Seahaven Winter Forever
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
FrankRedHot
November 16th 2011


6448 Comments


Seriously guys, how dare you criticize gyro? He didn't put this review up for you guys to tell him what he needs to improve on, obviously.

Gyromania
November 16th 2011


17642 Comments


See, FrankRedHot gets it!

Jokes aside though, I accept and welcome criticism (read my response to Donwer) I'm just also trying to give some perspective back as well. I apologize for coming off as hostile though.

FrankRedHot
November 16th 2011


6448 Comments


"Jokes aside though, I accept and welcome criticism (read my response to Donwer) I'm just also trying to give some perspective back as well. I apologize for coming off as hostile though."


Lol you haven't accepted one bit of criticism. Every time someone's tried to help you in this thread you've gotten pretty uppity or you just tell them they are wrong.

Gyromania
November 16th 2011


17642 Comments


"Edit: you're right, I'll tone it down a little."

No, I do appreciate feedback. I admittedly attacked Jarrod's post though.

Gyromania
November 16th 2011


17642 Comments


Both Adams are the only ones that really gave constructive criticism (John did after the fact) and I questioned Thomas' (am I not allowed to do this?).

FrankRedHot
November 16th 2011


6448 Comments


"Both Adams are the only ones that really gave constructive criticism (John did after the fact) and I questioned Thomas' (am I not allowed to do this?)."

Questioning and being a pretentious douche are two different things.

FrankRedHot
November 16th 2011


6448 Comments


And then pulling Hawks following all of that isn't going to help.

Gyromania
November 16th 2011


17642 Comments


I don't see the fault in the review (biased, I know) because it reads absolutely nothing like my arvo part review, it's just an assessment of an album I ultimately found dry and bland... I don't see how I went over the score. Are we not supposed to focus on structure or use words above a 5th grade level when approaching pop-punk music? At any rate, I'm not dabbling in philosophy or using some kind of deeply profound tone. I guess I get what you're saying about it feeling extraneous, but only very small parts of the review seem that way, I think the vast majority of it is pretty fluid. Your criticism seem very harsh, like, unnecessarily so, but thanks all the same for voicing your opinion.

This is pretentious?

FrankRedHot
November 16th 2011


6448 Comments


No, it isn't.




But this is:

"Well, please enlighten me - give me some criticisms to help me improve. You've been reading a lot of my reviews, or so you hinted at, so go on, help me out. Please post it in my shoutbox though, for obvious reasons.

Jared: I was just made away of the reasons for you quitting your staff position.. When did you become so bloody self-loathing? "



Electric City
Emeritus
November 16th 2011


15744 Comments


lol matt youre so little

Gyromania
November 16th 2011


17642 Comments


Eh, I don't think pretentious is the word you're looking for, but it was unwarranted nonetheless. Still, that John Hanson guy just has a way of getting under your skin, y'know?



FrankRedHot
November 16th 2011


6448 Comments


"Eh, I don't think pretentious is the word you're looking for, but it was unwarranted nonetheless. Still, that John Hanson guy just has a way of getting under your skin, y'know?"

No, I don't.

Aids
November 16th 2011


24184 Comments


woah what happened here

Digging: Jamie xx - In Colour

IAmHollywood
November 16th 2011


1443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I disagree with this review

Gyromania
November 16th 2011


17642 Comments


Eli: I much prefer their EP.

Fugue
November 16th 2011


7368 Comments


Woah, wasn't expecting this thread.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
November 16th 2011


17958 Comments


Gyromania, you didn't represent yourself very well in this thread.

I find it interesting that you accuse the people who criticize you of "never reading your reviews" when the people who always comment with things like "great review as always!" are actually the ones who are much less likely to have read the review.

I think a good idea for you would be to read your reviews out loud before you post them, because there are word choices that simply don't sit well when I read them. I don't know anything about this band so I can't comment on whether or not the style of this review fits the album, but there are definitely moments where you sound, as John said, as if writing this review was just an exercise.

To me, the best reviews read as if the writer is having a conversation with someone. Not everyone can pull off a nice conversational tone, obviously, but it's better to try for it and fail than write something that nobody would be interested in listening to in a live setting.

eternium
November 16th 2011


16352 Comments


Oh snap.

Iluvatar
Emeritus
November 16th 2011


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

303% of reviewers on this site should read through this thread and pretend everyone is talking to them

Gyromania
November 16th 2011


17642 Comments


I do want to say this: I find it a little curious that some of the people who originally did come in here saying 'Great review! [etc.,]' are now retracting their initial comments... Makes me kind of feel like (as Chan said) those same people don't actually read my reviews before commenting.

Eli: "Instead of trying to review as much as possible to better your skills, try to pick things you genuinely want to talk about." Well, I'm not just trying to throw out as much as possible for the sake of having a lot of reviews written - my latest reviews have been pretty long and I've legitimately put effort into them. I actually did want to review this too, having been a little disappointed that they didn't continue more in the direction of their EP. But yeah, it really wasn't something I wanted to do just because, but I'm sorry that it came off as so contrived.


Chan: Thanks a lot for the help. Seriously, I do appreciate it and I'll try to work on it from here on out. Re-reading this review, I admit that it feels like a chore. The sentences and points don't really flow into each other nicely and I have some bloated lines. I actually did rush this more so than anything I've written as of late, so I hope I can pick back up from here and continue in a good direction. Anyways, thanks for the advice.

Also, I too am not happy with how i presented myself in this thread.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy