Primordial Redemption at the Puritan's Hand
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Willie
Moderator
May 11th 2011



15877 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

For whatever reason that 4.5 surprises me, I think I remember you posting your soundoff as a 4. Can't blame you, though, some tracks here are incredibly good. Agreed about the drummer as well, I don't think he gets enough credit.
It was a 4, but after listening to it daily for another week I had to bump it up. There's really nothing wrong with this album besides the vocals sometimes making things sound too similar.

What the fuck Willie? CHECK OUT EVERYTHING BY THIS BAND!!!
I have. I didn't think any of it was worth keeping besides Storm Before Calm and now this one.

Digging: Emperor - In The Nightside Eclipse - 20th Year Anniversary

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
May 11th 2011



16258 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

People really overrate The Gathering Wilderness here, Storm is a much better album.

Wizard
May 11th 2011



19214 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The Gathering Wilderness is the only album I would tell you to skip by this band.

Digging: Monarch - Sabbracadaver

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
May 11th 2011



8743 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

but that album has 2 of their best songs on it :[

Jotun35
May 11th 2011



57 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The Gathering Wilderness is clearly their best effort so far... with Spirit The Earth Aflame.
Storm Before Calm is pretty cool, but lacks of atmosphere and its "emotional spectrum" is narrow in comparison to The Gathering, Spirit, To The Nameless Dead or Redemption.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
May 11th 2011



5915 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The Gathering of Wilderness is awesome. Storm Before Calm is awesome too.

However, they are two very different albums.

Digging: Essence Beyond - Carnivalism

Willie
Moderator
May 11th 2011



15877 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

The Gathering Wilderness is the only album I would tell you to skip by this band.
I can't even remember Gathering Wilderness or Nameless Dead. I just know that I had them and deleted them both (which isn't a good sign).

BallsToTheWall
May 11th 2011



44164 Comments


the gathering Wilderness > most of their discography. you guys are fucking high if you think otherwise....douchebags.

vanderb0b
May 12th 2011



3473 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The Russian choir in The Black Hundred sounds fucking incredible. Album is really great.

Yazz_Flute
May 17th 2011



18764 Comments


This is how I've felt about every Primordial album I've heard.

Digging: Cormorant - Dwellings

Altmer
May 18th 2011



5652 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

3.5 is probably a good rating.

This is about as good as the previous one which was also pretty neat.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
May 18th 2011



5915 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The Gathering Wilderness > most of their discography






I have to agree with this statement.

rasputin
May 18th 2011



14516 Comments


gathering wilderness is fantastic. i wouldn't say it's their best, but then i haven't heard all of their albums yet. they don't really have any bad ones.

Underflow
May 18th 2011



2526 Comments


Good review. pos'd.

MO
May 18th 2011



18231 Comments


"People really overrate The Gathering Wilderness here"

Couldn't agree more. Spirit the World Aflame is their best.

Digging: Immolation - Dawn of Possession

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
May 18th 2011



16258 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I expected to like The Gathering Wilderness because I like To The Nameless Dead and Spirit The World Aflame but for some reason it bored me.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
May 18th 2011



5915 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

for some reason it bored me.

I found The Gathering Wilderness boring as well the first 5-10 times i listened to it, because i expected a Storm Before Calm pt.2.

Once I gave up on that conviction, I gave it the (huge) credit that it deserved.

Hawks
May 18th 2011



34450 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

They're hard to rank for me, but:

To the Nameless Dead
The Gathering Wilderness
Redemption at the Puritan's Hand
Spirit the Earth Aflame
A Journey's End
Imrama
Storm Before Calm

Digging: Equilibrium - Erdentempel

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
May 18th 2011



8743 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

i haven't heard the others yet outside of to the nameless dead and the gathering wilderness, I love both so I should [:

MO
May 18th 2011



18231 Comments


Man Spirit The World Aflame should be your next listen. Has some subtle black metal moments, but it was mainly their transition album into a doomier sound.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy