In Mourning Monolith
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Wizard
January 11th 2010



19244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Why not? I have albums where they were on repeat while I was doing yardwork because they're just that good at pumping me up (ie. Axe to Fall had a playcount of 9 after one day of owning it).

Digging: Cloak of Altering - Plague Beasts

Ponton
Emeritus
January 11th 2010



5784 Comments


No, I think you are right about the time though; like Crysis said, it is only two weeks in.

Still, this is definitely on the top of my list, for now of course. Something may be released that beats it for me. Who knows?

I cannot for the life of me fathom listening to even the greatest of albums 5-6 times in one day.


Definitely man, I have about 11 or 12 I can play straight through over and over.

Wizard
January 11th 2010



19244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is on top of my list too as of this moment in time hahahahaha.

Ponton
Emeritus
January 11th 2010



5784 Comments


Haha, I guess we can agree there for sure.

Wizard
January 11th 2010



19244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wow, someone agrees with me on this site ; ).

Going to probably bump my rating after a third go at this. I absolutely love 'Debris'.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
January 11th 2010



16264 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Debris" is the best track on the album, by far.

Digging: Ulver - Bergtatt

Tyler
Emeritus
January 11th 2010



7928 Comments


Pretty rushed review. It's not a race, you know.

Wizard
January 11th 2010



19244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Debris" is the best track on the album, by far.

Needed to stress this point.

Burn2Burn
January 11th 2010



2378 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review, gonna listen to this later on tonight. Shrouded Divine is a pretty weak 4 for me so I'm hoping this is better.

Wizard
January 11th 2010



19244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You will most likely find this boring too. Sounds on par with it.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
January 11th 2010



16264 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You've been stressing a lot of points in the past week, Karl haha

But on the downside, "Debris" is also the only song which really warrants praise.

Wizard
January 11th 2010



19244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Lots of good stuff happening all over the place Crysis. I'm surprised you haven't taken a liking to this.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
January 11th 2010



16264 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's far too bland and it feels like they are just riding the praise wagon until it flings them off.

Tyler
Emeritus
January 11th 2010



7928 Comments


You guys are being pretty conclusive considering you've had less than one day to listen to the album. I don't care if you've had it on repeat since they put it up, you're still unjustified.

Wizard
January 11th 2010



19244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's probably the Opeth worship that you don't appreciate, but won't admit hahahaha jk. Album is tight and that's all I have. Sure it's been done before, but they do it well.

You guys are being pretty conclusive considering you've had less than one day to listen to the album. I don't care if you've had it on repeat since they put it up, you're still unjustified.

I don't know dude, this type of metal is easy to get into. I agree though that we are being a little hasty with our assumptions.

Tyler
Emeritus
January 11th 2010



7928 Comments


Easy to get into doesn't mean anyone is justified in being so certain about it so quickly. It just strikes me as unnecessary and kind of ridiculous to rush opinions just so you can have the first. Especially when you're doling out a 4.5, a pretty huge rating, for an album you've had for less than one day.

And for the record, the first contender for metal of the year is the new Sigh, which I severely doubt anyone besting in the next 6 months at least.

Wizard
January 11th 2010



19244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Easy to get into doesn't mean anyone is justified in being so certain about it so quickly.

Oh believe me, I stress this point to no end (especially with year-end lists). Sometimes it's just fun having these initial discussions and then going back a few months from now with a new perspective on the album.

Tyler
Emeritus
January 11th 2010



7928 Comments


Yeah, but discussions aren't a review.

TricksterGRex
January 11th 2010



2087 Comments


first song had so many hilarious chugs it was terrible

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
January 11th 2010



16264 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

trickster knows the chug when he hears it



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy