Bon Iver Bon Iver, Bon Iver
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
808muzik
May 25th 2011



939 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Stunning album, so glad it lives up to Emma.

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

Liberi Fatali
Emeritus
May 25th 2011



1588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This is one of the least surprising albums of 2011.

Liberi Fatali
Emeritus
May 25th 2011



1588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

To be honest, I don't think there is much justification to put out a review this far in advance of the
album's release, be you staff or user.

But my views on this are largely from a staff perspective, so I have different factors weighing in on
my view than a user might. The goal is to have the most thoughtful, highest quality review, not the
first review out.

That is not to say Joshuatree's review isn't very well written.

HBFS
May 25th 2011



1244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Pretty much love this album

Digging: Banks - Goddess

darnielle
May 25th 2011



221 Comments


damn good band

bab808
May 25th 2011



456 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i wonder if pitchfork are gonna 10 this... inb4

darnielle
May 25th 2011



221 Comments


lol no. it'll be 9+ tho

Deathcar
May 25th 2011



1534 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album rules. It took me a long time to appreciate For Emma, whereas I loved this straight off the bat - might just be I'm actually into Bon Iver now, but still, bodes well for the rating going up.

SharkEthic
May 25th 2011



582 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Holocene is song of the year so far.

Digging: The Secret - Agnus Dei

defjaw83
May 25th 2011



1765 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is just stunning. Wasn't going to 5 this at first but on the last 2 or 3 listens this has really sunk in. Incredible album

HectorLetberg
May 25th 2011



7 Comments


Sound like it was worth the wait! Gosh, it had to be! Heading to the record shop this week-end for sure!

Volcano Choir was great in the meantime, somwhat.

DoubtGin
May 25th 2011



6749 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

what

BigHans
May 25th 2011



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Really awesome review. Album is phenominal. I think I like it better than For Emma because it is more diverse, meldoic, and isnt as crushingly depressing, ie, its much easier to listen to. Big time win, and Beth/Rest rules. Then again, I am probably the biggest 80's pop fan on the site.

Chrisjon89
May 25th 2011



3528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm going to hold off listening to this until I buy the CD (except Calgary).

It's an exercise in willpower, so I can't go it alone. I'm going to have to ask you all to just stfu for the next month or so regarding this recording. No more reviews or comments on this album. Thanks.

Nah, kidding. I'll make it for sure. I still haven't listened to King of Limbs. Calgary rules.

jingledeath
May 25th 2011



7104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sublime album, my first 4.5 from this year.

defjaw83
May 25th 2011



1765 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Cover art is also a 5

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
May 25th 2011



15732 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

great review, cam. makes me want to look at this again and see if there are corners I missed the first couple listens.

one thing you didn't address, however, is my biggest gripe: the lack of clearly articulated lyrics. I agree with you it's gorgeous, but I would love to be able to understand what he's saying. I'm having trouble connecting with this without any line to repeat in my head over and over, and For Emma was full of those.

also, there were a couple times where you didn't edit the album title to Bon Iver, Bon Iver in the review.

NeutralThunder12
May 25th 2011



8742 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

ugh towerssss

Ponton
Emeritus
May 25th 2011



5791 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

You are all going to hate me, but I think im going to offer a counter.

Great review, Cam.

defjaw83
May 25th 2011



1765 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@EC

It's definitely a grower. It took a LOT of listens for this to finally click with me. I know what you're saying about the lyrics but again with more listens that will prob change. This definitely is not as instant as For Emma but is more rewarding imo



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy