Black Rebel Motorcycle Club Specter At The Feast
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Ecnalzen
March 20th 2013


6825 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Never heard of these guys until I heard their song on the Batman - Arkham City soundtrack. This is really cool. Might end up picking this up.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 21st 2013


3503 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They've done a couple of tracks for movies. There's one for Twilight too, but I heard they weren't aware of what's the movie about and when they found out regretted their decision.

Digging: Motorpsycho - The Motorpnakotic Fragments

RadicalEd
March 21st 2013


2847 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

They've done a couple of tracks for movies. There's one for Twilight too, but I heard they weren't aware of what's the movie about and when they found out regretted their decision.

Oc ourse they did. Worst decision ever from a marketing standpoint, if you are not paramore or something =D

Digging: ODESZA - In Return

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 21st 2013


3503 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad they didn't have any other ideas and the record turned out really strong.

Ecnalzen
March 21st 2013


6825 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The song they did for the Arkham City game is great. Its called Shadow on the Run.

Lol, was it the very first Twilight movie? Otherwise, I would think most people would know what Twilight is and to avoid connecting themselves to the series.

RadicalEd
March 21st 2013


2847 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sooooo.

I checked it.

And it it's really surprisingly good. Easily their best since Howl.

RadicalEd
March 21st 2013


2847 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sometimes the Light gave me massive goosebumps. Very well done. You can definitely hear the whole dying father story having a massive influence on the album. And although that's tragic and all, it's very good for the album. Because this has a level of emotional depth and sincerity that other BRMC records dont have.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 21st 2013


3503 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, they were always all gloom and doom, but here there's an unfortunate event behind it all so it came naturally. Sometimes The Light is hauntingly beautiful. Right now Sell It and Rival are my favorites, but there's a lot to enjoy here.

It might have been for the first Twilight. I think the song is called Done All Wrong and it's a piano ballad.

There's also a song The Absent, which they released last Christmas for free on their website. That one is really nice too.

RadicalEd
March 23rd 2013


2847 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Although i am kind of in love with this. 2-3 Tracks could haven been cut easily. Hello there lullaby.

Sell it and Rival are great though, you're right.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 23rd 2013


3503 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think most of their albums have a couple of tracks that could've been reworked or excluded from the tracklist, but this one's fairly consistent.

Ecnalzen
March 23rd 2013


6825 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

What else is worth checking out from these guys? Is it all good?

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 23rd 2013


3503 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well B.R.M.C. (which is more shoegaze) is their most critical acclaimed effort, but Howl is worth checking out because it's comprised mostly of acoustic americana/country stuff. The rest of the records combine the two styles (Beat The Devil's Tattoo is a solid effort that showcases both sides nicely).

Try B.R.M.C. or Beat The Devil's Tattoo first and then Howl. If you like them check out this (if you haven't already), Take Them On, On Your Own and Baby 81. Avoid, however, The Effects Of 333, which is a failed attempt at dark ambient.

Ecnalzen
March 23rd 2013


6825 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Will do. I noticed the consistent ratings for their albums above a 3 and then Effects way down in the dumps below a 2. You don't see that too often. I guess every good band has that one possibility of a major flop.

Thanks for the suggestions!

Edit: I feel kind of tard like for asking, but what exactly is shoegaze?

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 23rd 2013


3503 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, I don't know what prompted them to release that album. I really like them, but I can't listen to that as a whole. I hope you get into them, they're underrated on Sputnik.

Shoegaze appeared in the 80s and is characterized by loud deep bass lines along with dreamy guitar lines drenched in delay, echo and distortion (to get that wall of sound). I don't know if this is the most accurate description, but check out records such as My Bloody Valentine - Loveless, The Verve - A Storm In Heaven, The Jesus And Mary Chain - Psychocandy or The Brian Jonestown Massacre - Methodrone. These are great examples of shoegaze.

Ecnalzen
March 23rd 2013


6825 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I listened to most of this and really enjoyed it, and I already have a copy ordered. Listened to the first half of the S/T and it was pretty great too. The bass grooves quite nicely on it.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 23rd 2013


3503 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha that's great, I envy you. Unfortunately, I don't have enough money to buy a copy because it costs a lot to ship here to Romania (there aren't many record shops here so obscure records can't be found). I love Rifles and Awake from their debut, they are hauntingly beautiful.

Ecnalzen
March 23rd 2013


6825 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That sucks. I would be going a little nuts if I lived there, lol. Can you at least get a hold of mp3 albums relatively cheap?

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 23rd 2013


3503 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well we do download the hell out of the internet without paying haha. I manage to buy CDs to major label bands, but indie stuff and obscure stuff is hard to get without paying a shitload of money. We have iTunes though, but I prefer physical copies.

Ecnalzen
March 23rd 2013


6825 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I am the same way. Unless the physical copy is outrageously expensive (being an import or out of print and/or hard to find), I like to have me an actual CD. I have a few mp3 albums from some European bands because I didn't want to pay 30 plus dollars for the physical album.

bloc
March 24th 2013


35024 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This isn't good at all



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy