Primordial Redemption at the Puritan's Hand
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Crysis
Staff Reviewer
May 11th 2011


16780 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

People really overrate The Gathering Wilderness here, Storm is a much better album.

Wizard
May 11th 2011


19897 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The Gathering Wilderness is the only album I would tell you to skip by this band.

DarkNoctus
May 11th 2011


9225 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

but that album has 2 of their best songs on it :[

Digging: Mourning Beloveth - Dust

Jotun35
May 11th 2011


57 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The Gathering Wilderness is clearly their best effort so far... with Spirit The Earth Aflame.

Storm Before Calm is pretty cool, but lacks of atmosphere and its "emotional spectrum" is narrow in comparison to The Gathering, Spirit, To The Nameless Dead or Redemption.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
May 11th 2011


6711 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The Gathering of Wilderness is awesome. Storm Before Calm is awesome too.



However, they are two very different albums.

Digging: Spectral Lore - Voyager

Willie
Moderator
May 11th 2011


16309 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7 | Sound Off

The Gathering Wilderness is the only album I would tell you to skip by this band.
I can't even remember Gathering Wilderness or Nameless Dead. I just know that I had them and deleted them both (which isn't a good sign).

BallsToTheWall
May 11th 2011


45341 Comments


the gathering Wilderness > most of their discography. you guys are fucking high if you think otherwise....douchebags.

Digging: Firewater - Get Off the Cross, We Need the Wood for the Fire

vanderb0b
May 12th 2011


3473 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The Russian choir in The Black Hundred sounds fucking incredible. Album is really great.

Yazz_Flute
May 17th 2011


18929 Comments


This is how I've felt about every Primordial album I've heard.

Altmer
May 18th 2011


5652 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

3.5 is probably a good rating.



This is about as good as the previous one which was also pretty neat.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
May 18th 2011


6711 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The Gathering Wilderness > most of their discography













I have to agree with this statement.

rasputin
May 18th 2011


14669 Comments


gathering wilderness is fantastic. i wouldn't say it's their best, but then i haven't heard all of their albums yet. they don't really have any bad ones.

Underflow
May 18th 2011


3238 Comments


Good review. pos'd.

MO
May 18th 2011


19733 Comments


"People really overrate The Gathering Wilderness here"

Couldn't agree more. Spirit the World Aflame is their best.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
May 18th 2011


16780 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I expected to like The Gathering Wilderness because I like To The Nameless Dead and Spirit The World Aflame but for some reason it bored me.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
May 18th 2011


6711 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

for some reason it bored me.



I found The Gathering Wilderness boring as well the first 5-10 times i listened to it, because i expected a Storm Before Calm pt.2.



Once I gave up on that conviction, I gave it the (huge) credit that it deserved.

Hawks
May 18th 2011


37999 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

They're hard to rank for me, but:



To the Nameless Dead

The Gathering Wilderness

Redemption at the Puritan's Hand

Spirit the Earth Aflame

A Journey's End

Imrama

Storm Before Calm

Digging: Cradle of Filth - Hammer of the Witches

DarkNoctus
May 18th 2011


9225 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

i haven't heard the others yet outside of to the nameless dead and the gathering wilderness, I love both so I should [:

MO
May 18th 2011


19733 Comments


Man Spirit The World Aflame should be your next listen. Has some subtle black metal moments, but it was mainly their transition album into a doomier sound.

DarkNoctus
May 18th 2011


9225 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

it's now on the noctus list :]



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy