The Weeknd House of Balloons
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
defjaw83
March 25th 2011



1765 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It's just caught everyone off guard I think. Kinda came out of nowhere

patrickfannon
March 25th 2011



886 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Okay... holy shit. I get it now. I get it. This album was the first thing I listened to when I woke up this morning, and it just rubbed me the wrong way. It's truly incredible what the night sky and a good set of Bose noise-cancelling headphones are capable of; the flesh, blood, and pulse of this album came alive in brilliant fashion. I initially expected something much different; what The Weeknd deliver is better than anything I could have ever imagined. Thanks for the enthusiasm, everyone. I'm so happy I reconsidered. This record is phenomenal.

Digging: A Tribe Called Quest - Midnight Marauders

defjaw83
March 25th 2011



1765 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Glad to hear it man, now change that 1 will ya ; )

patrickfannon
March 25th 2011



886 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I did! I changed it to a 4.5! I guess sometimes it lags, because I've often seen forums in which users praise albums enthusiastically, yet have a rating of 1.0 or 2.0 above their comment. Anyway, thanks again guys. This record kicks ass.

defjaw83
March 25th 2011



1765 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

That's a hell of a turnaround mate haha! Like you said, you must've just been in the wrong mood for it

patrickfannon
March 25th 2011



886 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yeah, I guess "cranky" would be a tragically understated way to describe my mood this morning. A belly full of dry-aged NY strip steak, peppers, and Caprese salad works wonders. I stand corrected, defjaw, sir. This is definitely album of the year worthy. I like it--dare I say it--better than Radiohead's "King of Limbs." What does that mean in regard to my indie/hipster cred!? Oh, no! Hahahaha.

defjaw83
March 25th 2011



1765 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'd have to put this higher than Radiohead too man. I mean I really like that record, but it's another Radiohead record at the end of the day. This just sounds mighty fresh to me. Been looking for something like this for a while.

If you like this, listen to Frank Ocean's new record Nostalgia, Ultra. It's really fucking good

patrickfannon
March 25th 2011



886 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yeah. I guess Radiohead were comfortable sort of taking their music to its next logical progression with this record. It seems like a very organic, natural mix of "Hail to the Theif" and "Kid A / Amnesiac." Yet, it also retains some of the straightforward intamacy of "In Rainbows." However, I must say this album is really something special. The creativity and expressiveness are hard to match, let alone top. I will definitely check out Frank Ocean. Thanks for the recommendation.

PS - Do you listen to / like Jay Electronica? He's the best rapper alive, in my humble opinion. Some of the verses he's dropped have literally left me sitting in stunned silence. It's hard to describe him, but his one-time lover, and mother of his child, Erykah Badu did so thusly: "Jay Electronica the person, hmmm. I wouldn't even call him a person, 'cause he's a weird looking cat. His ears are kinda' pointy, he has a sqaure head, he looks kinda like he's an alien from somewhere, really, but in a very beautiful way. Like a, like some kind of mythical creature, who would have a bow and arrow on his back, and wings onto that bow and arrow."

If not, start with Eternal Sunshine (The Pledge). It's a masterpiece. Also, check out his verse on the RE: Union track, "Just Begun," alongside Mighty Mos and Talib Kweli. He shits on them both.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
March 25th 2011



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

holy shit, you changed it from a 1 to a 4.5?

wow. good on you though. I don't think I've ever changed my opinion on an album that drastically. nice to have you in the club though.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
March 25th 2011



4939 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

patrickfannon, jay elect is definitely incredible. f*cker needs to come out with an album proper like right now though

Inveigh
March 25th 2011



24793 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^hell yes he does. his verse on Just Begun was the best guest spot on any track of last year imo (it was also easily the best track on Revolutions Per Minute -- which was overall enjoyable, but also pretty hit-or-miss)


also it can't be said enough -- this record is just shitting on people in 2011

patrickfannon
March 25th 2011



886 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I've been waiting for that for nearly two years now, kingsoby1. It needs to happen. Soon. I've heard rumors of studio album for months, but I cannot find anything to confirm or deny this. The dude seriously is a Martian. Lil Wayne be damned. Jay kills him; lyrically and stylistically. And he doesn't even need to drink styrofoam cups of promethazine to escape his own head. Here's hoping to a surprise relase this year.

And, Aids, my friend. Hahahahahaha. Suberbly underplayed username. I have never had a turn around this drastic, either. I listened to the album this morning on speakers that lacked proper bass, and I was in an antognistic mood; hence the ridiculously low rating. So, I guess part of it was improper mood, but a majority of it was backlash against the gushing of others. Irony is a cruel, cruel mistress. But she sure is sexy, huh?

conradtao
Emeritus
March 25th 2011



2088 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Irony is a cruel, cruel mistress. But she sure is sexy, huh?

I like your style.

Romulus
March 25th 2011



8411 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this looks incredibly tasty

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
March 25th 2011



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"And, Aids, my friend. Hahahahahaha. Suberbly underplayed username."

I love how everyone thinks I'm trying to be clever but it's just my nickname haha. My name is Adrian
and my friends have been calling me "Aids" for years.

"Irony is a cruel, cruel mistress. But she sure is sexy, huh?

I like your style."

I know right? I like this guy.

Hawks
March 25th 2011



34425 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It really is.

Digging: Equilibrium - Erdentempel

huskerdoo
March 25th 2011



226 Comments


great summer tunes

Hawks
March 25th 2011



34425 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Don't like this as much as Frank Ocean, but it's still incredible. Frank Ocean's album could very well be passing up Rae's album as my favorite of the year so far.

Hawks
March 25th 2011



34425 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Well I can't argue with you because this is amazing too.

Jash
March 25th 2011



4244 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

SO
FUCKING
GOOD
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy