Amon Tobin ISAM
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 27th 2011


31161 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think I'll have a crack at reviewing this as well, but I'll come from a different angle.


The .5 higher angle? ;)

Digging: LV and Joshua Idehen - Islands

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
May 29th 2011


9034 Comments


I stopped listening after 2 tracks. I'm officially done trying to like electronica

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
May 29th 2011


2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"The .5 higher angle? ;)"

Exactly, it's a better viewpoint from up there.

"I stopped listening after 2 tracks. I'm officially done trying to like electronica."

Well, at least you tried.





Adash
May 30th 2011


1356 Comments


damn 'electronica', never knew it was so innaccessible

you should try listening to Moby or something, thats 'electronica' and its accessible

Otaku
May 30th 2011


60 Comments


Generic band, generic review. At least you could try harder, if the artist didn't.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
May 30th 2011


6448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Generic? Are we listening to the same thing here?

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

Adash
May 30th 2011


1356 Comments


Cujo is Amon Tobin wasteman. Besides, Tobin did it first and much better with his first 3 masterpieces.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
May 30th 2011


6448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Except that (to me at least) Tobin is easily the best of all the artists you summed up (nothing against Plastix or Squarepusher though...), so nothing generic here.



Otaku
May 30th 2011


60 Comments


well dont get me wrong, Tobin is good, but not a 4-rating good. The beats are massive and speaker-shuddering, but they rarely coalesce into a specific pattern, yknow?

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
May 30th 2011


6448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's kind of the point here...

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 30th 2011


31161 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Rofl at alt

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 30th 2011


31161 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah, we are. There are at least gazillion artists who make the same music, such as but not limited to Cujo, Bonobo, Two Fingers, Xploding Plastix, Squarepusher, 60 hz, DJ Krush.


Tobin is Cujo and is 1 half of Two Fingers. And Bonobo and Squarepusher don't really sound anything like this

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
May 30th 2011


2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh so what really matters is not how good the music is but that other people don't do something similar. I'll take note of that. God, I was about to give an album a 5 because it's incredible but sadly there are guitars in it and everyone uses guitars so it has to be dropped to a 1.5 .

Sorry Otaku, I just find it hard to take what you say seriously after this:

"well dont get me wrong, Tobin is good, but not a 4-rating good. The beats are massive and speaker-shuddering, but they rarely coalesce into a specific pattern, yknow?"

It just shows a fundamental misunderstanding of what matters.

Otaku
May 30th 2011


60 Comments


OK, what about eh: Funki Porcini, Jaga Jazzist, µ-Ziq, Player, DJ Shadow, Xihilisk

Otaku
May 30th 2011


60 Comments


StrangerofSorts want to go on a spree of lulz?

http://www.allmusic.com/album/isam-r2177969

ctrl+f: "beats are massive and speaker-shuddering, but they rarely coalesce into a specific pattern"

owned!

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
May 30th 2011


2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Okay, so now both you and whoever wrote that are clueless.

Let me explain:

1) Why does it matter that the beats are massive? This isn't fucking club music.

2) Patterns = boring. If I know what's going to come next in an album I won't enjoy it. Allowing your music to settle just shows laziness.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 30th 2011


31161 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0


OK, what about eh: Funki Porcini, Jaga Jazzist, µ-Ziq, Player, DJ Shadow, Xihilisk


What about them? I could accept the comparison between Tobin and Porcini, but the revelation that someone else makes music similar to another artist isn't exactly ground breaking or noteworthy to any degree

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
May 30th 2011


2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh okay,

Enjoy the report.

Otaku
May 30th 2011


60 Comments


hahaha lol, too easy.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 30th 2011


31161 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's just weak. Don't try and duck out so easily with the "i'm just trolling" line. Come on man, where's the backbone?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy