David Sylvian Manafon
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Fluorine
September 8th 2010


104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I did listen to it just before posting that.

And I did start with Secrets of the Beehive with which I swiftly and truly fell in love. I listened to Japan beforehand and liked them as well.

Manafon is interesting, and I appreciate it for being an album that no one would be able to call "average," but I can't get how this is sonically effective, and certainly not how it could be enjoyable/entertaining (which I actually wouldn't set as requirements for good music.)

Another thing: It seems like a big deal was made about the improvisation during the recording sessions, that about everything was made up on the spot. What's so special about such improvisation when the bulk of the music is silence and spare, unconnected strums and bloops?

I just can't figure out what I think about this record...

Fugue
September 9th 2010


7372 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Well I'm not going to even pretend it's an easy listen, in fact the album is so self-indulgent on Sylvian's part it's stupid. I like the album (obviously) and yet I don't give it many listens, it's the sort of thing you have to want to listen to (neither a compliment nor an insult).

Saying this, there is a lot to like, however most of the enjoyment lies within the subtleties of each track: the woodwind segment in Emily Dickinson, the unnatural (compared to most of the music here) rhythmic bassline at the end of Small Metal Gods, and the absolute immediacy of 125 Spheres being personal favorites. In my opinion the whole musical aspect of the album serves to set an effective (if minimalist) atmosphere to carry Sylvian's vocals and in that respect I think it is excellent.

I do also have to mention that the lyrical proficiency throughout is top notch, and while I don't think music should be necessarily judged on lyrical meaning or whatnot I can (and do) appreciate well articulated stanzas.

Of course this is not going to be to everyone's taste, and if you don't like the album I could completely understand, but I would ask you to give it a chance. It is so different compared to the rest of his ouvre, and that could be a stumbling block, especially for someone who loves his earlier works (not saying you can't enjoy both though, I sure do!).

KILL
July 7th 2013


79592 Comments


small metal gods rules

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
February 28th 2016


11625 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

loving this

Digging: Gottfried Huppertz - Metropolis, Op. 29

AnimalsAsSummit
July 13th 2016


2467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this album is godly. sylvian proves yet again that he can easily create dream landscapes with sound.

Digging: Flex Crew - Steam Rolla

Tyler.
September 1st 2016


11174 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh fuck this slaps

altertide0
January 4th 2017


2761 Comments


why is this never talked about

Digging: Swans - Soundtracks for the Blind

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
January 4th 2017


11625 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it will be

Tyler.
January 4th 2017


11174 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

: O

egadsby
January 4th 2017


14 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

yeah... this might be his career ender. he needs to kick start nine horses and move on from this freeform dirge

altertide0
January 4th 2017


2761 Comments


^listen again. nine horses was bland af

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
January 4th 2017


11625 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Career ender lmao what

anything he does practically sells out now, what are you talking about

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
January 4th 2017


11625 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Like if you think he seriously needs to reboot an old one off project because you don't get what he's making now, maybe he isn't your cup of tea in the first place. The guy has always been about being ahead of the curve, and to say this could end his career is far fetched.

egadsby
January 5th 2017


14 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Somebody mentioned this being Davids Ishtar... thats spot on. SMGs is good, the rest is trash. I bet you drooled all over 'Playing the Outhouse' too.



I heard he has new new record deal with Universal and they've already delayed the new album. And I wouldn't be surprised if it never sees the light of day. Complete utter shite for pretentious fools

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
January 5th 2017


11625 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I heard he has new new record deal with Universal and they've already delayed the new album."



He has been on record saying he plans on putting something out when the time is right.



I mean, you clearly never heard his stuff but you could try to be more convincing in your argument. How exactly is this pretentious in the first place? Care to explain?

Tyler.
January 5th 2017


11174 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

lmao

YakNips
January 5th 2017


18904 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

art's not tasteful

notes don't sound nice

Digging: boring bathtimes - Loss

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
January 5th 2017


11625 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't get it, therefore it's pretentious

AnimalsAsSummit
January 5th 2017


2467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lol only rating is manafon at a 1 lmfao seems legit

Tyler.
January 5th 2017


11174 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

My alt to anger fripp



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy