Anberlin Vital
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Eko
October 13th 2012


2119 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this might be the album I never thought they were capable of making

Lakes.
October 13th 2012


27760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

huh

Digging: Arthur Russell - World of Echo

toxin.
October 13th 2012


12427 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Neg'd for not mentioning "Type Three."

That song is brilliant. Good review though

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 13th 2012


19756 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Well pretty much the whole album is brilliant lol I can't mention every song ;)

Digging: Spectral Lore - III

Cygnatti
October 13th 2012


21352 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

track by track plz

Digging: Jon Hopkins - Immunity

toxin.
October 13th 2012


12427 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Haha yeah, I'm just joking. I'm not a huge fan of Someone Anyone or Innocent personally. They're solid 3.2s/5, though I do enjoy them more than like Hello Alone and Adelaide off Cities.

I'm not sure whether this album is more consistent than DitW, which is probably an unpopular opinion. Still, this has better songs than DitW and is more consistent than Cities.

By the way, this has bothered me about your review:


Fortunately, The variety


sixdegrees
October 13th 2012


17088 Comments


Cities is betterer.

Digging: School Food Punishment - Air Feel, Color Swim

Cygnatti
October 13th 2012


21352 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

so is that really a shirtless man humping something or...?

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 13th 2012


19756 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

@xtoxin, ok why though?

sixdegrees
October 13th 2012


17088 Comments


he's clearly frolicking in the surf.

Cygnatti
October 13th 2012


21352 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'll have what he's having

Lakes.
October 13th 2012


27760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

innocent is the only song i'm not crazy about

toxin.
October 14th 2012


12427 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"@xtoxin, ok why though?"

If you're referring to what is bothering me, it's the random capitalization of "The" mid-sentence.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 14th 2012


19756 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

yeah I caught that haha my bad

boogs
October 14th 2012


222 Comments


Wow, that's a lot of semen on the cover.

joshieboy12345
October 14th 2012


5370 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Seen all the positive hype about this album, but l have never really listened to this band. Suggestions for their best 2 albums to listen to? Could this be classed as a top 2 album released by them already?

toxin.
October 14th 2012


12427 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

What are you looking for?

To me, the most logical starting point is Never Take Friendship Personal, and the natural progression is Cities than this.

Blueprints... is not accurate of Anberlin (very immature, fun pop-punk). New Surrender is polished but packs less punch, with a glut of mid-tempo ballads. Dark is the Way... is a mature, consistent effort that is a step into U2-sized grandiosity to mixed results (I enjoyed it; others found the album samey or just boring).

If you had to pick two, I'd say Cities then this. I started with Cities and I was hooked. It's not like you can go wrong, since the band is accessible on all releases.

joshieboy12345
October 15th 2012


5370 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ok thanks a lot xtoxin. I actually had heard Never Take Friendship Personal a while ago and forgot about it. Got back into it, and l will download this and Cities again. Once again thanks!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy