Animal Collective Fall Be Kind
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
cbmartinez
November 23rd 2009



2525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

on a highway is also one of my least favorite songs they've ever written, diggin bleed cause its kind of got a similar feel to Panda Bear's "Bonfire Of The Vanities," anyone who hasn't heard that track should check it out asap

erasedcitizen
November 23rd 2009



716 Comments


This reminds me of a song I made that I thought was good because I was on like six different drugs.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
November 23rd 2009



14983 Comments


haha saw that pfork rating from a mile away


i have a feeling the album will be in the 8's though

plane
Staff Reviewer
November 23rd 2009



6085 Comments


9.2-9.4 area is my prediction

Sky is a definite 10 though, first appropriate song to receive the rating

cbmartinez
November 23rd 2009



2525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

while you wait for the others is much better of a song, as is my girls which only got a 9. my girls should be the 10, this the 9

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
November 23rd 2009



7018 Comments


Unsurprisingly, this is pretty overrated.

Digging: Braid - No Coast

plane
Staff Reviewer
November 23rd 2009



6085 Comments


While You Wait For the Others is a 7 at most, My Girls is a definite 10 for sure but I'd say the more modest rating was a smart choice. It at least sets up what we would want from AC to give them a 10 and What Would I Want? Sky is it.

SeanBaldassarre
November 23rd 2009



4 Comments


Hey perhaps someone in this forum could help me out, I understand that there's no band that comes close to Animal Collective but maybe you guys could give me some recommendations on bands I might like, so far MPP, FBK and Strawberry Jam are my favorite works by these guys!


Also i've been looking for a new site to find new music to get into....something other than pitchfork though, help would be appreciated

cbmartinez
November 23rd 2009



2525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i dont get the last sentence, but idk, agree to disagree i guess. while you wait (or walkabout) is right behind my girls for song of the year for me

cbmartinez
November 23rd 2009



2525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

download au- verbs

plane
Staff Reviewer
November 23rd 2009



6085 Comments


Sean, check out Stag Hare (review here: http://www.sputnikmusic.com/album.php?albumid=39608). It's structured like a trance album but lots of tribal and folk influences. The best alternative to AC though is usually more AC, so I recommend checking out anything you haven't already.

robin
Emeritus
November 23rd 2009



4241 Comments


i think once i reached the playcount for this version of what would i want sky it sort of made the BBC sessions version wear off. its at about 40 plays for both versions now, haha.

: (

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
November 23rd 2009



14983 Comments


My Girls is a 9, WWIW?S is a 10, WYWFTO is an 8



TRUFF

"download au- verbs"


self-titled ya nignog

plane
Staff Reviewer
November 23rd 2009



6085 Comments


i dont get the last sentence

I mean, giving My Girls a 9 instead of a 10 outright allows for the idea of it being 10-worthy creep through to us, which it
obviously did since we haven't stopped talking about it like a masterpiece nearly a year after everyone first heard it. Now that ten
albums later we've all got a gist of what we would expect a classic song from AC to be (for each of us individually anyway), I
happen to agree with the Pitchfork reviewer that Sky is a 10.

SeanBaldassarre
November 23rd 2009



4 Comments


thanks so much Planewreck, I'll check that out now! Do u have any music sites you could offer? I want a site that's gonna tip me on some new good bands

Roach
November 23rd 2009



2149 Comments


not here that's for sure!

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
November 23rd 2009



14983 Comments


imo from the short write up that mark richardson gave 'my girls' he listened to the album through, was all like 'damn this is a jam' to My Girls and gave it a 9, holding back because he thought 'well maybe a 10 is too much i mean it's an awesome song and all but'


but pitchfork placing it at number NINE in their top songs of the decade surely means they think it's worth a 10 now, it's just that when they did it they thought it might be going too far

why this same logic isn't applied to WWIW?S i probably dont know, probably because it's a song that's 'grown' (i.e. theyve played it in concerts and such) and they were already familiar with not only the song but also the prospect of rating songs individually (my girls was one of the first 'individual song' reviews they did)

i also think the guy kinda held back in his WWIW?S review and maybe shoulda pushed it a little farther


wat eva

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
November 23rd 2009



14983 Comments


"thanks so much Planewreck, I'll check that out now! Do u have any music sites you could offer? I want a site that's gonna tip me on some new good bands"


last.fm, here

imnotthere420
November 23rd 2009



106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

can't wait to buy this on vinyl.
what would i want? sky is unbelievable, one of their best songs ever along with street flash.

SeanBaldassarre
November 23rd 2009



4 Comments


yoo robertsona thanks for the help but I've used last.fm, its pretty good but there similiar artists thing hasn't helped me ever,

Im looking for something thats like pitchfork in the sense that its got album reviews on new bands and some news worth reading but for lesser known bands that are amazing

Im probably too picky and should probably stick with sputnik and pitchfork but im just curious as to what sites you guys are using



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy