Reso Tangram
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Zettel
November 5th 2012



582 Comments


Thanks for awakening me from my slumber. The review is a little too long for my tastes, but served its purpose. I checked out this album, and certainly I have no regrets. Is this what people call "brostep"? I expected something pedestrian; instead I found something fun and fresh. Good call on this one.

mindleviticus
November 5th 2012



8151 Comments


Holy shit! Zettel is back with the same Mokira avatar!

WashboardSuds
November 5th 2012



4981 Comments


""in da mix" ? that mix is great, starts with Playstation 1 opening"

no it was called Big Reso Mix or something like that. I didn't hear any ps1 opening, it ends with a song called Cedar Green by Keaver and Brause that's all I know track-wise what it contained

Digging: Acid Bath - When the Kite String Pops

Zettel
November 5th 2012



582 Comments


Holy shit! Zettel is back with the same Mokira avatar!


Even if it was not your intention, you made have a hearty laugh. I did not believe that was still possible on this site.

mindleviticus
November 5th 2012



8151 Comments


lol you always reviewed the best stuff!

Zettel
November 5th 2012



582 Comments


Well, I see you reviewed Deru, Marc Leclair, Vladislav Delay, among others. Major props for that. I will keep an eye on your future reviews.

mindleviticus
November 5th 2012



8151 Comments


Thanks! I hope to see you posting more! :]

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2012



30865 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

theory/conspiracy: dev 2.5'd it because he mentally won't let himself like anything Will likes.
"of course you'd love this"
shit man


Your theories need work


Digging: FaltyDL - In The Wild

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 6th 2012



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

excited to see he has an LP finally. I hope I like it as the EPs and the In da Mix comp.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 6th 2012



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks for awakening me from my slumber. The review is a little too long for my tastes, but served its purpose. I checked out this album, and certainly I have no regrets. Is this what people call "brostep"? I expected something pedestrian; instead I found something fun and fresh. Good call on this one.


I guess this is brostep. Basically any dubstep with a lot of really loud, heavy sub-bass (often not even sub but like mid-range bass eg. Skrillex) gets called brostep. Most of the stuff with that tag sucks, and I usually really like Reso. I haven't heard this album yet but I've always liked his stuff so I have high hopes. I've heard one song from it, Ishimura (has been released for a while), and it rules so hard. It was a big song for me last year.

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
November 6th 2012



7019 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Basically any dubstep with a lot of really loud, heavy sub-bass (often not even sub but like mid-range bass eg. Skrillex) gets called brostep."

The mid-range part is pretty much essential. Heavy sub-bass is pretty standard in regular dubstep. About to give this my first listen.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 6th 2012



30865 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Wubs with sweet fuck all of anything else to do with either dub or garage

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 6th 2012



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Wubs with sweet fuck all of anything else to do with either dub or garage"

yeah pretty much this actually. disregard much of what I said.

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
November 6th 2012



7019 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is a fine listen and all, but some of the lighter tracks are completely uninteresting. The heavier stuff on here isn't his best work either, I think Ishimura is my favorite off this which is disappointing.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 6th 2012



30865 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Near the end of the album, "Check 1,2" throws one more curveball into the mix, with its faded beat, synths, and samples leading right into a glitch hop banger with Reso's trademark wobbles. It's got everything you'd expect from genre superstars like Opiuo and K+Lab, except with a spin that's distinctly Reso.


How is 'Check 1,2' "glitch hop" (as in, like a Flylo jam) at all? And since when has Opiuo been making anything similar? Guy is a breaks artist, always has been

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
November 6th 2012



3333 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Basically anything off of Opiuo's Slurp and Giggle or Butternut Slap series is pretty similar, and I'd call Check 1,2 glitch hop since its triplet-based 100 BPM music which is pretty much how that's defined these days.

Also Ishimura is one of my least favorite songs on this haha, but it's still OK.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 6th 2012



30865 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Music is not defined by bpm lol. And triplet based? Um...

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
November 6th 2012



3333 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

What would you call it if it's not glitch hop then? As far as I can tell it's glitch hop and I can't really see it being something else.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 6th 2012



30865 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It's still a dubstep tune; like I said, things aren't defined simply by tempo. Though the drumstep crowd would argue otherwise lol. And Opiuo, K+Lab, Tipper and all the rest are also not "glitch hop", nor are they dubstep; they're breaks artists, and Reso's tunes are more often than not draw influence from that scene

How could it be seen as "glitch hop" (and yes, it's not really a thing either, but that's another discussion) when that is defined as: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AMjmg1igZ4U

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
November 7th 2012



3333 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I guess it's just that every other site I've used for electronic stuff has called that style of 100BPM glitch hop, and I'm not one to
go against that (after all, for all the protests I make against labeling myself as such, I do enjoy the presence of the EDM
community as well as the darker electronic music one, and as this song falls more into the former category I might as well go
with the tag "glitch hop"). It's more me using what I know, because after all, you're the first one I've heard to label that style of
music "breaks."

Also, I'll be honest: I'm starting to get tired of the fact that (aside from the neurofunk/techstep recs which were nice) all your
comments on my writing and thoughts are nitpicky and condescending. While I appreciate the fact that you know a hell of a lot
about electronic music, it doesn't mean you have to call me out on a genre tag every time I do something questionable, even
if given the type of electronic I'm reviewing both of us could be right. I take my writing seriously and I don't want to have to
post an electronic review knowing that I'm going to have to fend off some term I've been using since I started listening to
electronic stuff a year and a half ago. I'd appreciate it far more if I could get some criticism of the music itself or the actual
review (which, granted, you kind of did on the first page, albeit in an incredibly snide way), and I think it would be fare more
beneficial to an already poisonous Sputnik community if instead of spending time making sarcastic, short comments or
condescending comments implying I don't really know much about electronic music (which, although true, isn't really
necessary and just accomplishes making me feel worse about my contributions and less inclined to write more), you made
comments that made people glad that they joined the Sputnik community. You're staff, people hold you in high esteem. It's
your choice what to do with those red letters next to your name, but I'd really appreciate it if you were more constructive.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy