Story of the Year The Constant
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 18th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha... Bloc is scouring the internet erasing everything that suggests the band exists.

tripleb2k
March 9th 2010


217 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I really prefer their heavier songs! Their radio friendly songs (I'm Alive) are incredibly boring. Wish they would leave that stuff behind and focus on their heavier side.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
March 9th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

In this case, I almost agree with you tripleb2k. But throughout their career, I don't. Of course, I also believe they're at their very best when they are able to combine the 2, as they have done once or twice.

Willie
Moderator
March 12th 2010


16073 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I finally checked this out, and you were right. There's nothing new here and I like it as much as their last few albums -- fortunately that's a good thing.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sometimes I really can't pick your tastes Trey (I thought this may be a tad too plain for you), but I'm really glad you like this as much as I do.

Willie
Moderator
March 12th 2010


16073 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Have you ever heard of Further Seems Forever? They were the original band for the guy that ended up starting Dashboard Confessional. Anyway, I was listening to them again today and I think that you'd like their album Hide Nothing. As for my tastes, they're hard to pin down. I can like one band and dislike another one that sounds almost exactly the same, and it also runs all over the place without any real reasoning.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Have you ever heard of Further Seems Forever? They were the original band for the guy that ended up starting Dashboard Confessional."

Nope. I've always meant to listen through DC's discog & never got around to it... Mainly because there are quite a few albums. Looks like I just added at least another one.

"As for my tastes, they're hard to pin down. I can like one band and dislike another one that sounds almost exactly the same, and it also runs all over the place without any real reasoning."

So what you're basically saying is that you are a looney.

danrawkz
March 31st 2010


336 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I hope their next album goes in a different path, this isn't bad but it's too similar to Black Swan to be great.

Rev
March 31st 2010


9438 Comments


Seeing them for the fourth time on Saturday

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
March 31st 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I guess I agree Dan. I don't think they can entirely break away from their sound (I'm unsure if they could pull it off), but they just have to keep trying some experimentation here & there to provide variety. 'The Black Swan' probably had the most they have ever done & the results were mixed.

Have fun Reverand. I definitely recommend their live show to anyone. Sooooo energetic & fun.

AlexTM510
June 12th 2010


1403 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

the 2.9 avg rating is hurting my eyes-at least a 3 geez

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
June 14th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I agree Alex... But this band has their haters around here unfortunately.

SnipeCity
August 1st 2010


158 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I like their older stuff more

acorncheese
August 1st 2010


7119 Comments


Why is this band defacing the title of one of the best Lost episodes ever?

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 1st 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I never pay attention to episode titles of even my fave tv shows.

AlexTM510
December 21st 2010


1403 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OE6XgYbJW2s

Philip/Ryan's side project-and yea this is like much more sonically explosive and interesting than SOTY

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
December 22nd 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It seems like they all have side-projects now. Singer Dan has one & the bass player is in D.R.U.G.S.

AlexTM510
December 22nd 2010


1403 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

yea pretty much, but they've been doing shows in between. I think they got one lined up for next year as well.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
December 22nd 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Usually, most would think all these side-projects were a lead-up to a band split, but I don't think so in this case. They looked real tight when I saw them live a couple of years back... & I think they know they need rejuvenating somehow. Hopefully, these side-projects lead to a bigger, better SoTY.

LG
December 22nd 2010


3049 Comments


I remember this album. Never did check it out.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy