The Dear Hunter Migrant
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
ILJ
April 1st 2013


6743 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I was going to write a review on this in the next day or so but now I don't need to. You made pretty much the exact point I was going to make, in that this album requires more attention than their other stuff. Damn good review. Deserved the feature it got.

Digging: FKA Twigs - LP1

ILJ
April 1st 2013


6743 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I really dig "The Kiss of Life" and "Shame" on this. Them strings in "Shame" get me every time.

MarkTheDead
April 1st 2013


665 Comments


Shame is really good too.

Impervious
April 1st 2013


426 Comments


Very well written review. Streamed it once and I'm a pretty big fan so I'm going to buy this soon.

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
April 1st 2013


8022 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This is so boring

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
April 1st 2013


8022 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

you don't know my life

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
April 1st 2013


2043 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

@Aids - I really like "Sweet Naiveté" and after a lot of listens, I really kind of like everything on here. "Don't Look Back" ends the album a bit too abruptly, but I still really like the track. I also loved White, though, so there's that.

@Crawl - Act II

@Ipod - Check it, man. It's softer stuff, for the most part, but if you're willing to get into it and you like The Dear Hunter, you'll like it.

@Jacob - (OMG WHERE DID THE REST OF YOUR USERNAME GO) Thanks for the feedback, bro! I'm actually going to keep things as-is for now, though. I think the opener works (might be a dialect thing, but I'm familiar enough with that phrasing to feel confident with it) and, as sans-comma as that big sentence is, any insertion (giggidy) would be a comma splice as far as I can tell. I'll mull it over as I re-read, though. Again, thanks - I won't ever turn down a second opinion from you!

@Kris - I thought they were better in the context of the album. I didn't really like them when they were first released, either. I'd say check it out.

@Sowing - Thanks! Yellow was Surf Rock and Red was hard rock... This doesn't really come close to either. The harder hitting tracks have some tinge of the aggression of Red and some of the flowing chords of Yellow, but nothing in the same stylistic vein.

@ILJ - Thanks bro. If you still feel like tossing something up, I say go for it. Everything gets reviewed a ton sooner or later, may as well have a few quality reviews, right?

Digging: Damascus - When Last We Met

ILJ
April 1st 2013


6743 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm seriously starting to dig every song on here now. Glad this is happening when it is since I see them in 4 days.

ILJ
April 1st 2013


6743 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Also is it just me or does this album feel much shorter than 50 minutes?

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
April 1st 2013


2043 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

It feels waaaaay shorter.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
April 1st 2013


24098 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"so should i actually check this out? i thought both songs released were boring as hell so IDK!!"

definitely not if you thought those two songs were borimg

Digging: Mitski - bury me at makeout creek

minty901
April 1st 2013


2084 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

there were 4 songs released. whisper was cool but very straight forward. really liked girl. thought shame and an escape were boring. but then in the context of the album shame has become my favourite song so... give it a chance at least

parrot
April 1st 2013


6 Comments


frickin' good review, man.

Drummerboy123
April 1st 2013


2424 Comments


Starts strong and then gets weaker till Let Go hits.

Then drops again IMO.

Gard3n
April 1st 2013


302 Comments


I Still think Act I is their best. "1878" feels new everytime I listen to it. Their best song. Also it's a short album, Act II is too long.

Phideaux
April 1st 2013


1656 Comments


Act II is good, but Act III is definitely my favorite. I've heard this a couple times but never given it a real intense listen and I really dig it. Good review.

NeoSpaz
April 1st 2013


4519 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is growing on me.

need about 3 more spins before I'll have my final opinion.

Ire
April 1st 2013


41828 Comments


this is boring

MosesMalone
April 2nd 2013


1836 Comments


I really like their other stuff, but this album really disappointed me. I dunno how to describe it except that it doesn't really have as much bravado.

iambandersnatch
April 2nd 2013


1496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think people need to stop expecting this to be Act IV and just judge it on its own. It's a lot like when Mastodon released The Hunter. Yeah, it's not as ambitious and probably not their very best, but there's still a lot of enjoyable stuff on it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy