Avenged Sevenfold Nightmare
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Ikarus14
July 27th 2010


544 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Review is fair and nicely balanced. Good work.

Ikarus14
July 27th 2010


544 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@ Crowe "Save Me is like Dream Theater accept less shitty"

D=< What the hell was that about? Dream Theater are excellent.

Alondite
July 27th 2010


164 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I disagree strongly with this review. This album shows a level of maturity that they have never shown before, and a level of musical proficiency that we have only seen from them in Waking The Fallen.

While nothing on Nightmare matches up to "I Won't See You Tonight Pt.1" it still ranges from good-great throughout the entire album. Portnoy's drums are rock-solid (and it is some of The Rev's best writing), the lead guitar isn't always doubled up with the rhythm like they have been known to do, and Shadows, overall, is at his best vocally.

The whole album is clean and purposeful, whereas City of Evil and Self-titled were muddy and just meandered around for their own sake. It's like clock-work, and while it's not the most complex, adventurous album in the world, it's certainly not bad by any means. It's comparable to Waking The Fallen, and better than all their other albums.

Emim
July 27th 2010


26646 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

to the mediocre ("Warmness On the Soul")



Negnegnegnegnegnegnegnegnegnegnegnegnegnegnegnegneg

Seriously, that's one of their best songs, regardless of its terrible vocals. Also, God Hates Us is def in the top three of this. You should have left the review to Jared.

Tableshaveturned
July 27th 2010


59 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Alondite, all is good musically, except Shadows' voice. His non-melodic, almost rapping verses are getting stupid. This isn't as good as City Of Evil where they had a lot of catchy singles that all differed from each other. This is a step up from their previous release, but it still seems as if they're trying too hard.



Tableshaveturned
July 27th 2010


59 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Alondite, all is good musically, except Shadows' voice. His non-melodic, almost rapping verses are getting stupid. This isn't as good as City Of Evil where they had a lot of catchy singles that all differed from each other. This is a step up from their previous release, but it still seems as if they're trying too hard.



Tableshaveturned
July 27th 2010


59 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Alondite, all is good musically, except Shadows' voice. His non-melodic, almost rapping verses are getting stupid. This isn't as good as City Of Evil where they had a lot of catchy singles that all differed from each other. This is a step up from their previous release, but it still seems as if they're trying too hard.



Emim
July 27th 2010


26646 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks for making sure we got that all.

Mikesn
Emeritus
July 27th 2010


3709 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Seriously, that's one of their best songs, regardless of its terrible vocals.
Pfft yeah right. It isn't terrible, but it's weak lyrically and vocally. It sounds so out of place on STST, even more so than their other ballads. idk I've never really liked it.
The whole album is clean and purposeful, whereas City of Evil and Self-titled were muddy and just meandered around for their own sake. It's like clock-work, and while it's not the most complex, adventurous album in the world, it's certainly not bad by any means. It's comparable to Waking The Fallen, and better than all their other albums.
It sounds a lot closer to City of Evil and s/t than Waking the Fallen to me. It's pretty polished and simple, and a lot of the guitar leads sound like they were inspired by the material on City of Evil, especially in Save Me. Songs like Fiction and Tonight the World Dies are what makes it standout among their other works.

Digging: Grimes - Visions

Emim
July 27th 2010


26646 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Pfft yeah right. It isn't terrible, but it's weak lyrically and vocally. It sounds so out of place on STST, even more so than their other ballads. idk I've never really liked it.


But the piano!

loveisamixtape
July 27th 2010


6110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

goddamn, a triple post.

loveisamixtape
July 27th 2010


6110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

and i heard that they may redo warmness on the soul for their compilation CD. but now idk if they'd do that, considering The Rev played piano in that song

Emim
July 27th 2010


26646 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

and i heard that they may redo warmness on the soul for their compilation CD. but now idk if they'd do that, considering The Rev played piano in that song


Nope, that was Shadows.

loveisamixtape
July 27th 2010


6110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

no, in the music video it's the rev playing...

Emim
July 27th 2010


26646 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warmness_on_the_Soul

Mikesn
Emeritus
July 27th 2010


3709 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

But the piano!
Haha true. But still, I Won't See You Tonight Pt. 1 >>>

loveisamixtape
July 27th 2010


6110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh well, maybe i'm wrong, idk. i really hope they redo that song though..

Emim
July 27th 2010


26646 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I really hope they do too.

Haha true. But still, I Won't See You Tonight Pt. 1 >>>


My stupid computer killed my version of Waking the Fallen : (

loveisamixtape
July 27th 2010


6110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the song So Far Away is really starting to grow on me, as well as Tonight The World Dies. may bump my rating back up.

but my version of Waking The Fallen doesn't sound good at all. i can't find a really good quality version of it, cause my actual disc of it broke...

MichaelSG15
July 27th 2010


9 Comments


Nightmare's trying to be mainstream, it's sellin out, but it's still okay, Welcome to the Family is a good listen, kinda akin to older times, but the rest of the album doesn't do much for me, except a couple of the ballady ones



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy