Monolake Ghosts
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
sniper
March 16th 2012



18938 Comments


Monolake, even at its most lush and delicate, is an apparatus built under a concept of mechanical frigidity; when blunt-nosed, creaking techno is replaced with more lush and delicate environs do the levels of communication begin to resemble something more personable, but it’s still a daunting and completely exhausting exchange, a communication and dialect that takes place completely on the artist’s terms.
really? i like long sentences but this would be so much less terrible if it was broken up at the semicolon. the word "do" also seems to be either misplaced or unnecessary. as it is now the phrase that follows it takes on an interrogative tone when it is not question, making the last phrase really awkward and jarring to read.

Digging: Towers - Bel Air Highrise Plantation

Ponton
Emeritus
March 16th 2012



5784 Comments


not really interrogative at all. id just put an 'only' after the semicolon before the when. eg 'only'
when my alarm clock fucks up 'do' i wake up late

but who cares

chambered69
March 16th 2012



1253 Comments


sounds interesting good review

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
March 16th 2012



6347 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Loving this more by the minute

Digging: Shackleton - Deliverance Series No. 1

Rev
March 16th 2012



9377 Comments


I've only hard his debut, but I really liked it


Will check this out asap

Manic_
March 16th 2012



447 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

awesome as expected, thinking about getting the vinyl.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
March 16th 2012



30865 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

really? i like long sentences but this would be so much less terrible if it was broken up at the semicolon. the word "do" also seems to be either misplaced or unnecessary. as it is now the phrase that follows it takes on an interrogative tone when it is not question, making the last phrase really awkward and jarring to read.


No, and the placement of "do" makes perfect sense


Digging: FaltyDL - In The Wild

paxman
March 16th 2012



4084 Comments


Dev, as a constant reader and literature buff, I assure you there is nothing wrong with the sentence quoted above. It flows very well, the diction probably couldn't be better-chosen, and the structure is sound. But I'm sure you know this.

Anyway, good review, sir.

MO
March 17th 2012



18218 Comments


i don't usually listen to electronica, but when i do

it's cause of a dev review

Digging: Immolation - Dawn of Possession

MassiveAttack
March 17th 2012



2688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I used to listen to Monolake back when they were very minimalistic, like completely ambient material stuff. Seems like I should delve in again.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
March 17th 2012



6347 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Definitely my fav release of the year so far

WashboardSuds
March 17th 2012



4981 Comments


nice, liking this so far.

Digging: Acid Bath - When the Kite String Pops

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
March 17th 2012



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hm I like this. Might sink into their old stuff.

twlichty
March 17th 2012



3407 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Devstep was sweet but it almost covered too many releases, i think it'd be real cool if you did fewer lists full of stuff that you thought was really worthwhile.

anyways, sweet review. what i've heard so far was really interesting

Irving
Staff Reviewer
March 17th 2012



7137 Comments


Wonderful review. Interest = piqued.

LifeAsAChipmunk
March 17th 2012



4854 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm loving the closer.

Ending
March 18th 2012



1889 Comments


How convenient, I just recently listened to an album by this guy. It's also the only one though. How does this compare to Polygon Cities? I thought that that was a pretty good album.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
March 18th 2012



30865 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Polygon_Cities is a great album, probably on the same level as this. But as I stated in the review, this and Silence are more focused on rhythm and groove, rather than just trippy tech beats

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
March 18th 2012



6347 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Can't imagine his older stuff reaching the same level of awesome as this.

Ending
March 18th 2012



1889 Comments


I'm actually really digging this. I've been on a big electronic binge lately, so this is helping to feed that.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy