Eluveitie Helvetios
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hubirus
March 8th 2012


14 Comments


I fully understand your criticisms of Eluveitie sounding repetitive over the course of a few albums. Myself having listened to Everything Remains (As It Never Was) and Slania, I find it difficult to find any difference instrumentally between them. Never the less, I will give Helvetios a listen.

PerpetualChange
March 14th 2012


4 Comments


A little bit repetitive, but still very, very good. Definitely stronger than the last two albums! The first in awhile which, imo, delivers what the band promises in theory.

Altmer
March 14th 2012


5652 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like how epic this album is.

Churuya
March 20th 2012


4 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review, good album, I'm content for now~

SCREAM!
April 5th 2012


10208 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Been digging this hard recently. Might actually up my rating

Vakarian12
April 27th 2013


3870 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Its a good album. Only fault is that it has way too many tracks. 17? Come on.

Nagash
September 6th 2013


16 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

A fairly great album, somewhat tarnished by the poor value of a few songs such as Havoc or The Siege. Also, in my opinion A rose for Epona felt completely out of tune with the rest. Loved the "concept album" thingy though.

While Helvetios won't be remembered as the greatest Eluveitie album, it certainly is worth remembering. There are some great riffs and lyrics in there - not to mention this gaullish nostalgia, which i just love.

Meet the enemy, brothers !

SticksmanTheBored
March 4th 2014


206 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

The musical shape of boredom and dullness.

SCREAM!
March 4th 2014


10208 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

but not really though

SticksmanTheBored
March 4th 2014


206 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

It does bore me to death. Each one to it's own, though. I can definately see how someone would enjoy this.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 4th 2014


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

What exactly bores you here? Just curious.

SticksmanTheBored
March 4th 2014


206 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Well, it doesn't bring anything new to the band's sound, so basically every song, with the exception
of some stuff. I mean, I can't deny title track is great, as are Neverland, Hope and A Rose For Epona,
but I don't really love them to death, they're just good. Maybe I'm going too harsh on this thing, I
don't know, it's just not my thing. And 17 tracks is way too much, it does really bore me. Not dissing
anyone who likes this or loves this, though, it's just my opinion anyway. Just thought I'd share it,
since this is a music discussion website.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 4th 2014


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agreed about the length being too long as it stands. It's not the number of songs itself that's too great, but there should have been more variation to them if they number 17. On the other hand, I really liked the concept here and Helvetios does feel like a true concept album (both Epilogue and Prologue are great imo). I can definitely see how their sound has worn thin for some, though I personally haven't grown tired of it yet. Like you said, to each their own.

SticksmanTheBored
March 4th 2014


206 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

At least we can share an agreement that it's to each their own. I like these healthy music discussions in which two people can express polar opinions in a polite way.

Propose
March 4th 2014


813 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

horrid band and even more embarrassing genre let's take a bunch of below average players at various random instruments and slap them all together, the more uninspired, corny layers we can slap on the better it must be! Not to mention the lyrics that are reminiscent of a magic the gathering player's knowledge of history.

SticksmanTheBored
March 4th 2014


206 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

The comment above this one literally made me laugh my ass off. Inaccurate but hilarious as shit. Dat Magic the Gathering reference.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy