Anberlin Vital
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
menawati
Contributing Reviewer
November 16th 2012


16112 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

the newness has worn off a bit after listening to this so many times


freaky

Digging: H.P. Lovecraft - H.P. Lovecraft II

Lakes.
November 16th 2012


28693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

jam it

Digging: Laked God and Yak - Butt Pirate Bible Force

toxin.
November 16th 2012


12764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"the newness has worn off a bit after listening to this so many times, i think i definitely prefer it to cities on the whole"

Same but I gotta stick with Cities. GD&S doesn't even hold a candle to (*fin). Outside of closers Vital has a slight edge but after factoring (*fin) I just can't call this superior in good faith.

Lakes.
November 16th 2012


28693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i love gds, it's really grown on me.

as for type three, it might be my favorite anberlin song outside of fin.

toxin.
November 17th 2012


12764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah I've listened to Vital with individual songs so I've probably only heard GD&S like 10x. Hopefully it grows but I'd probably call it one of my 4 least favorite songs on the album.

I can't really comment on Type Three on their discography. I might agree with you there but damn it's hard for me to compare all their awesome songs besides fin being on a different level

Lakes.
November 17th 2012


28693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

eh, fair enough. i wasn't big on gds until recently but i've come around to it. i love the gang vocals towards the end.

it's hard for me to rank anberlin songs but i think type three and modern age are very close to fin level for me.

toxin.
November 17th 2012


12764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, GDS and Intentions are both songs that I feel like I don't know well enough to cement my opinions on. When that happens though I'm gonna finish my review for this.

And yeah, I dunno, fin is just on a different level because it's ambitious in a way that Anberlin just never is, and somehow everything works, from the acoustic verses to the over-the-top solos/choir to the improvised section at the end. Type Three is very... heavenly I guess but lacks that grandiosity for it to quite reach fin. Modern Age doesn't really reach there. I adore the verses and the guitar riff during the chorus is cool but I think the vocal effects just prevent it from hitting the next tier. I also don't like the drumwork in the chorus but I think that's because my laptop speakers are shit

Lakes.
November 17th 2012


28693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fair enough.

toxin.
November 17th 2012


12764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah Modern Age's drums aren't bad with good sound system but the chorus just lacks that edge

Lakes.
November 17th 2012


28693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

eh, i like it. it gets really powerful when the backing vocals come in imo

toxin.
November 17th 2012


12764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's not bad, it's like an 8/10 but it could've been a 9.5/10 but maybe it's just me.
I'm still mad Unstable isn't on the album though. It's so great. It'd probably be top 5 if it were on the album

Ecnalzen
November 17th 2012


6775 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Its weird that you love the chorus so much"

Eh, I'm a weird guy.

Storm In A Teacup
November 17th 2012


13191 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

This is still a 5 and running away with album of the year.

Waior
November 17th 2012


11461 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

in waiorder

Self-Starter (5)
Type Three (5)
Little Tyrants (4.5)
God, Drugs & Sex (4.5)
Other Side (4)
Someone Anyone (4)
Intentions (4)
Orpheum (3.5)
Modern Age (3.5)
Desires (3.5)
Innocent (3)

Digging: Hey Rosetta! - Second Sight

marksellsuswallets
November 17th 2012


4848 Comments


Hey when the hell did Caleb come back wtf?

Waior
November 17th 2012


11461 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

he didn't really

and you're one to talk!!

someguest
November 17th 2012


21185 Comments


It's the irish mountaineer.

Waior
November 18th 2012


11461 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

well that's close enough

lachis
November 21st 2012


240 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Really enjoying this now. After a couple listens it really grew on me. Still preferring Dark is the way though.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
November 22nd 2012


16112 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Some of this sounds very drossy but when they put some power in it's decent.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy