Anberlin Vital
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
toxin.
November 29th 2012


12604 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

he lost where it matters
the south

Ecnalzen
November 29th 2012


6688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"The solo in Miserabile Visu is pretty sweet too"

Yeah, but it kind of loses steam after he starts shredding a little for that beginning part and then he just lays on bends on vibrato until it's over. Only part of the song that kind of bums me out. I do love the lead guitar part over the "Look children to the eastern sky" vocal section.

toxin.
November 29th 2012


12604 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah I'm listening right now and I see what you mean. To be honest, one of my biggest pet peeves with Anberlin is the soloing. It seems 80% of their solos are just bends and tremolo picking (these tremolo picked solos I almost hesitate to call solos).

Ecnalzen
November 29th 2012


6688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh, yeah, I feel like they could utilize it more often. Like on To The Wolves and Reclusion (Glass To The Arson has a tremolo-ish one, but it doesn't bother me). Only part of those songs that irritate me are those bendy, almost solos. Otherwise, I love them both. Readyfuels, Godspeed, The Feel Good Drag and Little Tyrants all have fantastic solos. Hell, even their cover of Love Song (which is awesome) has a cool little mini-solo that's better than the first two I mentioned.

tiesthatbind
November 30th 2012


7375 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Agreed, I wish they'd bust out those shred solos more than once an album, they're really good at them. I like the tremolo-picked one in Desires though, that one seems to fit better.

toxin.
November 30th 2012


12604 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, in some of the not-so-rocky songs like Art of War, the tremolo kinda solos are fine but in general I think songs like To The Wolves could use a shredding solo. Agreed that Desires' solo works surprisingly well though

Ecnalzen
November 30th 2012


6688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I forgot about the Desires one. It works pretty well, like Glass To The Arson's.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
December 1st 2012


16404 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

TELL ME AGAIN WHAT'S REEEAAAAL

TELL ME AGAIN WHAT TO FEEEEEL

Digging: Weezer - Everything Will Be Alright in the End

toxin.
December 1st 2012


12604 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's an entire page of 4.5s!

Ecnalzen
December 1st 2012


6688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ha ha ha, YES. I likes what I sees here.

toxin.
December 1st 2012


12604 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

wait dammit chipmunk

KjSwantko
December 1st 2012


9443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

uh oh

toxin.
December 5th 2012


12604 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Little Tyrants really rules, it's moving up the ranks of Vital

Libertarian
December 5th 2012


84 Comments


Really good rock album.

toxin.
December 5th 2012


12604 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

correct opinion

Ecnalzen
December 5th 2012


6688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Little tyrants was the first song to catch my attention. Still love it.

KjSwantko
December 5th 2012


9443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Intentions bra

toxin.
December 5th 2012


12604 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Intentions is sweet but I don't think it's that immediate. I thought the most obviously good songs were Type Three and Modern Age. From the start they were the most likable

JakeStallion
December 5th 2012


398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I agree with Ecnalzen. Little Tyrants was the first song from the album that I loved and got into on my first listen. Of course, I love every song on the album now, but some took more listens than others (GD&S, Innocent, Morpheum)

toxin.
December 5th 2012


12604 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You got into Innocent and Orpheum? sweet I have hope



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy