Caladan Brood Echoes Of Battle
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Amphoteric
August 22nd 2014


2014 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

http://i.imgur.com/vx2QU2G.jpg

emester
August 22nd 2014


5378 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

haven't heard this in a while

Digging: Hypocrite - Into the Halls of the Blind

Gameofmetal
August 22nd 2014


5745 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

It's still gold.

Digging: The Slow Death - Ark

Amphoteric
August 22nd 2014


2014 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It just gets better and better to no end.

Gameofmetal
August 22nd 2014


5745 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

It just gets better and better to no end. [2]

PortalofPerfection
August 29th 2014


656 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Been avoiding this for a while because of all the summoning comparisons (summoning bores me) but a few samples of some tracks off this and I think I've been missing out...

Digging: Der Weg Einer Freiheit - Stellar

Hawks
August 29th 2014


36706 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah this rules. Idk how you could like this and not like Summoning though tbh.

Digging: Coalesce - 0:12 Revolution in Just Listening

PortalofPerfection
August 29th 2014


656 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

So I've been told lol. Noctus even says it in his review though and he's right. Summoning is all about the atmosphere, this has instrumentation that's actually interesting (to me).

PortalofPerfection
August 29th 2014


656 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Same reason I love Falls of Rauros so much. They have a thick atmosphere but behind that there's a

lot of really engaging stuff going on musically. I don't get that from Summoning at all. Past

their very well put together atmosphere is...not much.

Amphoteric
August 29th 2014


2014 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah this generally contains more guitar/riffs, though a lot of the atmosphere is portrayed through the use of the keys/synth, which doesn't bother me at all.

KriegdemKriege
August 29th 2014


1442 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This one wasn't as good as I was expecting.

PortalofPerfection
August 29th 2014


656 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Eunuch, I don't know if I could be specific enough to satisfy you but I've listened through Oathbound twice and Mina Morgul once. I've also listened to parts of Stronghold and Old Mornings and there just isn't ever much of anything that grabs me. I try and focus on the instruments and I just keep hearing the same couple of riffs alternated and repeated for long stretches, very similar sounding drum patterns, and the vocals sound borderline silly to me sometimes.



I'm not trying to insult anyone, it's just how I feel about it. Not saying I think this is ZOMGamazingSOOOOmuchbetterthanSUMMONINGtheysuckhahaha. It just seems to fill in some of the musical blanks for me. Probably a 3.5.

Gameofmetal
August 29th 2014


5745 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

It's true that since I started on Caladan then moved to Summoning, the latter feels more empty in the instrument department and just relies on keys and atmosphere. That's why I prefer Caladan personally. The vocal performance is better here too imo. The production is a little better too I think.

Keyblade
August 29th 2014


16084 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's the beauty of Summoning; their minimal, less is more approach which leaves more to the imagination. You can craft a compelling atmosphere without much instrumentation or a polished production. Besides, since when was instrumentation important in a genre as heavily reliant on atmosphere as this?

Amphoteric
August 29th 2014


2014 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Summoning grew off me a little after hearing this, though I still really like Stronghold.

Gameofmetal
August 29th 2014


5745 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Key you make plenty of good points, I do enjoy Summoning immensely. I just happen to prefer Caladan to anything I've heard by Summoning personally. Caladan has a little more in the way of other instruments filling up the mix but still leave a lot to the atmosphere. Just my preference.

Keyblade
August 29th 2014


16084 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yep, guess it just comes down to preference in the end. Looking forward to these guys' next release

Amphoteric
August 29th 2014


2014 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Saying it'll be a tall order for them to top this would be the understatement of the century, but I'm definitely looking forward to a follow-up as well.

PortalofPerfection
August 29th 2014


656 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You do make good points key but I want both. I'm totally down with Summoning sticking to a minimalistic approach, they're awesome at what they do. It's just not what my ears like to hear 😊



I'm like that with my doom too, most of the more highly rated doom albums here are more simplistic, whereas the ones I like are usually pretty abstract and complex.

Gameofmetal
August 29th 2014


5745 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I think I heard that Caladan was doing a split with Falls of Rauros, can anyone confirm or deny that? Also they did a couple of great summoning covers that are only on their vinyl release.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy