James Blake Overgrown
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Inveigh
April 8th 2013


25116 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

great review man, agree completely


Love Remains ended up being a really influential record, much more than it seemed at the time when it came out

Digging: Hail Mary Mallon - Bestiary

kingsoby1
Emeritus
April 8th 2013


4951 Comments

Album Rating: 4.6

yeah HTDW > all tbh

Inveigh
April 8th 2013


25116 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yea no doubt

scissorlocked
April 8th 2013


3511 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Both this and Lucidity's reviews are excellent

first quick listen gave the impression of an overextension of blake's mellow vein, but, fuck, just gave it some attention and it's beautiful

Digging: Distance - Outer Limits

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
April 8th 2013


7026 Comments


Nice review, liked the paragraph defending Blake as soul music the best. Had to grit my teeth through the criticism of s/t (trite? in what world), but it's all good.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
April 8th 2013


4951 Comments

Album Rating: 4.6

ha - i actually wrote that after our discussion!

my issue with S/T was that i felt it was a bit ADD with all of the ideas. solid and i could definitely see the potential, but i couldn't get into it. probably the only 3/5 record i've listened to as much as i have.

TenSecondsToThink
April 9th 2013


1245 Comments


I think I'm gonna hate this again.

Wildorwhat
April 9th 2013


88 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Pitchfork with the pan, surprising.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2013


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

8/10 is a pan?

oltnabrick
April 9th 2013


31301 Comments


BLAKE IS RECKED

Digging: Lil Debbie - Young Bitch

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
April 9th 2013


7026 Comments


They spent the whole review mocking his opinions and his sound (they didn't even clearly praise an aspect of the album until the 6th paragraph). Reads more like a 6.0 than an 8.0 review. Lots of artist name-dropping, genre-flaunting and condescension instead of actual analysis. Honestly the most off-the-mark review I've seen them publish in ages.

YankeeDudel
April 9th 2013


9313 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

he looks very sophisto in that trench coat

Digging: Taj Mahal Travellers - August 1974

FourthReich
April 9th 2013


18062 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

horrible cover art lol

Digging: Hail Mary Mallon - Bestiary

YankeeDudel
April 9th 2013


9313 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The other one captures his bangs much better

oltnabrick
April 9th 2013


31301 Comments


http://images.contactmusic.com/images/press/james-blake-overgrown2.jpg



this would be a better cover if he wasnt pouting like a 6 year old lol

FourthReich
April 9th 2013


18062 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I know I thought that's what yank was referencing, that one's downright laughable

oltnabrick
April 9th 2013


31301 Comments


the stuff behind him looks cool and the font for the album title is cool



i wish he wasnt in the picture lol

YankeeDudel
April 9th 2013


9313 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

But his v is so deep

FourthReich
April 9th 2013


18062 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It worked on his s/t because his face was blurred and it honestly looked cool, but wow that's got to be the worst cover I've seen in a while

YankeeDudel
April 9th 2013


9313 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You worked on his s/t? What's he like? Is it everything I dreamed??



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy