Steven Wilson The Raven That Refused to Sing
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Titan
February 24th 2013


5058 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

holy shit!

OneMoreRoland
February 24th 2013


1051 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is really good. Insurgentes is my favorite though. There's nothing like it. While this, like you said, is a homage of sorts.

Gard3n
February 24th 2013


286 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"The Raven that Refused to Sing" is a wonderful song, so emotional. THAT is the kind of music I want Steven to write. Album is ok, GfD is better.

mindleviticus
February 24th 2013


8292 Comments


I find this very boring, sorry Hernan :/ Congrats though man!

Zamora
February 24th 2013


255 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is really good.

Nice review and congrats on the promotion.

bloc
February 24th 2013


34925 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Nice to hear GG on the guitar, but this was pretty boring otherwise.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
February 24th 2013


4443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Thanks everyone for the feedback and support.
Surprised a number of you didn't dig this, Steven Wilson seems to get good ratings here. Oh well.

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
February 24th 2013


2005 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'll have to check this out. I like Porcupine Tree, but have never cared much for Steven Wilson's solo stuff.

Digging: Thank You Scientist - Maps of Non-Existent Places

Quadrochosis
February 24th 2013


20 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

great album. great review

PistolPete
February 24th 2013


3629 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nothing much sticking out to me on the first listen except maybe "Drive Home". The longer tracks are impressive in their own right but will I be in the mood to listen to this again later on? Probably not...

Digging: O'Brother - Garden Window

KerfuffleinaHussle
February 24th 2013


783 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

"I'm also a huuugge Wilson fan (I've fived every PT album since In Absentia"

hahahhahahahahhahahhahahahaha


and yeah Insurgentes is the best Wilson imo

KangarooSong
February 24th 2013


143 Comments


this is SO raven

Digging: RATKING - So It Goes

simmo69lol
February 24th 2013


14 Comments


Hmmm I'm digging this alot more than Grace for Drowning. Drive Home and The Raven That Refused to Sing really standing out for me

PistolPete
February 24th 2013


3629 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah I like the ballads better than the longer sprawling tracks. Steven Wilson usually knows how to nail those down.

1drummer
February 24th 2013


325 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I don't think it's that he is obsessed with the genre. I think it's more so the musical state of mind, of the time period. The creative process flourished, people actually gave a shit about music, and purchased the hard copies. There wasn't so much instant gratification expected. The more people trying to keep that alive, the better. Can't wait to hear this.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
February 24th 2013


4443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

I don't think it's that he is obsessed with the genre. I think it's more so the musical state of mind, of the time period. The creative process flourished, people actually gave a shit about music, and purchased the hard copies. There wasn't so much instant gratification expected. The more people trying to keep that alive, the better. Can't wait to hear this.


Steve Wilson is definitely obsessed with Prog rock, but I meant that in a good way, not as an insult (that would be a 'calling the kettle black' scenario). I aslo agree with you, he appreciates music that focuses on art rather than appeal, and that's what 70s prog was all about. Anyway, I hope you like the album, I thought it was pretty great though it's getting a bit overhyped by some.

YankeeDudel
February 24th 2013


9313 Comments


"he appreciates music that focuses on art rather than appeal"

what?

Digging: The The - Soul Mining

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
February 24th 2013


4443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

@Yankee
What I meant is that prog focuses more on elaborate concepts than just catchy hooks and melodic tunes like pop or at the time, disco. That isn't too say that kind of thing isn't found in prog, but a song like "Roundabout" are nowhere near as accessible as The BeeGees' "You Should Be Dancing".

MO
February 24th 2013


18865 Comments


is this streaming?

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
February 24th 2013


4443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Not yet, I'll upload it when it comes out. This is the only song (besides "The Raven" music video) on youtube:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z7jUOZTDvs0 - "Luminol"



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy