Machine Head Unto the Locust
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
taylormemer
September 29th 2011


4917 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's only there because I know that if I don't put it there some dickhead's gonna go "well that's just your opinion blah blah blah" which I don't want to get involved in.

Piglet
September 29th 2011


4659 Comments


hahahah i thought sputnik was better then this.
machine head are pretty boring.

rasputin
September 29th 2011


14550 Comments


i really hate it when people feel the need to say 'in my opinion' because it's strongly implied by the fact that you shared your opinion.


sometimes it's necessary to emphasise it. this is sputnikmusic remember

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
September 29th 2011


8871 Comments


It's only there because I know that if I don't put it there some dickhead's gonna go "well that's just your opinion blah blah blah" which I don't want to get involved in.


i wasn't hating on you for including it

i was hating on the fact it was even necessary

bodiesinflight57
September 29th 2011


870 Comments


I actually didn't mind 'The Blackening' when it came out, but then I was only just getting into metal then.

From what I've heard of this it is just very average groove metal, as is most of this band's output.

xist
September 29th 2011


171 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The use of English in this review is horrible, and it reads like someone not comfortable with their own vocabulary and inserting as many pretentious synonyms as possible (which don't always make sense in the context in which they're used). The score doesn't bother me either way as from what i've heard of this it's probably fair, but the review itself just isn't very good. It should be easy to read and enjoyable whilst remaining informative...this isn't and it's just awkward.

Piglet
September 29th 2011


4659 Comments


I disagree, i find taylormemer's reviews to be well-worded and "pretentious" in itself is an overused synonym.

YouGotLucky
September 29th 2011


946 Comments


The Blackening wasn't as great as everyone says. It was ok. It's Machine Head nothing too special.

xist
September 29th 2011


171 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Pretentious is by far the most effective word to use. Might i ask what would be an easier way to convey that statements such as "apart from his unremitting usage of harmonised double tracked protrusions." and "that fixation on progressive quintessence" are over the top?

If you look at the best of the staff reviewers here they don't resort to cheap tactics to make their style look better. There's no need to get flowery in your language when you're reviewing...that's not what makes a good review.

Piglet
September 29th 2011


4659 Comments


That is just taylormemer's style of writing. People do use synonyms for the purpose of using a different word, instead of the same one twice and that's all he does when needed. I remember him telling me that is the only time when he really resorts to a thesaurus. Someone's vocabulary doesn't reflect on how pretentious they are. Pretentious is... for something to be hollow in a conceptual sense. To add gloss over something that doesn't really have meaning. Or at least that's what my English teacher told me, so whatever. His tactics are nothing more for it to be concise and informative as possible. To capture your attention for a quick couple of moments and that's perfectly fine.

Admittedly, this was one of his weaker reviews, but not bad by any sense.

defjaw83
September 29th 2011


1772 Comments


Review seems kind of awkward to read in parts but I enjoyed it. The sonic ref was awesome!

Will check this out at some point coz I used to love MH. I thought the blackening was damn good so I'm intrigued

Digging: FKA Twigs - LP1

taylormemer
September 29th 2011


4917 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

^^^
Oh finally. We have a winner - defjaw

Oh and, "that fixation on progressive quintessence" was actually trying to be pretentious as a reflection of how people were describing the sound when that album came out. And yeah I found his overuse of double tracked vocal harmonies to be a little excessive, hence a protrusion. Sorry, I didn't mean for them to sound cheap or whatever you claim.

What more fascinates me is that if not for the string of initial attacks, the overall tone here I think would be rather different. It's something you see quite often here: the way a thread begins is essentially how it will most likely end.

Gyromania
September 29th 2011


15941 Comments


I love the way you write and I've no idea as to how this has received 5 negs. Great stuff.

Digging: Lantlos - .neon

defjaw83
September 29th 2011


1772 Comments


Oh finally. We have a winner - defjaw


I'm lost, or dense. Probably both

Wizard
September 29th 2011


19502 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I think the amount of intellect you put into this review was kind of wasted on such a dumb-down sound tbqh. This is a pretty meh album.

Digging: Godflesh - A World Lit Only By Fire

taylormemer
September 29th 2011


4917 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"I'm lost, or dense. Probably both"
You are this first user to have actually reported the name drop of sonic.

Wizard, you always say that about the albums I review. lol

Irving
Staff Reviewer
September 29th 2011


7311 Comments


Irving, I'm sorry you feel that way, but I wonder if you're conclusions would be as dire if not
for the brilliant display of fanboyism and discredit during the first few pages? Also, isn't this a
case of the pot calling the kettle black with respect to verbosity? Either way I respect and
appreciate your input.


Haha, yeah fair enough I am a bit linguistically verbose myself - so it may be a bit rich coming
from me, of all people - but that doesn't make my criticism any less true, does it? Also, for what
it's worth, when I take the time to neg and point out the flaws of a particular review, it generally
means that I've seen the author produce much better and wish to see her or him better or at
least return to that kind of form. This review was really quite solid, but I simply know you have
much better in you.

Your idea about the initial few comments causing the entire thread to spiral into a shitstorm of
negs and copycat comments is interesting, but Sputnik has always been filled by fanboys and I've,
y'know, usually said what I always wanted to say. Also, on some level, I think that argument is
insulting of my ability to read (lol). Even if English is my second language I'd like to think that
I'm somewhat competent at it =p

taylormemer
September 29th 2011


4917 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

No, I'd never question your lingual abilities, it was purely an observation, out of mere interest really.

But above all I cannot disagree with anything you have raised because I for one wholehartedly respect your critique, and further consider you to be an excellent craftsman, for the most part ;)

JWT155
September 29th 2011


9293 Comments


Sorry but dats not da metulz.

rasputin
September 29th 2011


14550 Comments


roflmao

some of the 'criticisms' on this page are hilarious. the sarcasm in your review was so subtle that it flew right over the heads of anybody who thinks you are using 'flowery' language

also lol at this

There's no need to get flowery in your language when you're reviewing...that's not what makes a good review.


- an example of the sort of criticism I would read made by 16 year olds in 2007.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy