Tonight Alive All Shapes & Disguises
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dryden
July 18th 2010


12928 Comments


yea right

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 18th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Good luck to them though, there's definitley an audience for them out there." Agreed... & I think the fact that they do like some more ambitious bands such as thrice & the like, will help them as they become more confident.

"They're okay, but Tonight are actually my favourite on the bill. Skyway are playing too." So you either bought them for the supports or they're freebies.

astreaz
July 18th 2010


2 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review, Good to see this band get a bit of attention. Decided to add them to sputnik about a month ago but they were just sitting there with my single user rating.

butchinette
July 18th 2010


210 Comments


I'm getting this. Thanks!

Digging: Finch (US) - Back to Oblivion

Damrod
Moderator
July 18th 2010


1093 Comments


Girls sounds absolutely like Hayley when first heard. Not exactly my cup of tea, but "Wasting Away" is quite an entertaining song.

Good review, pretty much nails it spot on

fabzn
July 18th 2010


86 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

not a terrible album but it holds up standards, too bad paramore did it first

Against Miik!
July 18th 2010


215 Comments


I hate to compare these kinds of bands to Paramore but its just inevitable I guess. Whats really too bad is that none of them are as good as Paramore, this one included.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 18th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks astreaz. I must say that I was surprised that someone had already added them to the database, so good stuff on being a month before me on that.

No probs butchinette.

Thanks Damrod. Yeah, 'Wasting Away' is cool & hopefully it receives some airplay both here in Oz & overseas.

Agreed fabzn.

Against Miik, it is unfortunately inevitable. I do think Paramore has matured & progressed over their 3 albums, so sometimes the comparison is more to do with one of their albums & not necessarily the others. Positively, something tells me that once they get their foot in the door, Tonight Alive may not follow the Paramore route. That first step can always be the most difficult though.

AtavanHalen
July 18th 2010


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So you either bought them for the supports or they're freebies.


I bought a ticket, man; I'm headed along with my little brother. Hey, what's 20 bucks? Too easy.

BreakdownsXplease
July 18th 2010


56 Comments


Catchy album is catchy. I wish I hadn't listened to this now, these songs will get stuck in my heard at work.

Although I actually prefer Renfue to these, still good.

tiesthatbind
July 18th 2010


7375 Comments


This is pretty solid. The last two songs are the best imo.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 18th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh no, there is an apprentice Atavan waiting in the wings.

Yeah, a few of these will definitely get stuck in your head once you've listened to them. 'Wasting Away' & the Rufio cover especially.

Not far off on the best songs ttb, but 'Wasting Away' is the best.

AtavanHalen
July 18th 2010


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Lol, little brother is NOTHING like Atavan. Don't worry.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 18th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Phew.

AtavanHalen
July 19th 2010


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not a good thing btw, he's kinda lame

He listens to shitcore

porkchop182
July 19th 2010


151 Comments


I like this. Quite a bit.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 19th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

He should have come in with screaming backing vocals during your EP.

Good stuff porkchop... It's not too bad at all.

GulliKyro
July 21st 2010


357 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

If the singer sounded any closer to Hayley I'd suspect the involvment of illegal Korean cloning farms.

Nothing wrong with that mind. Album is catchy and doesn't leave a guilty taste in the mouth after. Can't ask for much more.

Cesar
July 21st 2010


2732 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Grew on me. Wasting Away is freaking awesome, and am slightly obsessed with In My Eyes atm, better than the original version. Really like her voice.

If it weren't for her voice I think musically they resemble more a band like TAT instead of Paramore, still not decided on that though.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 21st 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I agree on all points Gullikyro.

Cesar, your thought process was almost identical to mine. I initially had it at a 3, but then those 2 tracks just started to shine out. Ditto for your musical opinion.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy