Godspeed You! Black Emperor 'Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend!
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2013



6248 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

not in this album per se but you're nit picking

haven't heard this since... it came out, it's been a while

F# and arguably Slow Riot are a lot more minimalistic though I can say that

True, but this album is pretty accessible and straight-forward if you ask me. Newcomers should listen to this first, and then I can't see the other albums posing much difficulty.

Digging: Amatorski - From Clay To Figures

Maniac!
May 25th 2013



26187 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The drone is off-putting, and I can see it being a hinderance to new listeners.

Slow Riot, to me, is undoubtedly the best starting point. Short, sweet, and to the point. No "filler" drone, just straight up orgasms.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2013



20194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I loved this band from the start, but I've barely found any other post rock I enjoy, let alone to the same level as GYBE

Digging: YG - My Krazy Life

treeqt.
May 25th 2013



7791 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

try farewell poetry
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qAg8U194HBg

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2013



20194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The most godspeed-like post rock band I've come across is Friends of Dean Martinez

treeqt.
May 25th 2013



7791 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

are they good?

DrMaximus
May 25th 2013



8325 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You're talking to fish, so not likely.

Digging: Mount Eerie - Lost Wisdom

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2013



20194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've only heard one of their albums but it's decent

UnnamedOcean
May 26th 2013



3932 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

For Godspeed-like, check out The slowest runner (in all the world)

climactic
May 26th 2013



17146 Comments


I loved this band from the start, but I've barely found any other post rock I enjoy, let alone to the same level as GYBE


ya. one of those bands where none of their contemporaries even come close imo.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 26th 2013



23606 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

if you're looking for Godspeed worship, check out The Ascent of Everest's "How Lonely Sits the City"

best GYBE worship I've ever heard

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xblfFudTafA

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 26th 2013



20194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've had that on my iPod for something like two years and haven't listened to it. Will do so tonight

Spec
July 27th 2013



26825 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I once met a girl that wasn't on sputnik

She didn't know who godspeed were, though, so I told her to fuck off"

Gwyn.
July 27th 2013



13941 Comments


lol

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
September 8th 2013



3752 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is still really good.

Digging: The Pains of Being Pure at Heart - Days Of Abandon

MrElmo
September 8th 2013



1950 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah it's god's pee after all. Can't wait for a new album with behemoth and maybe hope drone

PunchforPunch
September 8th 2013



5261 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

what

Digging: Vril - Torus

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
September 8th 2013



7122 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I loved this band from the start, but I've barely found any other post rock I enjoy, let alone to the same level as GYBE"

Though I can't the same about not enjoying any other post rock, I loved this band almost immediately too. And I enjoy the drones they're fuckin cool.

Digging: Opeth - Blackwater Park

Artuma
September 8th 2013



8396 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i don't care about the drone tracks at all but the other two songs are amazing

Digging: Swans - To Be Kind

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
September 8th 2013



7122 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The only record they put out I thought was a little lack luster was yanqui.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy