Yuck Yuck
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hep Kat
February 16th 2011


15356 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

cool album. third song is my fave

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2011


15063 Comments


huh....there are a lot of bands today that sound Really 90s

this is awesome

Foxhound
February 16th 2011


4570 Comments


just got this last night

Hep Kat
February 16th 2011


15356 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

people are just saying that cuz of downer's sound off

omnipanzer
February 16th 2011


21644 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Is it my imagination or did they rip off the cures worst song for Georgia?

I agree with someone on page 1 I think it sounds a lot like 90's alt/indie and like it for the most part.

psykonaut
February 16th 2011


3913 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i didn't read no sound off, it's a pretty obvious comparison
i rike dis album

iFghtffyrdmns
February 16th 2011


7047 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

wow man, one of the most phenomenal reviews I've read on here in awhile.

"We're in the time of Facebook and Twitter, of instant gratification and busy, busy lives, with no room for reflection."
I don't think you could have stated that any better, I wholeheartedly agree.
I will most definitely add these guys to the download queue, may even bump them up a few spaces.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2011


15063 Comments


im not sure about this review--i'm with the guys who say you're extrapolating much too much from an album simple and un-corrupted by a "message". i mean i guess one of your weird paradoxical reasonings is that by lacking a message it feels free spirited and thus is revolutionary or whatever in a time of technological overconsumption (ho boy) but...i mean idk this doesn't strike me as too different from even something like wavves, except these dudes remember to write good songs in between smoking sessions or whatever

that being said really good album



Electric City
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2011


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

sounds like a chambered review

klap
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2011


10543 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

great albums can just be great albums

Digging: Jessie Ware - Tough Love

conradtao
Emeritus
February 16th 2011


2090 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I can understand why one would think of this record as being groundbreaking, though. In a way, simply making good rock music is a bit of a risk in today's indie landscape.

That being said, I would never think of calling this remotely groundbreaking, and the review is a tad bit hyperbolic for my taste.

Romulus
February 16th 2011


8447 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i kind of see what he's saying though. when i was listening to this i was kind of like goddamn, finally someone has nailed this vibe. i don't necessarily feel the "start a revolution" but i can see why someone would have that opinion.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2011


15063 Comments


album does what it does really well, and what it does it completely "un original" but nothign wrong
with that (contrary to what many people think, those records can be 5s!)! but i feel like that's so
obviously what it is and it should be taken that way. but i guess, as always, records mean different
things to different people!

thebhoy
Emeritus
February 16th 2011


4461 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah groundbreaking should not be anywhere near this record. But that don't mean it ain't no good.

Romulus
February 16th 2011


8447 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

refreshing is a good word

AggravatedYeti
February 17th 2011


7685 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

. In a way, simply making good rock music is a bit of a risk in today's indie landscape.


spoon, holy steady, strokes, times new viking, cloud nothings, new pornos, the walkmen, ted leo, the national, the black keys, the white stripes.

...I don't know how risky this album really is.

Nothing new is being done here, it's just what they're doing is so god damn good.

or what robertson said...

Romulus
February 17th 2011


8447 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

speaking for myself alone yeti, i only really like one or two of the bands you mentioned. i don't think this is risky it's just done better than 90% of bands who shoot for this vibe which is why i'm digging it so much

JustJoe
February 17th 2011


1399 Comments


Sweet & Disgusting.

AggravatedYeti
February 17th 2011


7685 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

speaking for myself alone yeti, i only really like one or two of the bands you mentioned. i don't think this is risky it's just done better than 90% of bands who shoot for this vibe which is why i'm digging it so much

basically what im trying to get at with no personal regard for any of the aforementioned bands Rom : )


Romulus
February 17th 2011


8447 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah i think we're making the same point sort of, i just can understand why someone would think this is groundbreaking or something cause there are so many eh bands doing this it's wonderful to hear one nail it you know?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy