Mumford and Sons Sigh No More
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2010



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

There was actually a couple of times I listened to this album & totally skipped over 'Little Lion Man'. Not because it has been overplayed to death or anything, but just because it does tend to overshadow everything else here to some extent.

Knott-
Emeritus
January 29th 2010



10194 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

not sure about the MO rec lol, would have suggested Virgin over Everything but nice review... rating is about right, i think, couple of killer tracks on here but some semi-filler too

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2010



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Adam. I'd actually thought you had already rated this for some reason.

As for the MO rec, it was mainly for the end of Dustbowl Dance, but I did see a few other similarities here & there.

Knott-
Emeritus
January 29th 2010



10194 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

i had, but wiped my ratings, this will either be a 3 or 3.5 probably the latter

Gyromania
January 29th 2010



15200 Comments


"this is one of the strongest debuts I've ever heard." Huge comment right there. I mean, what about Craig David's 'Born To Do It'. LOL.

HAHA!

Douglas is dipping into his bag of contacts again to get a ticket to a sold out festival. And how can you mention laneway without saying the name Florence. Tisk tisk.

Besides Mumford & Sons, I'd be most excited to see Florence. You're both lucky bastards; Davey just went to a fantastic lineup and now Dougie. I need to get in the game and see some shows this years!

Knott-
Emeritus
January 29th 2010



10194 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

title track is ridiculously good

Ponton
Emeritus
January 29th 2010



5784 Comments


This sounds fun.

robin
Emeritus
January 29th 2010



4241 Comments


this is still pretty great. makes me want to rediscover sufjan.

Gyromania
January 29th 2010



15200 Comments


i had, but wiped my ratings, this will either be a 3 or 3.5 probably the latter

Is there a reason certain users are deleting their ratings?

NovaSilver
January 29th 2010



130 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

pretty good summary of the album, the tendency to go 'epic' is certainly noticeable. Not sure about your points on the lyrics though - they came over as more apocalyptic/mournful to me.

It's a nice change of pace from everything else around ( though nu-folk is the worst name for a genre I've ever heard) but has a tendency to slow down too much. Little Lion Man is by far the best song along with Dustbowl Dance.

Knott-
Emeritus
January 29th 2010



10194 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

i deleted mine because i flicked through them and disagreed with so many that had changed/grown over time so in order to not have stuff rated that im not totally sure of my opinion about i wiped them.

tombits
January 29th 2010



3469 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Well I still haven't heard this, but with everyone calling "Little Lion Man" one of their best tracks, I won't be checking it out, haha.

Gyromania
January 29th 2010



15200 Comments


You've got to be kidding...

tombits
January 29th 2010



3469 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I hate that song.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2010



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

(Davey checks Strikey's ratings to see if he is reconsidering his rating on The Blackout's new album)

The title track is a good opener for mine. I don't think it's necessarily a great song in isolation. Apparently 'The Cave' is the new single.

Gyro, the best is yet to come down under mate. Check out the SoundWave line-up (www.soundwavefestival.com).

It is fun Jared... & that's a fitting word. I don't think you can take this album too seriously, or else you wll pick some holes in it. But it's not shallow either.

Yeah Robin, I was going to throw Sufjan into the Reco by Reviewer section, but thought someone may get offended. So I threw Bon Iver in instead. Haha.

Interesting take on the lyrics NovaSilver. I just got the impression that no matter how "mournful" they got, there was always an uplifting moment to them eventually. I guess it's the old glass half full or glass half empty theory with them.

I think it's safe to say that if you don't like 'Little Lion Man', then you probably won't like the album. Although, as someone said earlier (Dougie I think), it's clearly the poppiest track on the LP.

Greggers
January 29th 2010



2375 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good album

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2010



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

3.5 suggests it's great. ;-)

Great to hear most are liking this.

Knott-
Emeritus
January 29th 2010



10194 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

nowhere close to the best trhing here, that wiouyld be title track

AtavanHalen
January 29th 2010



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Spoiler alert: Snape kills Dumbledore

Gyromania
January 29th 2010



15200 Comments


Blank White Page is the best song on here, hands down- although I don't know how you could not like Little Lion Man, that's just an all round fun and catchy song.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy