Riverside Shrine Of New Generation Slaves
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
johnnydeking29
January 23rd 2013


9215 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Ahm... If there's a vocalist that lacks range, that's Steven [2]

I'm not sure how to feel about this. I like some parts of it, and yet I see no point in returning to it. I can't see myself calling it bad, but for me it's just not very engaging.

I totally get what you mean, but I find some of it intriguing

Digging: Kayo Dot - Coffins On Io

tiesthatbind
January 23rd 2013


7375 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ok so this is growing on me. Definitely their best album since Second Life Syndrome.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2013


7417 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks a bunch guys. Duda's vocal range is fine imo. He sounds better now than ever. His lyrics though may be something to complain about if you're picky or if you pay attention to lyrics in the first place...

@tiesthatbind:
I honestly thought I wouldn't go past a 3.5 on this after my first spin. It's definitely a grower.



Digging: Dope Body - Lifer

tiesthatbind
January 23rd 2013


7375 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Duda's vocals are great on this. He really brought some killer melodies to this album which is what's really winning me over the most.

I also just picked up on the fact that Coda is an acoustic reprise of Feel Like Falling. Awesome.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2013


7417 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I noticed that too, just had no opportunity to put it in the review.

OmairSh
January 23rd 2013


11547 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Steven, when he tries to be aggressive it's laughable."

I actually love his aggressive vocals, his voice doesn't feel excessively strained unlike Duda, it's Duda's aggressive vocals that I think are much weaker in comparison to his soft vocals. He can't do the aggressive, Celebrity touch is a good example, they seem so strained. SW can pull them off imo. His vocals on Anesthetise are great.

Digging: Freak Kitchen - Cooking With Pagans

Gard3n
January 23rd 2013


286 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Just listened to the bonus tracks. Part One is meh, Part Two is a little better. Sound like leftovers
from Lunatic Soul.

"Fell Like Falling" has grown on me a bit. And for some reason beyond my comprehension I've come to
love "Coda".

Nagrarok
January 24th 2013


8259 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I haven't listened to this band for some time, going to refresh my memory a bit before give this a shot. Nice work again greg.

OmairSh
January 24th 2013


11547 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah the bonus tracks could've been a lot better. Also could've included drums

greg84
Staff Reviewer
January 24th 2013


7417 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Nagrarok:
Thanks. You should definitely give it a spin Nag.

@OmairSh:
I haven't reviewed the bonus disc in my review. I agree these tracks aren't very interesting. They sound like a Lunatic Soul rehash more than anything else.



ProfessorVeerappan
January 24th 2013


792 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

now 2013 has opened with some mad mad progression this is simply great material provided with the density in the lyrical aspect
this is a wonderful piece
stud in between of the matter that they have sung about
pure heart thought applied ....

chambered99
January 24th 2013


812 Comments


trhdjt

OmairSh
January 24th 2013


11547 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Agreed

ProfessorVeerappan
January 24th 2013


792 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pure matter no shit ......

johnnydeking29
January 24th 2013


9215 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

The bridge and sax solo in Deprived is so damn good

bloc
January 24th 2013


34915 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Just listened to the bonus tracks. Part One is meh, Part Two is a little better. Sound like leftovers from Lunatic Soul.

Good thing I skipped that download then.

OmairSh
January 24th 2013


11547 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Pure matter no shit ......"

Thanks for the technical terminology professor

OmairSh
January 24th 2013


11547 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I was hoping for more sax, and more experimental usage of it. Alas.

bloc
January 24th 2013


34915 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

True, the saxophone seems to fit with these guys really well, especially during their slower passages.

Like the sax line in their song OK? One of the greatest moments in this band's music.

ProfessorVeerappan
January 25th 2013


792 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sometimes the technicalities have to kept aside for the real feel to flow in and out
for a wider and more prospective trip
building blocks
saxaphone the bluesy riffs the psychedelia that it all forms into
the heavy density they are trying to portrait .



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy