Katatonia Dead End Kings
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Crysis
Staff Reviewer
August 26th 2012


16478 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yeah users/contribs have to wait until release date

GiaNXGX
August 26th 2012


4867 Comments


That sucks :[ Now your review will be 1st.

Great review though, I don't liked this as much as you did. I feel the last 3 tracks before Dead
Letters are pretty weak.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
August 26th 2012


16478 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"Leathen" is one of my favorite tracks on the album, and has some of its best riffs.

CaptainDooRight
August 26th 2012


30334 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Looks like I'm late for the party.

R6Rider
August 26th 2012


4734 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Every album before this has been missing something in terms of songwriting

Their last 3 albums were really solid imo. I do feel that way about most of the earlier albums though.

Can't wait to check this out.

GiaNXGX
August 26th 2012


4867 Comments


I don't liked it so much, "First Prayer" is terrible and "Undo You" is sub-par when compared to "The Racing Heart" or "Ambitions".

GiaNXGX
August 26th 2012


4867 Comments


"Every album before this has been missing something in terms of songwriting"

I think he referred to diversity, this record is far more varied and well executed; It has more substance and takes notes from all their releases to create their most balanced album yet.

Xenophanes
Emeritus
August 26th 2012


10663 Comments


You may have convinced me to listen to this, despite my lukewarm feelings towards the band.

Digging: Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta III - Saturnian Poetry

limbs
August 26th 2012


22 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wow, what an excellent album.
I enjoy this much more than Night is the new day.
Still prefer Great Cold Distance, but I don't regret my preorder .. !
But I have to admit, I hope for the future that Katatonia will try to experiment a little more.

Now I'm waiting for the new Daylight Dies and My Dying Bride.

KILL
August 26th 2012


72280 Comments


cant find it!!!!!

Digging: Throwing Muses - Throwing Muses

conesmoke
August 27th 2012


5288 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

that's what she said!

conesmoke
August 27th 2012


5288 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

SWANS! i've had a hard time finding the seer online tbh.

Apollo
August 27th 2012


10373 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

absolutely amazing review

I know I may be the only one but I enjoy NITND more than this simply because of the crushingly depressing atmosphere that album projects. This has the same feeling, just not as intense in my opinion. Either way this is solid, and the review is very well written. Good job man.

Acanthus
August 27th 2012


9545 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is indeed a bit better than their previous, but it really just makes me want to go listen to The Great Cold Distance.

So far not as memorable as their previous works.

Digging: MO - No Mythologies To Follow

Gyromania
August 27th 2012


16088 Comments


shit, you beat me to it. good work dude.

72haha72
August 27th 2012


437 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review! I liked this album more than Night is the New Day and The Great Cold Distance. But my favorite Katatonia albums are still Discouraged Ones and Last Fair Deal Gone Down. Discouraged Ones is terribly underrated in my opinion, songs like Cold Ways, Deadhouse, I Break, Nerve, and Relention embody everything that's great about Katatonia with rawness and straightforward honesty.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
August 27th 2012


31618 Comments


That sucks :[ Now your review will be 1st.


You can post ahead of the release date as long as there is some kind of legitimate means of hearing the album; album stream via the band/record label etc

Great review man, really enjoying the album as well

Digging: Theo Parrish - American Intelligence

Lethe
August 27th 2012


19 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This album is at least a 4.5.

johnnydeking29
August 27th 2012


9559 Comments


Fuck you, I thought you were Lelle for a a second and was majorly disappointed

Digging: Blueneck - King Nine

johnnydeking29
August 27th 2012


9559 Comments


Seriously though, I should check these guys out
What's a good album to start on?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy