Insomnium One for Sorrow
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
seedofnothing
October 11th 2011



3425 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

looking forward to your review Kyle

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2011



16242 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I need a lot more listens before I really pin down my opinions, but I have a pretty good idea of how I feel about this album.

Willie
Moderator
October 11th 2011



15875 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

How did we end up flipped around on this issue, Crysis?

Digging: Emperor - In The Nightside Eclipse - 20th Year Anniversary

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2011



16242 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I know exactly why, and it has to do with the single biggest change between what they do here and what they've done in the past.

Willie
Moderator
October 11th 2011



15875 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Which is probably why I like this one more; right?

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2011



16242 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, and you mention it several times in the review. Hint:

The tempos, too, have been expanded to the point that each track can really stand on its own with an increased emphasis on speed, heavy riffs and dynamic shifts.


Willie
Moderator
October 11th 2011



15875 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Aw, I get it now ;) I do like that part very much.

Ire
October 11th 2011



41746 Comments


This is prob the best Insomnium review behind Kyle's Above the Weeping World review.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2011



16242 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Let's just say if Insomnium did an album with 5 or 6 tracks like "In The Groves Of Death" or "Disengagement" or "In The Halls Of Awaiting" it would be an instant 5.

seedofnothing
October 11th 2011



3425 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"Let's just say if Insomnium did an album with 5 or 6 tracks like "In The Groves Of Death" or "Disengagement" or "In The Halls Of Awaiting" it would be an instant 5."

I agree with this statement
I giz everytime I hear "Disengagement"

Keyblade
October 11th 2011



14139 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Judging by this review, I think I'm going to love this album.

@Crysis, their doomier sound is a bit of a mixed bag for me. But 1 or 2 tracks like Disengagement would've been great.

Digging: Paraxism - .Xism Excursion

jimmykidd
October 11th 2011



528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thank fuck this rules, i couldn't stand another across the dark. weeping world pt2.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2011



16242 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

But 1 or 2 tracks like Disengagement would've been great.

You can thank Ville Friman for absolutely pile-driving the aggression into this album. He cut down more than one song here to make it heavier and faster.

MO
October 11th 2011



18181 Comments


Pretty decent album so far. Nice review.

Willie
Moderator
October 11th 2011



15875 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You can thank Ville Friman for absolutely pile-driving the aggression into this album. He cut down more than one song here to make it heavier and faster.
Who is that and what are you talking about. Do elaborate ;)

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2011



16242 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ville Friman is the guitarist who also does the clean vocals. Read this and you will see what I mean about him changing the songs:

http://www.hailsandhorns.com/featured/stream-track-by-track-interview-with-insomnium-covering-the-new-album-one-for-sorrow/


Willie
Moderator
October 11th 2011



15875 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I see now. I like this, but the 7-minute song with the very progressive ending (I think it was the fourth track) could have been cool.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2011



16242 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Could have been more than cool. The guitar solo at the end of the song rules so imagine what it would be like if they built off of it.

Vesper
October 11th 2011



3085 Comments


Insomnium leaving Crysis blue-balled. Tsk, tsk, shame on them.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2011



16242 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is still a great album but yeah pretty much.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy