Dio The Last in Line
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Nagrarok
November 30th 2009



8194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'll give an honest 3 to this. I really want to like it better, but it causes me to quickly go back to Holy Diver again.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 30th 2009



8327 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review, even though a bit repetitive.
read it over again myself and I must say I respectfully disagree about this being repetitive. I don't really repeat myself too much. Thanks for the comliment though
Egypt (the chains are on) ftw
yes it is, but funnily enough, I myself just cannot pick a favourite off this record. It's really consistent all the way through, but without any major highlights.


Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 30th 2009



8327 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'll give an honest 3 to this. I really want to like it better, but it causes me to quickly go back to Holy Diver again.
*shakes his head* that's not a worthy score to give to Dio




Nagrarok
November 30th 2009



8194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It is if he's being as generic as possible. If another band would be that generic, they'd never even get to that 3.

LepreCon
November 30th 2009



3922 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nag: I thought it was very much a Holy Diver redux when I first heard it too, but a few more listens really helped more tracks to stand out. But I agree with you that it just isn't as good as Holy Diver

Digging: Overkill - White Devil Armory

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 30th 2009



8327 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

but a few more listens really helped the album to stand out.
fix'd and quoted

LepreCon
November 30th 2009



3922 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I stand by what I said


Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 30th 2009



8327 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

so do I haha

Wizard
November 30th 2009



19336 Comments


Excellent review. Falsetto singers irritate me so you know where I'm going with this one hahaha.

Digging: YOB - Clearing The Path To Ascend

KILL
November 30th 2009



71454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

black horizons man

Digging: Invisible - El jardin de los presentes

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
December 1st 2009



8327 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Excellent review. Falsetto singers irritate me so you know where I'm going with this one hahaha.
thank you very much, and it's not an album I'm really pushing on people, just something I wanted to do. I've always wanted to review a Dio release, and because of Dio's diease I listened to his stuff again. Coincidentally, during that time, Nagrarok challenge me to review an album out of the 70's or 80's (becase I challenged him to review a new release, so in a way, we changed places for 1 review). And I though that now would be an excellent time to do this review. It's of course a great album, but I'm pretty sure most people know who Dio is by now so it's absolutely only up to them, if they want to check it out or not, no pressure from me haha

Nagrarok
December 1st 2009



8194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dio is not overly falsetto though. I can thing of a few names that have higher voices and often border on the irrating. Dio never annoyed me in that way except he seems to have a small range.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
December 1st 2009



8327 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

no that's the odd thing, he has good range, but he just doesn't use it on his records. Dunno why. And yeah Wizard, Nagrarok is right, Dio hasn't got an overly high voice, it's high-ish, but not too high. It's a bit "harsh" too, so definitely not unpleasant to the ears.

Nagrarok
December 1st 2009



8194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

But how do you know if he has a good range if you say he doesn't use it? XD

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
December 1st 2009



8327 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

my dad had some of his vocal work and I used to listen to it when I was a kid ( at least, I think it was Ronnie haha). On recrods, he doesn't use it, but he has a great range as a singer in general imo

Ire
July 20th 2010



41754 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

He kinda is but it's not something very noticeable.

Half of this album is 5 material and the other half is meh so idk..

ShadowRemains
July 21st 2010



20535 Comments


rip

Digging: Banks - Goddess

mark7477
September 29th 2010



393 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Last in line was a pretty good album perhaps second best to holy driver in comparison.

OvrotLivesAgain
October 12th 2010



1497 Comments


The title track is probably one of the greatest songs in all of metal.
js

MrMadman
May 16th 2011



9 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great effing album! To dio who was taken to valhalla one year ago to this day



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy