YOB Atma
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Jethro42
August 13th 2011


12438 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Aight I will do Voivod buddy, thanks!
@Greg, I definitely keep an eye on this and I'll be sure to let you know my personal opinion.

SteelErectedb4you8er
August 14th 2011


2616 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice job, Greg. As an avid lover of this band, I have listened to this album only once so far, but I can already tell you, and it seems like most of us agree that Unreal That Never Lived is their best album. That is just flawless to me. However, my favorite YOB song is probably "Burning the Altar" off the last album, it has everything a YOB song needs done perfect. With that said, I am going to give this album more spins, but we all know YOB does not disappoint. And if you haven't seen them live, you need to fix that.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
August 14th 2011


6094 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

That opening riff in "Burning the Altar"...

Priceless...

Digging: The Sabbathian - Ritual Rites

greg84
Staff Reviewer
August 19th 2011


7388 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks a bunch Steve. I'll be controversial and say this is their best.

Digging: Lo-Pan - Colossus

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
August 19th 2011


20645 Comments


Great review Greg, pos'd.

I should probably give these guys a listen.

Digging: Townes Van Zandt - Townes Van Zandt

greg84
Staff Reviewer
August 21st 2011


7388 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great. Thanks a bunch mate. Greetings from Ljubliana.

Parallels
September 2nd 2011


6641 Comments


The Oregon-based trio, Yob

shit, really? never heard of them and I know like everything here.

Edit: They are like an hour's drive from me. Gonna check these guys out for sure now.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 2nd 2011


7388 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

They're from Eugene, Oregon in the US to be precise.

SteelErectedb4you8er
September 4th 2011


2616 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Greg,

I just bought the record yesterday. Jammed it on my good speakers and zoned out...and yeah, I might agree with you. This is right on par with The Unreal That Never Lived to me. "Adrift in the Ocean" and "Before We Dreamed of Two" are such epic tracks. And the brutality of "Atma" and "Upon the Sign of the Other Shore" are just great. Everything is there, and there is some cool guitar stuff going on. So good.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 4th 2011


7388 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Finally someone who totally agrees with me! The album's bloody disgusting and I mean that in the most positive sense possible. I especially like listening to this one at night. It's heavy, yet totally atmospheric. Arguably their most diverse too. "Before We Dreamed Of Two" is perhaps my favorite track. The climax is beyond epic.

SteelErectedb4you8er
September 9th 2011


2616 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

My favorite is "Adrift in the Ocean," but the whole thing is great. Yeah, this does make a great night record. I can't wait to see them again.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2011


7388 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

At first I didn't like Adrift In The Ocean very much, but now I got used to it and I admit it's an awesome proggy song that's quite different to the rest of the album. If only I saw them live... Too bad I live in Poland.

Jethro42
September 9th 2011


12438 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I need to give it another whirl before giving it a definitive rating. It kinda clicked with me the last time so let's see...

Jethro42
September 16th 2011


12438 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I now become addicted to these guys. They make me think of The Ocean to some extent (it's a good thing).. Yob are way more Doom, dark, atmospheric and slightly less aggressive I would say.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 17th 2011


7388 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, but The Ocean are heavily influenced by Neurosis, as are most bands of this sort. YOB are no exception. Scott Kelly even sings in two tracks on this album. Glad you like this even more now.

TheLodge
September 25th 2011


40 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This vs. the new Mastodon... hmm...

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2011


7388 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Don't ask me. I don't know which one's better.

Imperial
December 31st 2011


1730 Comments


I'm disappointed in myself for putting this album off.

YankeeDudel
February 28th 2012


9313 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

These guys opened for Tool when I saw em a couple weeks ago. They were pretty damn good. Nothing groundbreaking by any means but everybody dug em.

Digging: Walknut - Graveforests And Their Shadows

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 29th 2012


7388 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

In fact, I think they're quite groundbreaking given their very own hypnotic approach to doom. Their focus on spirituality lends their music a meditative quality that makes them original. Besides, they sound massive live.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy