Holy Esque Holy Esque
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
April 23rd 2012



6248 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Might check this out; the recommended bands sure have me intrigued.

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
April 23rd 2012



7234 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh wow feature, thanks whoever's responsible for that.

Thanks as always for comments, the vocals are an acquired taste for sure but I've never really had a problem with them. Can't see the Bombay Bicycle Club comparison though..

@Eric - I never imagined that an intended compliment could cause so much offense!

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
April 23rd 2012



7234 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"your inability to spell 'its' (last paragraph) kind of drives me crazy"

For some reason I seem to lack the mental ability to distinguish between what is and isn't possessive. If it's any consolation I find it immensely frustrating too.

The edit function is still down unfortunately.

mutatedfreek
April 23rd 2012



7351 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Goes without saying that the review is great Ali. I'm really liking the first two tracks from this so I'll probably buy it when my next money day arrives - thanks for the rec.

Hypehypehypehype.

deathofasalesman
April 23rd 2012



5743 Comments


Crosses suddenly became trendy.

Wildcatforever
April 23rd 2012



437 Comments


This review gets better everytime I read it

Wildcatforever
April 23rd 2012



437 Comments


Have my children, Ali. We can listen to "Fast Blood" while we make love. Come on.

Symmetry
April 24th 2012



43 Comments


Tip on the its vs. it's thing: it's is always a contraction, so just check if "it is" fits. Its is the possessive.

Symmetry
April 24th 2012



43 Comments


Good review, by the way. The vocals do seem a little weird but I'm definitely going to download this when I get the chance.

Funeralopolis
April 24th 2012



10452 Comments


definitely sounds like The National + Titus Andronicus



Digging: CunninLynguists - Oneirology

thebhoy
Emeritus
April 24th 2012



4459 Comments


that opening sentence made it sound like these guys have no personality.

Edit: I liked that Lady Bird song, though, but I certainly feel like they're just aping those bands you name dropped. But they're good enough at it that I think they could certainly grow and become their own band. I mean the National basically started as a Joy Division cover band (and I guess some would say they still are, but I think they have their own sound now)

sidfarkus
April 24th 2012



43 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Glad this was featured or I'd probably never have heard of this. It's really good. The vocals almost made me not give this a chance, but his style grew on me pretty quickly.


AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
April 25th 2012



7234 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

For anyone interested taht hasn't heard it yet, the EP's streaming here

http://music.aol.com/new-releases-full-cds/spinner#/18

mutatedfreek
April 25th 2012



7351 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah this is a very good EP, eagerly awaiting a longer release.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 7th 2012



20807 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Young Scottish indie-rock quartet Holy Esque impress on their 4 track self-titled debut EP. Remarkably well-produced for a self-released EP, the tunes here are deceptively melodic & contain some striking dual guitar-work & excellent drumming... The only exception being the shoegazey 'Loneliest Loneliness', which feels like experimentation for the sake of variety. Sounding like Manchester Orchestra's Andy Hull being possessed by a goat, front-man Pat Hynes' raspy vocals won't be for everyone & take a little while getting used to, but ultimately add an intense emotion to this oddly endearing & provocative debut. Recommended Tracks: Rose & Prophet of Privilege.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
September 9th 2012



7234 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Excellent, good to see you enjoying it. They've also got a new single, 'Tear' available as a free download on their Soundcloud page...

EaglesBecomeVultures
January 14th 2013



5051 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah this shit ruuuules i been sleepin

Digging: Future - Honest

Funeralopolis
February 18th 2013



10452 Comments


an indie album with good music in it as well



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy