Riverside Shrine Of New Generation Slaves
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
bloc
January 22nd 2013


35362 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well well well, SONGS.



What a coincidence.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
January 22nd 2013


7514 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's not a coincidence. Feel Like Falling is actually one of my favorite tracks on here.

Digging: Luna Sol - Blood Moon

OmairSh
January 22nd 2013


12220 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

They named this SONGS when all their albums possess quality songs, it's not like they decided to focus on songwriting now. New Generation Slave is enjoyable, some good riffs on there. Feel like Fallings weird guitar tone is interesting, and the chorus is good.

OmairSh
January 22nd 2013


12220 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5



Yazz_Flute
January 22nd 2013


18921 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The riff in Celebrity Touch is so bad.

FearThyEvil
January 22nd 2013


13174 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Liking what I'm hearing from it so far.

OmairSh
January 22nd 2013


12220 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"The riff in Celebrity Touch is so bad."



Actually all of the riffs on that are pretty good, but the song has worn off relatively quickly.

Yazz_Flute
January 22nd 2013


18921 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The Depth of Self-Delusion and Escalator Shrine are great tracks, but other than those two I'm not a huge fan of this.

johnnydeking29
January 22nd 2013


10182 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

The riff in Celebrity Touch is so bad.



Dude wtf, that riff slays face, and yeah those 2 are some of the best

Digging: Mew - -

tiesthatbind
January 22nd 2013


7380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Escalator Shrine is good but I was hoping for something even better. It kinda fizzles out in the second half when it should've been building to an epic climax.

Gard3n
January 22nd 2013


349 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"the song has worn off relatively quickly"



^This



Although I think it's still a fun song.

OmairSh
January 22nd 2013


12220 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Steven Wilson's vocals>>



Mariusz has a distinct and soothing voice but lacks range.

Gard3n
January 22nd 2013


349 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ahm... If there's a vocalist that lacks range, that's Steven. Anyway, I love his voice. But Duda has

better range, he can be soft or agressive and both are amazing. Take for example the Reality Dream and

the Anesthetize concerts. Duda's voice is even better than on the albums. I can't say the same for

Steven, when he tries to be aggressive it's laughable.



There's plenty of songs on Riverside that are standouts because of Duda's voice but none in PT or

Steven solo stuff.



Also, I would love to see Duda making death growls.

tragic.details
January 22nd 2013


627 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review.

I dig it.

Diglett
January 22nd 2013


1607 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

riverside is baller God damn

Willie
Moderator
January 22nd 2013


16198 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review, but based on the song I heard and your review, I don't think I'll like this.

Digging: Paradise Lost - The Plague Within

johnnydeking29
January 23rd 2013


10182 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Ahm... If there's a vocalist that lacks range, that's Steven [2]



I'm not sure how to feel about this. I like some parts of it, and yet I see no point in returning to it. I can't see myself calling it bad, but for me it's just not very engaging.



I totally get what you mean, but I find some of it intriguing

tiesthatbind
January 23rd 2013


7380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ok so this is growing on me. Definitely their best album since Second Life Syndrome.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2013


7514 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks a bunch guys. Duda's vocal range is fine imo. He sounds better now than ever. His lyrics though may be something to complain about if you're picky or if you pay attention to lyrics in the first place...



@tiesthatbind:

I honestly thought I wouldn't go past a 3.5 on this after my first spin. It's definitely a grower.





tiesthatbind
January 23rd 2013


7380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Duda's vocals are great on this. He really brought some killer melodies to this album which is what's really winning me over the most.



I also just picked up on the fact that Coda is an acoustic reprise of Feel Like Falling. Awesome.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy