Coheed and Cambria The Afterman: Ascension
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Ire
October 11th 2012


41822 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

BUT NOTHING MATTERS ANYYYMOOOOOROOORROOOROREEEE

Ire
October 11th 2012


41822 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

wbu mtb n sdre

Irving
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2012


7318 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really, really good review. And I mean that without a single sexual undertone/overtone.

Digging: Portishead - Dummy

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2012


31493 Comments


What does review mean in your country???

Digging: Hyperdub - Hyperdub 10.4

RosaParks
October 11th 2012


14972 Comments


dam

Gee
October 11th 2012


228 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Holly Wood is awesome what are you smoking

Storm In A Teacup
October 11th 2012


13191 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Pearl of the Stars is worse yeah.

I haven't decided my opinion on this album.

Torii
October 11th 2012


818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Holly Wood is gay. But is one of those gay-growing songs, mostly cuz chorus. Really catchy shit

Torii
October 11th 2012


818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

But boy, Vic the butcher. gosh

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2012


2033 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I hold that Year of the Black Rainbow and No World For Tomorrow weren't bad, but they
were a definite departure in sound and didn't have lasting appeal like the first three albums.
Ascension is definitely a return to form. And given "Sentry the Defiant," I'm guessing
Descension follows-up well.

Really great review, Sowing. Well-written and well-put all around.

Digging: Damascus - When Last We Met

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2012


2033 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Your comments are useful and are a positive contribution to this website. Always.

johnnydeking29
October 11th 2012


9458 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"and even with the astounding ‘Domino The Destitute’, they've once again failed to create a song that matches the simultaneous power, complexity, and infectiousness of ‘Welcome Home.’"
You can't be serious...Vic and Domino both slay Welcome Home (which was never especially complex anyway). If you had meant Willing Well 1 or 2, maybe

Digging: Warren of Ohms - The Wolf and The Fox

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2012


2033 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Nah, I don't think anything on here slays "Welcome Home," or meets the mentioned criteria. I don't think they're trying to push that envelope, though. Evagria and The Afterman both go for the more pop-oriented approach in a bigger way than the band's really done it before, which is cool. Domino is a prog epic and is way off from "Welcome Home" and the other Key Entity tracks are cool, but they're not as catchy or massive as that track.

To be honest, I don't think the band will match that song, but that's alright. It's a pretty high point to hit again and it comes off an album with a tone and direction that's very different from the one on this album. "Domino" is the sonic equivalent on this album, though.

johnnydeking29
October 11th 2012


9458 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Domino is more complex than Welcome Home, that's a fact. It also happens to be far more infectious and slightly more powerful. Also, Coheed have WAY better tracks than Welcome Home (have you even heard Everything Evil or the Crowing)

Ire
October 11th 2012


41822 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

NO U

johnnydeking29
October 11th 2012


9458 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fuck

johnnydeking29
October 11th 2012


9458 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Entity Identified

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2012


4453 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Great writing, Sowing. Right now I have this between a 3.5 and a solid 4, enjoying this album hard lately.

Storm In A Teacup
October 11th 2012


13191 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Is it me or is Holly Wood Whore a bad 80s tribute

Motiv3
October 11th 2012


8941 Comments


Album is definitely not a 5 or a 1, probs a 3-3.5 like their last album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy