013


4934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Going to have to review this higher, I agree with a lot of your points, but have some counter points to add. It will bump down from a 5 to a 4.5 but this is a solid, solid release."



It's a grower for sure. I tried to be objective in the review and while this is a solid release I don't think it's spectacular. Still, I think I'll end up 4-ing this.

BigPleb
April 11th 2013


41649 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Secular Haze was really cool, gonna check this out.

BlackLlama
April 11th 2013


1762 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I think Secular Haze is actually one of the weaker tracks on the album. Year Zero just keeps growing and growing on me. Listening to it with a killer sound system backing it up, that song fucking explodes from everywhere.

LilLioness
April 11th 2013


2952 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I am sorry, but for most most of the album, the vocalist sounds like he does not give a shit. Like no shits whatsoever.



"I am the son of one below/The progeny of beast and woe" Completely devoid of emotion.



Seriously don't get what you guys are hearing, cause all I hear is some dude casually singing lyrics that should have so much more impact.

SitarHero
April 12th 2013


4934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well I don't particularly care about the lyrics. The music and melodies are very catchy though. I prefer having interesting melodic schemes to feigning overwrought emotiveness (although emotiveness isn't a bad thing per se), but that's just me.

conesmoke
April 12th 2013


5376 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

monstrance clocks is beautiful.

Raketbosse
April 12th 2013


9 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This album makes me proud to be a Swede!

SitarHero
April 12th 2013


4934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"This album makes me proud to be a Swede!"



Ha! You should check out Opeth, probably.

BigPleb
April 12th 2013


41649 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Spun it twice and gonna settle for a 4.



Some real great shit on here, on par with OE.

BlackLlama
April 12th 2013


1762 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Seriously don't get what you guys are hearing, cause all I hear is some dude casually singing lyrics that should have so much more impact.



It's a really hit or miss style, and not everyone is going to dig it.



I enjoy the fact that Papa is evil and subversive without being overly aggressive. I would imagine someone vocal tracking, say, Year Zero with a harsh/screaming vocal and it would loose 100% of its impact.

SitarHero
April 12th 2013


4934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I would imagine someone vocal tracking, say, Year Zero with a harsh/screaming vocal and it would loose 100% of its impact."



Maybe not 100%, but it would sound exactly like everyone else.

Raketbosse
April 12th 2013


9 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Ha! You should check out Opeth, probably."



They're coming in at a close second but as it stands Ghost are our greatest export right now.

DarkNoctus
April 12th 2013


9225 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

but in this post-Black Metal day and age the gimmick serves more as parody of the tropes of “Satanic Heavy Metal” than full-blown identification with the archetype




yeah sure, that's the reason they dress up!

Digging: Mourning Beloveth - Dust

SitarHero
April 12th 2013


4934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Ghost are our greatest export right now."



Woah! Really? Ghost is bigger than Opeth already?



"yeah sure, that's the reason they dress up!"



So do the black metallers, and some of them are pretty serious about what they do.

SitarHero
April 12th 2013


4934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"all of the black metallers"



Ha! Remember when you called me out on my generalizations?



Yazz_Flute
April 12th 2013


18929 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Monster Cock

FromDaHood
April 14th 2013


9095 Comments


I don't give a shit what you said, the summary was worth featuring for

SitarHero
April 14th 2013


4934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ha! Thanks. It's not bigdickedguy level, but it's getting there.

sailSAway
April 14th 2013


932 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

light metal.

conesmoke
April 14th 2013


5376 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Do we all love Satan here?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy