Seahaven Winter Forever
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Athom
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2011


17215 Comments


the button's there for a reason, brah.

Digging: Inigo Kennedy - Vaudeville

Gyromania
November 15th 2011


15791 Comments


Great review Matt. I like this a bit more than you, but I agree that this is really forgettable.

Yeah, I get people liking this though. Thanks Elijah =]

Digging: Lantlos - .neon

aok
November 15th 2011


4433 Comments


this is so wordy. i don't know what either of those words mean


2 separate thoughts adam. which is amazing cause i'm barely conscious right now.

there's this album you should listen to called kid a. if it strikes you when the moons align right, i see you coming up with an even better review than that one you wrote for neutral milk hotel.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
November 16th 2011


17215 Comments


i like Kid A. it's my favorite radiohead album. still though, it's a high 4 for me.

Xenophanes
Emeritus
November 16th 2011


10596 Comments


Your avatar has amused me greatly adam

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

aok
November 16th 2011


4433 Comments


@redsky thought i read somewhere you were a bends / maybe ok computer guy

@gyro i can tell a whole lot of effort into this, but it is a bit tough to get all the way through =/ . i can't imagine writing a negative review though so props on getting one out

Axel
November 16th 2011


189 Comments


Users wishing to get promoted should typically never argue with staff writers, even if they may be wrong - but Adam is in the right here. Most of the time, it's wise to respectably kiss ass and admit perceived errors from others of your writing: this is sputnikmusic 101. Be more humble and don't be so obvious with your ambitions, too.

Love,

Jared P.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 16th 2011


23848 Comments


Do you agree with the rating?

YES|NO

Gyromania
November 16th 2011


15791 Comments


edit.

Tyrael
November 16th 2011


20885 Comments


Lol this sucks

Digging: Darkspace - Dark Space III I

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
November 16th 2011


15740 Comments


Eh, i can see Adam's point applying more to some of your other reviews, matt, than this one. That being said, the dismissive tone of this and the generally cursory analysis makes your ire come off a little bit more of a rant disguised as intellectual critical opinion. This review could be two words long, just saying "vocals suck," for all I got out of it.

In essence, it reads like a simple idea dolled up with big words (which might be the source of Adam's critique), and its a little transparent. Like you want to have something brilliant to say but just don't have it. Which is fine for an album you found mediocre, honestly, but this might've been an opportunity for more conversational style than haughty-critic style.

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

Axel
November 16th 2011


189 Comments


Anyone who thinks they're humble is not humble, Matt. Remember that. The mods don't particularily care for anyone who feels that they are entitled to advancement. And yes, I've read several of your comments that indicate such to be true from you.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
November 16th 2011


15740 Comments


shazam

cvlts
November 16th 2011


8960 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Jared, why the alt?

Axel
November 16th 2011


189 Comments


I wrote too much BS under Observer. And if ever I try to consistently review again, I want to give it my best work.

Gyromania
November 16th 2011


15791 Comments


"Anyone who thinks they're humble is not humble, Matt. Remember that. The mods don't particularily care for anyone who feels that they are entitled to advancement. And yes, I've read several of your comments that indicate such to be true from you."

K.

"Eh, i can see Adam's point applying more to some of your other reviews, matt, than this one. That being said, the dismissive tone of this and the generally cursory analysis makes your ire come off a little bit more of a rant disguised as intellectual critical opinion. This review could be two words long, just saying "vocals suck," for all I got out of it.

In essence, it reads like a simple idea dolled up with big words (which might be the source of Adam's critique), and its a little transparent. Like you want to have something brilliant to say but just don't have it. Which is fine for an album you found mediocre, honestly, but this might've been an opportunity for more conversational style than haughty-critic style.
"

I appreciate the honesty, Adam. However, I think people are being a little ridiculous with this one. I most certainly talked about more than just the vocals, but I focused on them more so than anything else because they're blatantly the album's greatest detraction. More than that though, I get that people don't like this 'haughty critic' approach, but I don't ever take an arrogant tone in the review, so the tone shouldn't at all be offensive. Anyways, thanks for all the feedback, everyone.


Electric City
Staff Reviewer
November 16th 2011


15740 Comments


but I don't ever take an arrogant tone in the review


well

distressingly boring and mind-numbingly stupid

piss-poor indie-punk vocals

blatantly suck

unmitigated disasters


you see

Gyromania
November 16th 2011


15791 Comments


Edit: you're right, I'll tone it down a little.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
November 16th 2011


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

bro matt you seriously just put on blinders whenever people try to legitimately criticize you and its
why after what two or three years you're still at the same caliber of reviewing, despite some extended
vocabulary and writing conceits.

Gyromania
November 16th 2011


15791 Comments


That's a pretty insulting comment, John, especially from someone who doesn't even read my reviews anymore. Anyways, I'll keep that in mind, thanks lots.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy