Godspeed You! Black Emperor 'Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend!
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2013



6366 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

not in this album per se but you're nit picking

haven't heard this since... it came out, it's been a while

F# and arguably Slow Riot are a lot more minimalistic though I can say that

True, but this album is pretty accessible and straight-forward if you ask me. Newcomers should listen to this first, and then I can't see the other albums posing much difficulty.

Digging: Shackleton - Deliverance Series No. 1

Maniac!
May 25th 2013



26246 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The drone is off-putting, and I can see it being a hinderance to new listeners.

Slow Riot, to me, is undoubtedly the best starting point. Short, sweet, and to the point. No "filler" drone, just straight up orgasms.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2013



21576 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I loved this band from the start, but I've barely found any other post rock I enjoy, let alone to the same level as GYBE

Digging: Septicflesh - Communion

treeqt.
May 25th 2013



9025 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

try farewell poetry
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qAg8U194HBg

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2013



21576 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The most godspeed-like post rock band I've come across is Friends of Dean Martinez

treeqt.
May 25th 2013



9025 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

are they good?

DrMaximus
May 25th 2013



8917 Comments


You're talking to fish, so not likely.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2013



21576 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've only heard one of their albums but it's decent

UnnamedOcean
May 26th 2013



3950 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

For Godspeed-like, check out The slowest runner (in all the world)

climactic
May 26th 2013



18342 Comments


I loved this band from the start, but I've barely found any other post rock I enjoy, let alone to the same level as GYBE


ya. one of those bands where none of their contemporaries even come close imo.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 26th 2013



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

if you're looking for Godspeed worship, check out The Ascent of Everest's "How Lonely Sits the City"

best GYBE worship I've ever heard

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xblfFudTafA

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 26th 2013



21576 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've had that on my iPod for something like two years and haven't listened to it. Will do so tonight

Spec
July 27th 2013



27062 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I once met a girl that wasn't on sputnik

She didn't know who godspeed were, though, so I told her to fuck off"

Gwyn.
July 27th 2013



14896 Comments


lol

Digging: Grief - Come to Grief

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
September 8th 2013



3762 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is still really good.

Digging: Towers - Bel Air Highrise Plantation

MrElmo
September 8th 2013



1950 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah it's god's pee after all. Can't wait for a new album with behemoth and maybe hope drone

PunchforPunch
September 8th 2013



5896 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

what

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
September 8th 2013



9118 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I loved this band from the start, but I've barely found any other post rock I enjoy, let alone to the same level as GYBE"

Though I can't the same about not enjoying any other post rock, I loved this band almost immediately too. And I enjoy the drones they're fuckin cool.

Artuma
September 8th 2013



10715 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i don't care about the drone tracks at all but the other two songs are amazing

Digging: 68 - In Humor and Sadness

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
September 8th 2013



9118 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The only record they put out I thought was a little lack luster was yanqui.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy