Godspeed You! Black Emperor 'Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend!
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2013


22005 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The most godspeed-like post rock band I've come across is Friends of Dean Martinez

Digging: Miguel - Kaleidoscope Dream

treeqt.
May 25th 2013


9704 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

are they good?

DrMaximus
May 25th 2013


9544 Comments


You're talking to fish, so not likely.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2013


22005 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've only heard one of their albums but it's decent

UnnamedOcean
May 26th 2013


3970 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

For Godspeed-like, check out The slowest runner (in all the world)

climactic
May 26th 2013


19368 Comments


I loved this band from the start, but I've barely found any other post rock I enjoy, let alone to the same level as GYBE


ya. one of those bands where none of their contemporaries even come close imo.

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 26th 2013


23909 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

if you're looking for Godspeed worship, check out The Ascent of Everest's "How Lonely Sits the City"

best GYBE worship I've ever heard

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xblfFudTafA

Digging: RATKING - So It Goes

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 26th 2013


22005 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've had that on my iPod for something like two years and haven't listened to it. Will do so tonight

Spec
July 27th 2013


27188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I once met a girl that wasn't on sputnik

She didn't know who godspeed were, though, so I told her to fuck off"

Gwyn.
July 27th 2013


15160 Comments


lol

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
September 8th 2013


3771 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is still really good.

Digging: Grouper - Ruins

MrElmo
September 8th 2013


1955 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah it's god's pee after all. Can't wait for a new album with behemoth and maybe hope drone

PunchforPunch
September 8th 2013


6280 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

what

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
September 8th 2013


10796 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I loved this band from the start, but I've barely found any other post rock I enjoy, let alone to the same level as GYBE"

Though I can't the same about not enjoying any other post rock, I loved this band almost immediately too. And I enjoy the drones they're fuckin cool.

Artuma
September 8th 2013


14354 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i don't care about the drone tracks at all but the other two songs are amazing

Digging: Fleurety - Min Tid Skal Komme

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
September 8th 2013


10796 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The only record they put out I thought was a little lack luster was yanqui.

Artuma
September 8th 2013


14354 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yanqui has some sweet stuff too but yea it's their weakest

DamnVanne
September 8th 2013


1788 Comments


They played this album front to back on Thursday night and it was fucking overwhelming. My friend had a fucking seizure 3 minutes into the first song. He doesn't usually smoke the tumbleweed, though.

Digging: Eden Circus - Marula

treeqt.
September 8th 2013


9704 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

well that's because it's fucking retarded to smoke tumbleweed I GUESS

DamnVanne
September 8th 2013


1788 Comments


yanqui is 20% silence and 30% feedback, and 20% cool parts. Definitely their weakest



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy