Amebix Sonic Mass
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Spec
December 19th 2011



27153 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sputnik is commenting on good albums today.

Digging: Rinoa - An Age Among Them

greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 19th 2011



7364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

@Voivod:
Thanks a bunch man. I can see you digging it.

@Spec:
Yeah. It doesn't happen very often here, does it?


Digging: 68 - In Humor and Sadness

DoubtGin
December 19th 2011



6749 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Gotta disagree with you there, greg. I think Killing Joke is more diverse.

But who cares, this album rules.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 19th 2011



7364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Haha. Actually, my main gripe with the last two Killer Joke albums is that they both sound overly homogenous. Often you can't really say which track you're listening to. This is much better than these discs though.

DoubtGin
December 19th 2011



6749 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

BLASPHEMY

I can definitely see how the last Killing Joke albums might sound a bit too same-y. I personally don't see that much of a problem myself.

I'm a huge Killing Joke fan, though.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 19th 2011



7364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Their 2003's self-titled is killer though, more on par with this Amebix release because it's more consistent and hardly samey.

DoubtGin
December 19th 2011



6749 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Their debut is still my favourite, closely followed by Night Time, Pandemonium, s/t (2003), and Absolute Dissent.

The only album I consider average is "Outside the Gate", but that can be forgiven.

How many of their albums have you listened to?

greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 19th 2011



7364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

About 6. I've heard every album you mentioned besides their debut. I'm of the opinion that the band is as good as their latest album. Absolute Dissent was a bit of a disappointment for me. You can't really compare massive KJ's discography to 3 albums by Amebix.



MyDearWormwood
December 20th 2011



225 Comments


was cool for a bit then got pretty gay

greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 20th 2011



7364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

It actually grows on me the more I listen to it. Fantastic album!

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
December 20th 2011



16135 Comments


Listening to this and then going back to Arise! is like, "Whoa. Man, what the fuck happened?"

Relinquished
December 20th 2011



24929 Comments


like Cynic, too many fucking years passed by. obviously the people changed.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 23rd 2011



7364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

More people should listen to it...

greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 27th 2011



7364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

One of the most heartfelt releases of the year. I can't stop listening to it. m/

Jethro42
December 28th 2011



12402 Comments


Will give a listen. Great review as usual, bro.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 28th 2011



7364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

It deals with the subject of religion in a bit grim way, but I think you'll like it. Thanks.

Jethro42
December 29th 2011



12402 Comments


yeah great song you're right

christianman
December 29th 2011



81 Comments


first album's best

greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 30th 2011



7364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Yeah. Knights of the Black Sun is one of many epic tracks on here.

Imperial
December 30th 2011



1726 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

God damn this album is good.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy