The Weeknd House of Balloons
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
patrickfannon
March 25th 2011


886 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

My apologies, Aids, but you have to admit it's awesome; even if unintentionally so. You must have registered on the site a long time ago to nab such a simple username. And thank you, guys. I like you too. It's a really nice thing to find intelligent, witty, geninuely friendly people to share great music with. Take care, and I'll see you around.

@ Inveigh: Just because we're bereaved doesn't make us SAPS! GODDAMNIT! Is there a Raplh's around here?

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
March 25th 2011


23900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

no need to apologize, I was just explaining so you didn't think I picked the name just to be 'edgy' or something

Digging: RATKING - So It Goes

Inveigh
March 26th 2011


25025 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fuck yeah Mr. Fannon -- me and Hans always talk about that as one of the most underrated lines in the movie lol

what do you mean 'brought it bowling'? I didn't rent it shoes, I didn't buy it a fucking beer, it's not taking your fucking turn, Dude.

still can't decide between this and Frank Ocean... I know they're both mixtape/album hybrids, but this one just feels a bit more unique to me -- however Nostalgia, Ultra's way catchier... so, yeah. still up in the air for me.

Rae's still got my fav album of the year so far though (Ulcerate's right behind him)

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2011


23900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I guess I better check out Ulcerate's new album. I like Everything is Fire. Inveigh, would you say it's better?

Hawks
March 26th 2011


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Everything is Fire is better, but not by much. The new one is still great.

Inveigh
March 26th 2011


25025 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I go back and forth... Everything Is Fire is certainly more sentimental to me, because it was the first Ulcerate album I heard (plus, I'm not sure any individual song on the new one tops The Earth At Its Knees)

but The Destroyers of All is certainly more polished, and much more atmospheric

just get them both dude lol you can't go wrong -- they're both very solid 4.5s to me, bordering on 5s even

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2011


23900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yah I'm gonna dl The Destroyers of All after I sort through all this dubstep and house I just got.

Everything is Fire didn't blow me away, I think I gave it a 3.5.

East Hastings
March 26th 2011


4391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"wicked games" is the best fucking thing i've heard all year

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2011


23900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

and, back to this album, holy shit this is infectious. like, it's still growing on me. House of Balloons/Glass Table (that's where it cuts off on the song file I have) and The Morning are fucking unbelievable.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2011


23900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

edit, nevermind, the spam was deleted

Bulldog
March 26th 2011


3796 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

got laid to this tonight. might up my rating now lol

MaskAtTheMasquerade
March 26th 2011


2887 Comments


eh this wasn't for me i guess.

lancebramsay
March 26th 2011


1585 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Boner-jams 2011

defjaw83
March 26th 2011


1772 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

holy shit this is infectious. like, it's still growing on me


This.

I woke up 5 mins ago and the first thing i did was slap this bad boy on. The Weeknd for breakfast is a beautiful thing

Digging: FKA Twigs - LP1

sniper
March 26th 2011


19075 Comments


mmkay so i haven't listened to anything but this all day. honestly it rules soooo fucking harrrrrd. this is undoubtedly top 10 material.

also, this sounds nothing like HTDW

captaincrunch11
March 26th 2011


1228 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glass Table Girls gets me all hot and bothered.

patrickfannon
March 26th 2011


886 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Anyone else also digging the Burial / Thom Yorke / Four Tet "Ego-Mirror EP?" It's incredible. And Cap'n, I think Glass Table Girls may be track of the year thus far. It's unreal. Makes me want to go smoke a joint, get drunk, and find the dirtiest girl I can to take home. Then listen to it again whilst hopping on the good foot and doing the bad thing.

Inveigh
March 26th 2011


25025 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah man Ego-Mirror is pretty fantastic

ohfoxxxycole
March 26th 2011


4353 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

needs more hype

cirq
March 26th 2011


9264 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

needs a 4.5 rating.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy