Frank Ocean Channel Orange
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Omaha
Staff Reviewer
March 20th 2013



9467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.6 | Sound Off

Thanks for the compliment, Ed.

I see this album as a tour through Frank Ocean's life-- you have the main destinations "Pyramids," "Bad Religion," "Sweet Life," you've got the necessary stops at shady gas stations "White," and you also wish the great moments could last longer "Lost," "Crack Rock."

I definitely think he could've fleshed out some of the best ideas here, like "Super Rich Kids," but I can definitely say I wouldn't appreciate them as much. I dig it because it's unanticipated.

Digging: Koan Sound - Dynasty

iambandersnatch
March 21st 2013



1451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Crack Rock's actually my favorite off this. Every single sound on that track is just so on-point and satisfying.

For me there's about 5 good/great songs and the rest are just wacky ideas that, while entertaining at a few points, don't quite work.

But the good stuff makes it a must-listen. I think it's a 3.7 or 3.8.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
March 22nd 2013



9467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.6 | Sound Off

Which ideas are you not fond of, Bander? My least favorite here is Forrest Gump, to be honest.

Emyay
March 22nd 2013



4488 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah i don't like forrest gump much

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
March 22nd 2013



9467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.6 | Sound Off

like there are much better tracks here - I wish he valued Sweet Life as much as he does Forrest Gump, because I thoroughly believe it's a better track and deserves the exposure more.

Wolfhorde
March 22nd 2013



11796 Comments


^ Agreed. Totally what I'll be bumpin' whenever I see an actual beach again (fucking bonfires are le shit)

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
March 22nd 2013



9467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.6 | Sound Off

I bumped most of this album at the beach a few days ago, and it was GLORIOUS

Wolfhorde
March 22nd 2013



11796 Comments


DO YOU HAVE TO RUB IT IN MY FACE, ASSHOLE?!
.
.
.
.

It's bad enough we don't have proper beaches or bonfires at all here (or within a thousand mile radius, really) but to add to it, this March is officially one of the coldest/most wintry in 150 years.

EaglesBecomeVultures
March 22nd 2013



5049 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

what do you mean, you can have a bonfire wherever

Digging: School of Language - Old Fears

Wolfhorde
March 22nd 2013



11796 Comments


Actually you can not as as open fires on land which is not yours are strictly prohibited and controlled and normal open fires are already a bureaucratic hassle. (you already need a permission for simply camping on land that isn't your own, which the provincial governments can be quite reluctant with)

EaglesBecomeVultures
March 22nd 2013



5049 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

damn bro that sucks

we rock fires like this all summer
http://sphotos-b.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash4/252528_524887839166_7057473_n.jpg

Wolfhorde
March 22nd 2013



11796 Comments


The only place where you can actually do them without getting shit for it are festivals like Wacken and Summerbreeze, which also have become stricter in the past decade. (plus they're expensive and I'm not necessarily interested)

JealousĀ³.

Inveigh
March 23rd 2013



24180 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i love where he's trying to go with this record, but i get really frustrated at how unfinished at least half of these ideas are.


agreed with this hard. album could've been a 5.

Digging: Symptom - Caverns Of Katabasis

Gyromania
March 23rd 2013



14647 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

well c'mon guys, this is his first lp.

Inveigh
March 23rd 2013



24180 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

not saying he doesn't have a classic in him, it just could've been his debut

Ecnalzen
March 23rd 2013



5848 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is pretty fucking cool.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
March 23rd 2013



14884 Comments


Monks shoulda been junked tbh

Ecnalzen
March 23rd 2013



5848 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I actually just listened to Monks (making my way through the album right now). I thought it was pretty cool.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
March 23rd 2013



9467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.6 | Sound Off

Monks is great, a little scattershot towards the end but them drums.

plane
Staff Reviewer
March 23rd 2013



6073 Comments


Agreed w/ Monks. One poor track (contradicting earlier statements but yah)



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy